Best Version Media Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Best Version Media Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 256 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Best Version Media CEO Dave Durand
Dave Durand
220 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employees at BVM are great people to work with(in 100 reviews)

  • "Best Version Media offers great education to help you get started as a magazine publisher(in 71 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay is 100% commission so without success BVM can be very tough(in 45 reviews)

  • "People will think you are crazy for 'working for free' to launch a magazine(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Very Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The interviewer was honest regarding possible income to me made using minimums to make it easy to understand. Thoroughly explained this is not a get rich quick scheme, you get out what you put into the position. After discussing various options, we concluded the Account Executive position was a better fit, for everyone, myself and for the company. The recruiter had a complete concern that because it was 100%... commission sales, that I was prepared in case it was 3 months or more before I saw any commission, so there were no surprises.

    Show More

    Cons

    Non at this time. The recruiter was thorough and therefore answered all my questions before I had to ask them.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Best Version Media2019-07-11

    Best Version Media Response

    July 12, 2019Media Relations

    Thanks for the feedback!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Publisher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Publisher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time

    Pros

    Human interaction Work at home Flexible hours References

    Cons

    Not enough training Lack of communication with employer No material provided in Frenfh No supported training for the language barrier

    Advice to Management

    Whenever you do a interview in a province you therefore know what language you are dealing with, I was interviewed and hired in quebec which is a French speaking province. I was given very minor details on the position within 2 hours i was given my territory to cover. With no similar experience in the feild of BVM employee's should be shadowing an expirienced employee to gain knowledge of the industry and how to... make the approach to the target audience. When you are not educated enough about the industry and the Company's historical information getting people to take you seriously is next to impossible, Also not having material on hand in the language of targeted audience in a province other than the English language doesn't necessarily have potential clients m Provide French language material when hiring in a French province

    Show More
    Best Version Media2019-09-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Publisher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Publisher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Detailed training by executives

    Cons

    Cant wait to get started

    Best Version Media2019-04-29

    Best Version Media Response

    May 2, 2019Media Relations

    Thank you for the review! We're excited to have you join our team!

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Make your own hours, meet great people, be someone who connects people & businesses.

    Cons

    You have to be self-motivated!!

    Advice to Management

    None

    Best Version Media2019-03-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I worked at BVM for less than a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great support from management

    Cons

    For anyone who hasn't worked a strictly commission based job before it's difficult

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do best!

    Best Version Media2019-01-31
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company - Even Better People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peterborough, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time

    Pros

    I wake up every morning excited to go into work... sounds cliché, but so true! The company culture at Best Version Media is unmatched. It is always a positive work environment where everyone feels valued and appreciated. I have all the support I need without being micromanaged and am trusted to do my job.

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Best Version Media2018-12-19
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Publisher in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In control of your schedule, meet lots of people, you become connected. No money involved in start up.

    Cons

    it takes time to build but with consistent work it happens quickly, more quickly than most businesses.

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting us. I love the incentives, the training and the positive culture.

    Best Version Media2018-10-25
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Do Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Executive in Whitby, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Version Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    0 pros, they lie about the posted positions, and the job they hire you for is not the one you applied for.

    Cons

    They don't respond to email inquiries, you don't earn the first 5000$ you make in sales, you're basically working for nothing for the first few months. Terrible company, would not recommend to anyone. They also don't give the address of your work and is very sketchy

    Best Version Media2018-10-14
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Don't Believe the Hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Publisher in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Make your own ours....sort of.

    Cons

    Where do I start?

    Advice to Management

    Tell people the truth

    Best Version Media2018-07-15
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Market Manager and Publisher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Manager and Publisher in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Version Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a great company to work for if you want to start your own business, receive the proper support to do so and get to know your community better. I have experienced such amazing support not only from the BVM team, but from the communities where I publish my magazines. People love to read them from front to back and think the familiarity of knowing the family on the cover is very unique and brilliant! I enjoy... being my own boss and providing a product to my community that they find refreshing and a joy to read.

    Show More

    Cons

    Cold calling is not always fun and the worst part of the job, but that's sales for you. The more you connect with your advertisers and community, the more referrals you will receive. These are the best advertisers as they already believe in your product before you speak with them.

    Advice to Management

    Keep motivating us all! Your message is simple and applies to everything we do in life. Get your head straight every day and some days are better than others. Give yourself a break when you've not had a good day, but don't give up. Start anew the next day with a fresh perspective and a drive to push beyond your limits.

    Best Version Media2018-06-16
Found 256 reviews