Best Version Media Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Best Version Media Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Best Version Media Chief Executive Officer Dave Durand
Dave Durand
228 Ratings
Pros
  • "BVM offers an opportunity to create a successful business without a large initial investment(in 105 reviews)

  • "Best Version Media offers great education to help you get started as a magazine publisher(in 72 reviews)

Cons
  • "The pay is based on working 20 hours a month, but to produce a high-quality magazine, it takes much more time(in 48 reviews)

  • "Pay is 100% commission so without success BVM can be very tough(in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Very Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The interviewer was honest regarding possible income to me made using minimums to make it easy to understand. Thoroughly explained this is not a get rich quick scheme, you get out what you put into the position. After discussing various options, we concluded the Account Executive position was a better fit, for everyone, myself and for the company. The recruiter had a complete concern that because it was 100% commission sales, that I was prepared in case it was 3 months or more before I saw any commission, so there were no surprises.

    Cons

    Non at this time. The recruiter was thorough and therefore answered all my questions before I had to ask them.

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-07-11

    Best Version Media Response

    July 12, 2019Media Relations

    Thanks for the feedback!

    Continue reading
  2. "Good job but have to be willing to work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Good So Far 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time

    Pros

    - make your own schedule which is nice

    Cons

    -commission only so no hourly pay

    Best Version Media2019-11-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    work at your own pace flexible hours

    Cons

    no french starter options no learning tools minimal information provided to get started

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-10-29

    Best Version Media Response

    October 30, 2019Media Relations

    We pride ourselves in working with Publishers of all backgrounds and experiences and we strive to equip every Publisher with the necessary resources it takes to build a highly successful business.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Publisher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Publisher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Detailed training by executives

    Cons

    Cant wait to get started

    Best Version Media2019-04-29

    Best Version Media Response

    May 2, 2019Media Relations

    Thank you for the review! We're excited to have you join our team!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Make your own hours, meet great people, be someone who connects people & businesses.

    Cons

    You have to be self-motivated!!

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-03-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "I worked at BVM for less than a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great support from management

    Cons

    For anyone who hasn't worked a strictly commission based job before it's difficult

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-01-31
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company - Even Better People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peterborough, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time

    Pros

    I wake up every morning excited to go into work... sounds cliché, but so true! The company culture at Best Version Media is unmatched. It is always a positive work environment where everyone feels valued and appreciated. I have all the support I need without being micromanaged and am trusted to do my job.

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Best Version Media2018-12-19
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publisher in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In control of your schedule, meet lots of people, you become connected. No money involved in start up.

    Cons

    it takes time to build but with consistent work it happens quickly, more quickly than most businesses.

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2018-10-25
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Do Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Executive in Whitby, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    0 pros, they lie about the posted positions, and the job they hire you for is not the one you applied for.

    Cons

    They don't respond to email inquiries, you don't earn the first 5000$ you make in sales, you're basically working for nothing for the first few months. Terrible company, would not recommend to anyone. They also don't give the address of your work and is very sketchy

    Best Version Media2018-10-14
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Don't Believe the Hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Publisher in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Make your own ours....sort of.

    Cons

    Where do I start?

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2018-07-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 268 reviews