Best Version Media Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 358 of over 512 reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Best Version Media Chief Executive Officer Kevin O’ Brien
Kevin O’ Brien
292 Ratings
Pros
  • "BVM offers an opportunity to create a successful business without a large initial investment(in 106 reviews)

  • "Be a publisher with unlimited support throughout training, all the way up to Dave Durand the CEO(in 71 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The pay is based on working 20 hours a month, but to produce a high-quality magazine, it takes much more time(in 49 reviews)

  • "Same old trouble with "sales people (publishers)" who are unreasonable(in 33 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      LOVE working with the BVM team - amazing opportunity

      Apr 20, 2021 - Publisher in Wilmington, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with BVM nearly 4 years, and have achieved financial success greater than any previous job/career! My schedule is flexible and as long as I "get up and never give up" I have continued success! Dave Durand is an amazing CEO, and our entire leadership team is top notch. We have so much support and people wanting us to succeed. Amazing culture . . . so thankful for BVM, it has changed my life!

      Cons

      You need to be disciplined, motivated, and willing to work hard to achieve huge success.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      Thanks so much for the review! BVM offers entrepreneurs a flexible work environment and an award-winning culture unlike anywhere else. We're thrilled to hear about your continued success and we're grateful to have you on the team!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Become the Best Version of Yourself

      May 18, 2021 - Publisher in Edmonton, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Coaching and support and truly a leave no man behind mentality. These people don't give up on people.

      Cons

      You get out what you put in and that means lot's of hard work and lot's of rejection.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      We appreciate the feedback! BVM offers training and guidance every step of the way to help our Publishers find success.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Scam

      Jul 21, 2021 - Associate Publisher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. You work for nothing .

      Cons

      Build up a portfolio with the promise of 80 % commission yet it is almost impossible to get ahead.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      We completely understand the Publisher role is not for everyone, but we respectfully disagree with the how this review characterizes our business. Unlike many opportunities, there are no upfront costs necessary to get started with us and we offer training and resources to help all of our people build successful businesses.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Tremendous Opportunity

      Mar 15, 2021 - Publisher in Abbotsford, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started as the writer and took over the magazine after I saw how much the community liked it. This opportunity brings value to the publisher, business sponsors and residents. Residents get to know each other and business sponsors show their support for the neighbourhood and connect with the residents in a meaningful, family-friendly meduim. For the publisher, it's a great way to bring value to the community and keep a good work-life balance. I also work with a nonprofit, and I can devote time from my week there while also working as a publisher for my magazine. BVM has been terrific to publishers and sponsors during COVID. They quickly pivoted with remote presentations. BVM has shown great compassion toward my business sponsors throughout the pandemic too. BVM is fun to work with and very positive. Their training and support are really good too. This opportunity has allowed me to create an income stream which has helped my family greatly. The sky is the limit. And BVM has room for publishers who want to run one magazine and others who want to run several. Overall, the culture is positive, fun and forward focused. It's a great opportunity for people who will put in the hard work it takes to be successful.

      Cons

      To be honest, the biggest "con" is that it's hard work. It takes intentionality, consistency, perseverance and resilience to initiate with so many people.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      Thanks for leaving such a detailed review about your experience working with us! Our goal is to offer training, resources and support to help every one of our Publishers build a successful business. It's a challenging yet rewarding role that offers entrepreneurs the exciting opportunity to bring a beautiful magazine to their community each month. We're grateful for the feedback!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      An Amazing Opportunity

      Mar 12, 2021 - Publisher in Brandon, MB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      BVM has an amazing culture, outstanding leaders, and the business opportunity of a lifetime. BVM has allowed me the ability to own my own business, to work for myself but not by myself. Not only am I creating something amazing for myself and my family, but I also get to help local businesses and local residents and help to build a strong community. If you are looking for the formula to creating an amazing life, you have found the right place!

      Cons

      There really are no cons for Best Version Media if you are willing to work hard and challenge yourself to be the best version of yourself everyday.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      Thank you for the positive feedback! We truly believe anyone who is up to the challenge can build a successful business while working with BVM. We're grateful to have you on the team!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Very impressed with this company

      Mar 12, 2021 - Publisher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked in corporations both large and small, as well as owned several businesses myself. My experience working with Best Version Media has exceeded all expectations. The organization runs like clockwork with systems for everything - yet nimble enough to adapt to challenges and adjust when necessary (covid being a prime example). The training and support is world class. The company culture is uplifting, fun, principled and humble. Simply put, this is one of the best kept secrets out there. If you value growth, flexibility and community, this could be the opportunity you're looking for. It was for me.

      Cons

      If you need someone to chase you around and hound you to get your work done, this might not be for you. The autonomy we have is amazing, but with that comes a responsibility to be disciplined about setting and working your own schedule. Intrinsically motivated (aka self-starters) will love this.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      Thanks for the great feedback about working with BVM! The Publisher opportunity has tremendous potential for self-starters who work hard and stay committed to the program.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Comission based

      Mar 24, 2021 - Account Executive in Barrie, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Team Good Management Great Training Well managed system

      Cons

      Commission based Hard to start Previous knowledge of Sales is required to succeed

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      Our goal is to offer training and support to help all of our people find success. We appreciate the feedback!

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      You work hard and generate first sale in 4 months otherwise fired

      Mar 19, 2021 - Associate Publisher in Charlottetown, PE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great and caring team leads and team members.

      Cons

      Requires hard work and experience and patience and speed to generate first sale

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      Our goal is to offer training and endless support to help our people reach their goals. We understand the Publisher opportunity is not for everyone, but we believe that anyone can find success with us by working hard and staying committed.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Part-time Job

      Feb 5, 2021 - Content Coordinator in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work, flexible hours, supportive supervisors, a variety of different work and a way to connect with your community.

      Cons

      Not many full-time opportunities outside of sales roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      Thanks for leaving us some feedback! The Content Coordinator role offers writers the opportunity to work with a local Publisher to share positive, family-friendly magazine content with our readers each month.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      BVM takes care of themselves first not their employees

      Sep 29, 2020 - Publisher in Winnipeg, MB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good experience in launching your own business and connecting with your community

      Cons

      The magazine you launch is not yours and they can and will hold back your pay if you don’t make a sale within 30 days

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Best Version Media Response

      Media Relations

      We offer an excellent opportunity for entrepreneurs to start a business in their local area and we value the hundreds of Publishers we work with. We believe anyone can achieve their goals with us through commitment and hard work. We'll continue to improve the Publisher role moving forward to help others find success.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 358 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Best Version Media Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Best Version Media? Share Your Experiences

    Best Version Media logo
    or