Best Version Media Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Best Version Media Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 255 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Best Version Media CEO Dave Durand
Dave Durand
219 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employees at BVM are great people to work with(in 98 reviews)

  • "Best Version Media offers great education to help you get started as a magazine publisher(in 71 reviews)

Cons
  • "Nothing negative to share about BVM(in 43 reviews)

  • "People will think you are crazy for 'working for free' to launch a magazine(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Very Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The interviewer was honest regarding possible income to me made using minimums to make it easy to understand. Thoroughly explained this is not a get rich quick scheme, you get out what you put into the position. After discussing various options, we concluded the Account Executive position was a better fit, for everyone, myself and for the company. The recruiter had a complete concern that because it was 100% commission sales, that I was prepared in case it was 3 months or more before I saw any commission, so there were no surprises.

    Cons

    Non at this time. The recruiter was thorough and therefore answered all my questions before I had to ask them.

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-07-11

    Best Version Media Response

    July 12, 2019Media Relations

    Thanks for the feedback!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Publisher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Publisher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Detailed training by executives

    Cons

    Cant wait to get started

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-04-29

    Best Version Media Response

    May 2, 2019Media Relations

    Thank you for the review! We're excited to have you join our team!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Make your own hours, meet great people, be someone who connects people & businesses.

    Cons

    You have to be self-motivated!!

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-03-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "I worked at BVM for less than a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great support from management

    Cons

    For anyone who hasn't worked a strictly commission based job before it's difficult

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2019-01-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company - Even Better People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peterborough, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time

    Pros

    I wake up every morning excited to go into work... sounds cliché, but so true! The company culture at Best Version Media is unmatched. It is always a positive work environment where everyone feels valued and appreciated. I have all the support I need without being micromanaged and am trusted to do my job.

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2018-12-19
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publisher in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In control of your schedule, meet lots of people, you become connected. No money involved in start up.

    Cons

    it takes time to build but with consistent work it happens quickly, more quickly than most businesses.

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2018-10-25
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Do Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Executive in Whitby, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    0 pros, they lie about the posted positions, and the job they hire you for is not the one you applied for.

    Cons

    They don't respond to email inquiries, you don't earn the first 5000$ you make in sales, you're basically working for nothing for the first few months. Terrible company, would not recommend to anyone. They also don't give the address of your work and is very sketchy

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2018-10-14
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Don't Believe the Hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publisher in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Make your own ours....sort of.

    Cons

    Where do I start?

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2018-07-15
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Market Manager and Publisher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Manager and Publisher in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a great company to work for if you want to start your own business, receive the proper support to do so and get to know your community better. I have experienced such amazing support not only from the BVM team, but from the communities where I publish my magazines. People love to read them from front to back and think the familiarity of knowing the family on the cover is very unique and brilliant! I enjoy being my own boss and providing a product to my community that they find refreshing and a joy to read.

    Cons

    Cold calling is not always fun and the worst part of the job, but that's sales for you. The more you connect with your advertisers and community, the more referrals you will receive. These are the best advertisers as they already believe in your product before you speak with them.

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2018-06-16
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great company great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publisher in Kelowna, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of support when needed

    Cons

    No downsides except what you put in you get out.

    Continue reading
    Best Version Media2018-05-08
Found 255 reviews