Cobs Bread Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Cobs Bread Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Cobs Bread CEO Roger Gillespie
Roger Gillespie
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun job, free food and decent pay for a student(in 4 reviews)

  • "You take home what you make every shift for free(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bakers work strange hours, sleeping habits are messed(in 6 reviews)

  • "I worked at a bakery prior for 2 years(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Cobs Bread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with. Learning about different products was fun. about basics of baking

    Cons

    None. A perfect place to work in.

    Advice to Management

    None. Everything is great

    Cobs Bread2019-08-15
  2. "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cobs Bread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food regular customers are nice

    Cons

    I have worked here for over 2 years and I have finally broken down because of the stress. You are constantly expected to do more work than should be expected for a minimum wage job. Our owner never comes in and expects everyone else to pick up his slack. The managers work over 12 hours a day with no breaks and no overtime pay. We can't take breaks because it is too busy and they need 2 staff up front whenever they... have more than 1 customer in the store (almost constantly) and we have to bend over backwards to clean every inch of the store and if its not perfect we get berated. Our bosses constantly watch the security cameras to catch us messing up and if we take breaks we get in trouble for not working. We have to pay for our own uniform pants and don't get reimbursed. the 5 star audits are so over the top and they get mad if theres a tiny bit of dust or a crumb on a shelf. we get written up if we come in 5 minutes before our shift fully in uniform and ready to work because if we arent there 10 minutes early we're late. I could go on and on but I'm too tired from working this damn job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating your employees like robots, stop breaking the law, have more realistic expectations, show more appreciation for the hard work your employees do

    Cobs Bread2019-08-27
  3. "Fun Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cobs Bread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a fun place to work. The customers were great, the staff was fun to work with and the franchise owner was supportive and considerate.

    Cons

    Physical work. You are on your feet all day.

    Cobs Bread2019-07-20
  4. "bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk 

    I have been working at Cobs Bread full-time

    Pros

    learned some basic baking knowledge

    Cons

    really bad pay and management

    Cobs Bread2019-07-31
  5. "Baker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Baker 

    I have been working at Cobs Bread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free bread to bring home Friendly staff

    Cons

    Early hours in the morning, you have to start working

    Cobs Bread2019-06-27
  6. "Pretty fun, depends on franchisee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cobs Bread full-time

    Pros

    Free bread, flexible hours, training opportunities including first aid

    Cons

    Get fat from bread, low wages, over bearing corporate initiatives

    Cobs Bread2019-06-02
  7. "Great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Team Leader in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cobs Bread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, manager, always busy

    Cons

    Hard work, not a job where you can slack off

    Cobs Bread2019-05-31
  8. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Baker - Overnight 

    I worked at Cobs Bread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun work to be doing, especially if you love baking

    Cons

    Management can be distant and rude, depending on the location; overnight hours can be rough

    Cobs Bread2019-05-17
  9. "Mgmt needs to realize employees are actual people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cobs Bread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really liked that they donated all remaining bread/bakery products to charity at the end of every day, good co-workers, good hours, mystery shopper rating will get you a gift card if you do well

    Cons

    minimal attention to health and safety even if brought up, encourages "family" envt but this will only go one way (you'll be doing favours and getting nothing in return).

    Advice to Management

    Employees are usually willing to help out in times of need but this needs to go both ways if you want less turnover.

    Cobs Bread2019-05-29
  10. "Corporate allows for no deviation from their cookie cutter stores. They care even less about the employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cobs Bread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 10$ per day bread allowances - Flexible schedule. - They donate all the bread and product at the end of the night.

    Cons

    - Far too many online modules and promotions - The corporate office seems disconnected from the actual bakery staff - their expectations make little sense on certain matters. - They advise bakeries understaff heavily, meaning that if someone is sick everyone is scrambling. - Don't expect any upward movement, management at my location was filled with drama and a lack of appreciation for any extra work performed.... - The 5-star inspections always meant that an already overworked and underpaid bakery staff had to stay longer after shift for extremely mundane cleaning tasks. - Bakers especially were overworked and would be expected to often give up their only day off if the management/owner decided it was needed. -Working as a sales associate you are expected to do far with no reward or gratitude expressed for solving an order problem for example. - The only time the corporate office is useful is when they tool around the store making little qualms about the cms apart the bread is displayed. - Everyone I worked with hated their job and disliked coming into work.

    Show More
    Cobs Bread2019-05-31
Found 64 reviews