Canada Computers Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Canada Computers Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Gordon Chan
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fantastic work environment, teaches a great deal about tech, troubleshooting, and solutions engineering(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great place to get your hands on new computer components(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sales and warranty targets push the burden of slow sales weeks/months onto reps instead of head office(in 11 reviews)

  • "need to be able to stand long hours(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Computers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Human management that cares for our well being

    Cons

    Should have more stores

    Canada Computers2018-06-21
  2. "easy but boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canada Computers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    it was relatively easy work, and the managers and other salesmen are nice and you have the opportunity to make commission.

    Cons

    got boring sometimes just sitting around.

    Canada Computers2019-06-16
  3. "Barely any commission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canada Computers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -light workload -lots of free time -co-workers are amazing

    Cons

    -the process is a mess

    Canada Computers2019-06-03
  4. "Great Opportunity to Learn about Computer Hardware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vaughan, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canada Computers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had the opportunity to learn very intricate details about a variety of computer hardware components. My immediate coworkers were great. Customers don't usually give any issues. I actually learned a lot from customers. Many of them were willing to teach me about what they were buying if it was something I was unfamiliar with.

    Cons

    Was disappointed in the way I was let go. I was randomly told I was let go one day without any warnings. When I asked why they lied and made up excuses to fire me which were not even true. They split up the store into sections A and B where A has all the expensive computer components, computers, and game consoles. Everything expensive was in section A. Meanwhile, section B had the cheaper items including the 'other'...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to be more understanding of their employees and learn how to interact with them to get the best results.

    Canada Computers2019-06-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "canada computers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Merchandiser in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Canada Computers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working with cool new products

    Cons

    everything about the place, and mostly the management is garbage. They dont care about you and will dispose of you. Will force you to sell warranty or threaten to fire you. Not a job to work at.

    Advice to Management

    Get better management

    Canada Computers2019-06-10
  6. "Honest Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Canada Computers full-time

      Pros

      friendly environment, good manager, helpful coworkers

      Cons

      Most companies offer free snacks and beverages (coffee, etc). This one doesn't. Company could do with faster decision making (like giving employees a day off in advance of snowstorms like most companies instead of releasing employees three hours earlier), hours are longer than most companies I've worked at, depending on which department you're in it may be hard to fit in due to a strong Chinese culture present (Chinese...

      Show More
      Canada Computers2019-05-02
    • "Average Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Canada Computers part-time

      Pros

      Relaxed Coworkers, Managers are really nice and are willing to teach you if you want to learn. Good commission structure.

      Cons

      Bad training program, unpleasant customers (sometimes)

      Canada Computers2019-03-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Canada Computers full-time

      Pros

      Always job openings Don’t need to think much

      Cons

      10hr shifts Understaffed Poor communication from head office, which lead to poor communications from managers, and down to poor customer service.

      Advice to Management

      Minimum wage increasing did not mean that one person should do more work “to earn our raise” - staff should not each have to do the job of three people.

      Canada Computers2019-03-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Medicre Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Canada Computers part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good Coworkers, Supportive Staff, Good commission structure.

      Cons

      Training program is abysmal, management often conflicts with how they want things done.

      Canada Computers2019-03-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good company, but warranty targets are a pain."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Canada Computers part-time

      Pros

      Fantastic work environment, teaches a great deal about tech, troubleshooting, and solutions engineering.

      Cons

      Sales and warranty targets push the burden of slow sales weeks/months onto reps instead of head office.

      Canada Computers2019-02-28
    Found 118 reviews