Connected Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
78%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Connected CEO Mike Stern
Mike Stern
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "The office has a fun atmosphere with lots of good conversation (and ping pong)(in 7 reviews)

  • "Weekly events outside of usual agile ceremonies - demos, cross-project code/design reviews, tdd katas, socials(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Since the core hours were reduced from 9-6 to 9-5, that addressed my single biggest concern(in 5 reviews)

  • "While I've never had to work overtime so far personally, I would like to see sustainable work hours be more of a core value at the company(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing place with amazing people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connected full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome projects and great environment

    Cons

    Work from home limitations NDA super strict

    Continue reading

    Connected Response

    May 13, 2020CEO

    Thanks so much for your positive review. And really glad that you’re calling out our great projects and great people. We’re laser-focused on those two things. Stay tuned for our QBR (quarterly business review) next week for more discussion and updates on company strategy. Thanks, Mike

  2. Helpful (7)

    "Times have dramatically changed at Connected"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Connected full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The high quality people that work here.

    Cons

    Leadership .. they have lost there way

    Continue reading

    Connected Response

    April 21, 2020CEO

    I am sorry to hear that you feel this way. While these are tough times for us all, I’ve personally never felt more confident in Connected’s leadership. I’ve seen our leaders be tested in the last couple of months more than any time before in their careers. And from my vantage point, I’ve never felt more inspired by their dedication and their abilities. Our mission, values, clients and people are being focused on like never before. As for my leadership, time will tell. I’d love concrete feedback - please reach out to me or share anonymously in our internal make-it-better feedback form. And finally, as a leader yourself, I would encourage you to use your voice internally to drive the change you want to see. If you need help figuring out how to do that then please ask me. - Mike

  3. "Strong Consultancy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connected full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture, great projects - the company has a great track record in hiring smart practitioners.

    Cons

    Needs more private spaces to work.

    Connected Response

    February 5, 2020CEO

    Thank you for your review! I’m so happy to hear that your experience is positive and that you’re enjoying the projects that you’re working on. I agree that our practitioners are incredibly smart and it’s so rewarding to see the big impact they are having on our clients and the products that we build. Thanks for recommending we add more private workspaces, we’re working on it :)

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Going Strong"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connected full-time

    Pros

    -The management team really does listen to employees, any concerns which were called out are being addressed (from salaries to benefits, to flexible work, etc). Connected is the type of workplace where you can bring about change, management encourages and is receptive to this. - There has also been a big push to be more transparent at the executive level, lots of all-hands meetings and discussions about topics from new clients, to revenue targets, to the overall health of Connected. -Great co-workers, the kindness value is really lived by everyone you work with. -Lots of projects and exciting clients in the works -Amazing work-life balance, hard to find jobs in consulting/services where everyone goes home by 5!

    Cons

    We have gone through some reasonably typical startup growing pains. There has been a shift or change at Connected as we become a more established company. To some people this is scary, but I think these changes are necessary to ensure Connected is around for the long term. Some of the rituals that worked when we were small have been forgotten or discontinued, but this is likely for the best.

    Continue reading
  5. "Best In Canada"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connected full-time

    Pros

    - People really care here and leadership is actively looking to improve - Projects are very interesting - Work life balance

    Cons

    - Salary isn't the greatest but it is still competitive for Toronto tech

  6. "Working together to achieve success"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connected full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Strong culture with the opportunity to grow - Management listens and takes on board the opinions of employees - A lot of work is being done behind the scenes to take Connected forward - Strong pipeline of cool new projects - A lot of transparency into future projects - Working with Smart, Kind, Reliable people - Always the opportunity to learn new skills

    Cons

    - Benefits are being explored and worked on so looking forward to these being increased next year.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Not going strong... stay away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Connected full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve worked full time at Connected for two years. - Generous vacation time and personal time off - Ability to work on new engagements or different technologies

    Cons

    - Culture was pretty good. There’s no sense of culture now. - Management says they care about you but they don’t. You may ask for things but they go unfulfilled. - Career growth is non-existent. You will reach a ceiling where you cannot grow and the managers who did grow engineers are gone. - Don’t expect to get promoted or valued to what you think you deserve. Connected only provides bonuses and promotions to a subset of hand picked engineers. How engineers are promoted do not make sense nor reflect typical engineering leveling in Toronto. - Connected seems to place the same “high-value” employees on high profile projects. You will feel not valued.

    Continue reading

    Connected Response

    December 17, 2019CEO

    Hello Connector, This is Mike. It was hard to read the feedback that you shared but, as with every review, I read them and I respond to them, just as I am with yours. Your review made it clear that you don’t feel there is a sense of transparency. I am sorry about that. I hope that others reading this (including other Connectors) appreciate the lengths we go to in order to create transparency and to prioritize our culture and values. We’ve won a large number of awards for our culture and our workplace, and we have an overwhelming number of Connectors who feel positively about our culture. I have shared openly that we’ve experienced bumps over the last 5 years but we continue to learn and push to get better. I value your concerns about transparency and culture, but I also know it isn’t a feeling that is shared widely. We’ve had a really positive response to many of the efforts that have been made in this space. Your feedback tells me that we still have work to do and I would like to hear more about it. Please email/slack me and let’s get a coffee. Tell me straight about what is working and what isn’t from your perspective. Regarding your feedback about career growth and compensation, I agree that we need to get smarter and create more clarity around it. We also need to iterate more quickly on it. This is one of the special challenges an organization faces when they rapidly scale to almost 200 people in just a few years. It’s solvable but usually takes some iterations and years to get right. We’re not a start-up anymore, and we’re still not a mature and well-oiled machine. We’re in a very unique scale-up stage. But we’re making progress and feedback like this helps. Keep it coming. Regarding your comments about allocations, I hope you can see the progress that we have already made. More progress is coming very soon. We have learned a lot this year figuring out how to run this process at scale, and are actioning this as I write. We now have a much more diversified client base, and with a large number of disciplines and specializations to manage. This is good for the business - including for you - and for our clients, but it makes allocations more complex than it was in the past. Please share more feedback in a month if you haven’t yet seen progress. On your “Advice to Management”, Connected doesn’t ask HR or anyone else in the organization to write reviews on Connected’s behalf. I am appreciative of every piece of feedback that is received - positive and negative. Where it says that the response is from the CEO, it’s been written by me. I write them from the heart, and I try to use these opportunities to be helpful to you and other readers. As always, thanks for your feedback. The discussion it prompts is healthy and helps us get better. This is our teaching/learning culture in action. Please email me directly to continue this conversation. You might be surprised to learn how much I care about what you have to say and how we can work together to make Connected better. Thanks, Mike

  8. Helpful (12)

    "Going down"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Connected full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Vacation time is good - Able to work on Pursuit projects - Possibilities to work on many technologies - Good Education and Fitness credit

    Cons

    - A year ago, when the size of the company was small, the people were kind and good but not anymore. No one cares about you. Sometimes you feel that you don't exist. - Growth is slow and so is compensation - Pair programming is not for everyone. The company enforces pair programming even if you don't like it. If you want to take time off, it will affect your pair. Sometimes the pair you get doesn't work well for you. - Cannot work from remote/home - Compensation is not on par with the industry - They might evaluate you lesser than what you are really worth. Mostly they will make you start with a salary lesser than what you asked for but the increase is slow. - No bonus - Projects are not very exciting. You will mostly be on the bench for a longer time and work on a bench project - This is a consultation company, so expect a lot of stress if the company doesn't get good projects - You will also notice engineers are not given much importance when compared to designers, EMs and PMs - Too many people on the bench

    Connected Response

    November 19, 2019CEO

    I’m so sorry to hear you had such a negative experience! First of all, I can speak for myself, our Leadership and our managers when I say that we care about every Connector. And when I say we care, I don’t just mean it as a platitude. It is deeply and sincerely true. It’s frustrating to hear that you could feel this way when I know how hard our leadership works to try to make the Connector experience amazing. But it can be true that we care and try hard, and also true that you experienced what you described. I take responsibility for that and apologize. I think it’s helpful for everyone reading this to know that Connected is experiencing some of the common growing pains that come with scaling past 150 people. This is a common threshold that all companies struggle to evolve through. We weren’t much smaller a year ago when you described things as better. But these growing pains can show up in delayed and unexpected ways at this size and that’s why it’s important we adapt quickly. Connected is full of smart, kind and ambitious people. We’re intent on scaling not just to be big for the sake of it, but to maximize the impact and opportunity for a larger group of Connectors and partners. I wish we could move faster on all of these fronts at once! But we are making significant progress quickly and getting better at supporting and lifting every Connector. Like those who have scaled through this threshold before, we’ll make it. Even though this is a negative review, I’m grateful for it. It allows me to speak directly about where we’re at in our journey for others who are considering joining Connected. We’re not a startup anymore, but we’re still not a scaled-up, well-oiled impact machine. Regretfully, there are some people - you included - who joined an organization that couldn’t live up to your expectations. For others, this point in the Connected journey is exactly the scaling-up environment that they want to experience and contribute to first-hand. Lastly, I want to speak about our projects. I’m compelled to defend our client mandates and the unique trust we’ve earned to execute on such critical products. I know I am biased, but I’m hard-pressed to find a more impactful and challenging set of projects at any other product development consultancy in North America. And Connected has never had a bigger or more diverse pipeline in our history than we do now. A big thank you for the efforts and success of our growth teams and practitioners responsible for driving this pipeline of exciting projects. Thank you for your review. I am sincerely sorry that your experience was not what you had wanted it to be. We started this company to provide the complete opposite experience for Connectors. Engineering at Connected is the foundation of our practice and, along with Product and Design, it is essential to our vision of becoming the leading Product Development consultancy. Please feel free to reach out to me personally at mstern@connected.io if you’d like to continue the dialogue. I wish you the best in what’s next for you and I hope we can rebuild this relationship so that one day you can feel proud to be a Connector again. - Mike Stern, CEO

  9. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Connected full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, lots of opportunities to grow and learn, lots of company events, great workspace

    Cons

    The clients you work with might affect your experience, never enough energy bars

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of Bench, Dollars to match"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Connected full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Connected is one of the agencies in Toronto with bench time, which means the costs get passed through to client or your salary isn't that high. It's a great agency. People care about their work and for the most part leadership cares about its people.

    Cons

    Like most agencies, this is more of a place to do what you're good at than to learn new things. If you end up on the bench, there is pressure to show off and do something useful. This pressure doesn't actually let up when you're off the bench.

    Continue reading
Found 42 reviews