Credit Karma Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Credit Karma Reviews

Updated 24 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Credit Karma CEO Kenneth Lin
Kenneth Lin
135 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes things are slow-moving and there is a general lack of documentation (growing pains)(in 16 reviews)

  • "Not a big deal, but the company is growing fast so space is an issue(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Nice People, Smart People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity to take a startup to a mature company

    Cons

    No cons that I see

    Credit Karma2018-05-25
  2. "Amazing Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1) Wonderful executive team. Credit Karma has a great fantastic mission and the leadership is truly outstanding- very transparent, and extremely caring to their members and employees. 2) People- best experience I have had at any company in terms of people I worked with directly and indirectly 3) Growing company. It's always exciting to be with a fast-growing company

    Cons

    The only cons I experienced here were the typical growing pains fast-growing companies experience.

    Credit Karma2019-10-29
  3. "toxic engineering culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    life balance is good; a good practice school

    Cons

    engineering leaders has poor tech vision; they pent more effort on empire building.

    Advice to Management

    stop hiring impotent tech leaders, and hire tech leaders from prestigious it

    Credit Karma2019-11-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work in FinTech space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, comp and perks

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Credit Karma2019-09-21
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Interesting growth but Chaotic and inflexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma

    Pros

    Nice location in the city Amazing coffee bar Solid compensation Great leadership

    Cons

    Business is 1 dimensional Lots of value on face time and no wfh flexibility Chaotic

    Advice to Management

    It’s 2019. Face to face is great but employees want flexibility- with the move to Oakland if wfh is not made an option, people will leave in droves

    Credit Karma2019-09-18
  6. Helpful (24)

    "Fake nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office in San Francisco is nice. People are trying to do the right things, from a technical perspective. There are a lot of nice, well intentioned ideas at work here.

    Cons

    Career growth, HR is cruel, and the culture at the company is fake nice. This is not a meritocracy. I don't even know how to begin to explain, other than starting with the simple fact that people do not get promoted on the basis of doing good work. In fact, people don't really get promoted at all. What's really happening is managers playing politics with each other all day. If you want to get a promotion you have... to have the right manager, and chances are if *that*'s the kind of manager you have then you have to be extremely obedient, for lack of a better word. Also, most of the good engineers have started to leave. HR is straight up scary. It's rare that you'd ever have to deal with them, but if you do they can be so mean and insensitive. Basically, it's a kafkaesque, bureaucratic nightmare, with a little hint of a sadistic streak. I know that sound dramatic, but it's honestly how I feel. You know that feeling you get when someone enjoys having power over you and causing pain? That's how you feel when talking to HR, at Credit Karma. The last thing is that the company has really exploded in size and ambition lately, and it really feels a lot different. This used to actually be a nice place. Now it's fake nice. There's the managers playing politics, and you start to see the beginning of a lot of double speak. There are a lot of big projects, which has created a really cut throat, nasty attitude under the surface. This is not the kind of place where you can be yourself, unless that person is a robot and useful to their manager. Also, work speak is the absolute worse when it gets used as a tool to hide meanness.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I know things are changing and it's hard. Here's what I want you to know and what I think could be done better about it. 1. Problem: there are some serious snakes in the garden. Open your eyes. There is some serious lying happening, and you should try to figure out who's behind it, because I can promise you it's contributing to a really nasty culture and poisoning the well. 1. Suggestion: find a way to form a... relationship with people who work in the trenches, I.e. not managers. So many of the engineers though are truly, just absurdly nice, well-meaning people. Find some way to get a read on what's happening, through them, because I promise you no one is listening. 2. Problem: good engineers are leaving because it's just not worth it, and the thing is they're leaving precisely in spite of staying for so long. Some people really stick around because they care, not that they're idiots and don't know their market value - they do, until they've just had enough. 2. Suggestion: when there's a huge re-org, which happens on basically a quarterly basis, the people who can recognize your work either leave or that recognition gets scattered. Then the new organization comes in and all of that recognition is gone. This should seriously change. You should try to preserve recognition before announcing a reorg, and after announcing explain a transition strategy. 3. Problem: it feels that HR can often be contemptuous or vindictive in their personal dealings, and they hide behind a lot of work speak, which only adds insult to injury. They can be cold and impersonal, but also, honestly, just plain mean, in a way I can't describe other than it feels like they enjoy it. The perfect example of the feeling I mean would be the nurse from "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest". 3. Suggestion: first, I'd recommend that someone from the c-level seek out feedback in this matter. Second, I would somehow try to incorporate empathy or some other human trait as part of their job. I'm not saying I know how to do that, maybe training? I feel like it really just comes down to the people or the HR org itself, honestly. Look, most of the stuff they have to do involves following protocol, which is fine and I understand it's part of the job. So introduce some humanity to it. By that I mean, try to employ common sense. To try to be sympathetic. Maybe make them feel empowered to exercise judgement rather than focusing on forms. Marry the two. One huge thing is try to explain to employees what the world looks like from your perspective, because honestly nobody knows or understands. It's unfamiliar and often terrifying.

    Show More
    Credit Karma2019-08-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A happy place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time

    Pros

    People are really willing to help!

    Cons

    Sometimes the documentation is disorganized.

    Credit Karma2019-08-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Mission driven company with nice and competent colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very smart people in the data science team - Friendly and cooperative culture - At least to me, it felt like the executive staff actually cared about the mission of the company - Generally good compensation and perks

    Cons

    - Not a con for everybody but for me the range of products that the company offers is very narrow. It's a bit difficult to be interested in advertising credit cards.

    Credit Karma2019-07-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Best tech company in the Bay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Core Product in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - So much opportunity for growth. - Transparency is alive and well. - Everyone here is genuine and kind. That's a true rarity in tech!

    Cons

    Growing pains exist, but these are good challenges to overcome.

    Advice to Management

    Have remote/ WFH flexibility.

    Credit Karma2019-07-22
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Nice company to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Design in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Karma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice company, the CEO is amazing.

    Cons

    The management in marketing is not great. The filter to join the company is very easy, the don't have a high standard of Design

    Credit Karma2019-07-22
Found 172 reviews