Chef Software Reviews

Updated May 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Chef Software CEO Barry Crist
Barry Crist
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "The growing pains that Chef has gone through over the past couple years have been difficult but they are really paying off(in 39 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is great - the ability to work from home or remotely is fantastic(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Executive team seems like an old boys club (wealthy white males) and lacks any diversity(in 5 reviews)

  • "The hardest part is getting up to speed, because we're doing more than just legacy configuration management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Headline"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Chef Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company with great customers

    Cons

    Product direction and ease to deploy

    Chef Software2020-05-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company that cares for its employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chef Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome work flexibility, great products!

    Cons

    1 2 3 4 5

    Chef Software2020-04-03
  3. Helpful (4)

    "One of the true disappointments"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chef Software full-time

    Pros

    There are still a bunch of great people at Chef

    Cons

    Chef leadership bears the ultimate responsibility for all but destroying the company. From what was once a company that felt more like a community to a tone deaf, technological lagger in just a few short years. Those who develop the product are hampered by the short sightedness of those who make the decisions, and they are losing talent on a continuing basis. There was a time when Chef could have pivoted to do some really great things as a leader in their segment. That time is gone. Barring some miracle, they will continues to shrink. In the meantime it seems to be their mission to drive away customers with their last ditch effort to bring higher revenue by bleeding their install base. Convincing unsuspecting that they have an eye to future technology (or present for that matter), is their only hope now.

    Continue reading
    Chef Software2020-04-11
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Unfortunately a sleeper"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RSM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chef Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On the forefront of configuration management

    Cons

    Stale Leadership, lost, directionless, just existing with no growth incentives, needs new blood at the top, or just sell off the IP

    Continue reading
    Chef Software2019-10-10
  5. Helpful (6)

    "The Party is Over"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chef Software full-time

    Pros

    Still some great people

    Cons

    The window of opportunity has closed. The best people have left the company, the rest are leaving soon. Uncertainty clouds the future and new hired have very shaky understanding of what is going on.

    Continue reading
    Chef Software2019-11-02
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Uncertain future, market strategy and culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Previous CHEF Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chef Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CHEF's infrastructure automation tool is arguably best in class. Once in use, CHEF is sticky and generally becomes an established kit. Patterns are changing with some benefit to the end-user.

    Cons

    The unexpected departure of the founder has created a culture vacuum. What was once a progressive Seattle based company on the rise has become an unpleasant, drama rich grind. Customer churn is high and continues to outpace new business development. Product strategy is vague with unclear market messaging and CHEF has regrettably accelerated its revolving door of tenured talent. The future of CHEF is uncertain with continuous rumors of private equity and morale is generally low. Benefits are slipping with every motion seemingly tied to lowering spend to protect P&L. Product engineering is slipping fast.

    Continue reading
    Chef Software2019-10-31
  7. "CGL MT"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Management Trainee 

    I have been working at Chef Software full-time

    Pros

    Easy to handle the works

    Cons

    Always work overtime, quite busy

    Chef Software2019-09-26
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Working at Chef showed me how an org should NOT be run"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales/Marketing in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chef Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home, strong product.

    Cons

    I worked at Chef for a year in the Sales/Marketing department. Unfortunately my experience at this organization was highly negative on all accounts. Marketing runs the show when it comes to relationship with Sales, the team has no idea how to position this product in the market and the amount of internal red tape is unbelievable for a private organization. Chef customers are not taken care of post purchase there is little to no support from the customer success team. The executive team is so far disconnected from middle management and lower level employees, Chef claims to have an culture where employee feedback is listened to yet this was never my experience, feedback was met with phrases such as "why would we change this is the way we have always done things." The product Chef has created is highly valuable and a great solution for Configuration management, compliance and application management. It is a disappointing to see the company continuously struggle with how to position the product in the market and it is a great shame that those in charge are unaware of how their employees are truly treated.

    Continue reading
    Chef Software2019-07-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Culture, Smart People, Solid Business Model"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Recruiting in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chef Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The growing pains that Chef has gone through over the past couple years have been difficult but they are really paying off. The executive team is exceptional and know what it is going to take to get us from the founder phase to a mature company. This most recent business model change creates viable footing for explosive growth while remaining true to our roots. The programmatic scaling of revenue and product teams has been remarkable. There is still work to be done, but I have complete faith in the teams we have in place. I’ll be rooting for you all from the sidelines and can't wait to see what you all can do!

    Cons

    Chef can be very fast paced and agile. It can take a while to get your footing, but there is always someone that is willing to help if you are willing to ask.

    Continue reading
    Chef Software2019-04-24
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Things are changing, and not for the better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chef Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, compensation and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Unstable outlook and unprecedented amount of turnover on the Executive team over the last dew years which seems to be a very negative signal. It seems that the People function is on a downward spiral. A lot of people from that team have left and the ones that remain seem to have a much lower focus on the overall people experience. Recent changes to business model make me question the motive of the Board and the Executive team.

    Continue reading
    Chef Software2019-04-22
Found 110 reviews