Cosmo Music Reviews

Updated May 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 23 reviews

3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cosmo Music President and CEO  Mark Hebert
Mark Hebert
4 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Fun Environment

    Jan 10, 2020 - Director of Marketing and Ecommerce in Richmond Hill, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - fun casual environment - many knowledgeable long term employees - open door policy from management team - opportunity to develop your career path

    Cons

    - no formal performance review process

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to pick up extra work

    May 27, 2021 - Music Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hands off, no organization required. Just show up.

    Cons

    Not as well paid as other teaching positions

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good for part-time work

    Oct 30, 2020 - Music Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good teaching experience and friendly staff.

    Cons

    Large turnover of students and not many hours. Pay could be better.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Small-Medium size company = good and bad

    Oct 15, 2020 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good deals on music gear, opportunity to learn a lot. lots of cool people. Pay is hourly plus commission which is good when its slow

    Cons

    not great communicatoin between management and staff.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A great place to work!

    Jan 15, 2020 - Pro Audio Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Family-owned - A major part of the Canadian Music Industry - Friendly work environment - A highly knowledgable leadership team

    Cons

    - No formal review policy to discuss performance or compensation -

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Fun place to work

    Nov 21, 2019 - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Being surrounded by musicians in your workplace is a huge perk

    Cons

    It’s hard to earn raises even when you’re a hard worker

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome place to work!!

    Nov 19, 2019 - Music Education Advisor in Richmond Hill, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cosmo has been the best job I've ever had! My coworkers are amazing and the management is very organized, responsible and friendly. When I came in for my first shift, I immediately felt at home and part of a family. The customers are extremely nice and I look forward to work every week!

    Cons

    There are no real downsides to working here - the only thing I would say is that it's kinda hard to get time off but the management is extremely understanding when it comes to that stuff.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great opportunity to learn a ton and get your hands on brand new first class gear

    Nov 6, 2019 - Cosmo Pro Technician/Rentals in Richmond Hill, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Get to learn a ton and get your hands on brand new first class gear - Great Co-workers and environment - Well Managed

    Cons

    - Some long hours (To be expected in A/V) - In store communications and customer relations in retail for part time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Terrible floor managers

    Apr 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Guitar repair staff is great, most of the lower ranking repairers are great at their job.

    Cons

    Terrible managers: a manager will screamed at me, "WHY NOT!!!?," when he had nobody that could stay and cover a shift of somebody who called in for a sick day. and as he does that, he'll walk away. I had already worked the entire day, and was not able to stay. Managers will tell you things about how they will improve the workplace, your area, but that only happens for the business and profit amking side of things. Wages are terrible. Terrible to a point that they will tell you in the hiring interview that you will not get one no matter how long you work there. Also the managers will laugh at you if you try to ask for one because you've been there a long time. They will change their mind about your role if they need to, which is fine, but when the change isn't actually working and you have to pick up the slack and do the work to get things moving, then you get spoken to. you are told that you weren't supposed to do this anymore, and it doesn't matter if you tell them that the part of your job that they gave to someone else wasn't being done, they don't even listen. anyways terrible place to work, if you do work there, do it for a short time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Warehouse

    Feb 2, 2018 - Warehouse Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Get gear at cost and see lots of cool stuff coming in. Was a good stepping stone job. Co-workers were great although some of the sales staff were not so nice.

    Cons

    I was laid off and not called back. After I was unable to find work, I ended up starting back here. I found that they had hired a bunch of new people including an employee’s son in law before calling temp lay-off people. Management is a joke. “HR” is a co-owner. They pay slightly above minimum wage and you are expected to deliver large electric pianos among other things in a large truck all over the city.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with Cosmo Music Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Cosmo Music? Share Your Experiences

Cosmo Music logo
or