Berkeley Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Berkeley Group Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
48%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Berkeley Group Chairman Tony Pidgley, CBE  (no image)
Tony Pidgley, CBE
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay compared to competitors(in 7 reviews)

  • "Work with somd great people, who are hard working and driven(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "They expect you to work long hours(in 27 reviews)

  • "No hr dept which undermines employees ability to enforce basic statutory rights(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Rewarding business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planning Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Berkeley Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with hardworking and driven individuals. Career development opportunities are given to those that work hard.

    Cons

    Strict working hours from 8am until 5:30pm.

    Continue reading
    Berkeley Group2020-02-17

    Berkeley Group Response

    February 18, 2020Talent Development Team

    Thank you for your comments. Feedback is important to us and will help us with the continuous improvement of the business.

    Continue reading
  2. "Nice working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Enjoy working in my team and every day is different. Manager is passionate about our department.

    Cons

    Would be nice to have more of a breakout area for lunch. Kitchen sometimes gets quite crowded at lunch times.

    Continue reading
    Berkeley Group2020-02-17

    Berkeley Group Response

    February 18, 2020Talent Development Team

    Thank you for your comments. Feedback is important to us and will help us with the continuous improvement of the business.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good career progression in a challenging and competitive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most members of staff are very professional and driven individuals. As I spend time within different offices across the Group I see a lot of different people and all work to the same level of professionalism. Since joining Berkeley I have been promoted twice since but hard work is needed to work your way up. I would not recommend joining Berkeley if you are a lazy individual as you will NOT last long! All offices I work in are in good locations and have nice facilities within them. There are always hot desks available and our IT system makes it easy to login on different machines.

    Cons

    The working hours are quite long at Berkeley. 8AM to 5:30PM is standard across the Group. There are however talks and plans to change these. A probation period with Berkeley is 6 months, this could perhaps be shortened to feel more wanted but if you work to the level expected you will pass with ease.

    Continue reading
    Berkeley Group2020-02-17

    Berkeley Group Response

    February 18, 2020Talent Development Team

    Thank you for your comments. Feedback is important to us and will help us with the continuous improvement of the business.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great People, Long Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with somd great people, who are hard working and driven.

    Cons

    8-5.30pm long hours and some are expected to work outside these hours. Also high turn over of staff. No working from home or flexi hours. No HR department!

    Continue reading
    Berkeley Group2020-02-12

    Berkeley Group Response

    February 17, 2020Resourcing Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. Feedback is important to us and will help us with the continuous improvement of the business.

    Continue reading
  5. "Professional and hard working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office locations. Very good kitchen facilities, nice desks, IT system that work and is easy to use. Chance to work on the best schemes in London Learn from industry leading senior members of staff Well paid compared to other house builders I have worked at Good benefits like car allowance, pension and new maternity policy is now in place Events outside of work are organised sometimes

    Cons

    Long hours (08:00 to 17:30) - is due to change in future Need to be able to work independently quite a lot Need to travel for meetings when required that are sometimes a bit too far out

    Continue reading
    Berkeley Group2020-01-20

    Berkeley Group Response

    January 23, 2020Resourcing Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. Feedback is important to us and will help us with the continuous improvement of the business.

    Continue reading
  6. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Berkeley Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, nice colleagues, good brand.

    Cons

    Bullying , unprofessional, unprofessional, toxic environment.

    Continue reading
    Berkeley Group2020-01-14

    Berkeley Group Response

    January 20, 2020Resourcing Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. Feedback is important to us and will help us with the continuous improvement of the business.

    Continue reading
  7. "Ok if you can hack it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantity Surveyor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, some good benefits.

    Cons

    High pressure, long hours and overworking expected and not appreciated.

    Continue reading
    Berkeley Group2020-01-08

    Berkeley Group Response

    January 14, 2020Resourcing Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. Feedback is important to us and will help us with the continuous improvement of the business.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place for hard workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berkeley Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I get to work among really motivated and high performing people. We make quick decisions and get things done to a really high standard, which is satisfying. People take pride in their work and we deliver really big and impressive regeneration programmes. The company's enviromental commitments/policies are really strong. It's a very focussed and responsive culture

    Cons

    It's very fast-paced, so you have to keep up No working from home

    Continue reading
    Berkeley Group2020-01-06

    Berkeley Group Response

    January 14, 2020Resourcing Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. Feedback is important to us and will help us with the continuous improvement of the business.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great opportunities but tough culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Berkeley Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities and exposure to great projects. Good responsibility given early on

    Cons

    Long working hours, no flexibility, no benefits.

    Berkeley Group2020-01-06

    Berkeley Group Response

    January 14, 2020Resourcing Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. Feedback is important to us and will help us with the continuous improvement of the business.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 111 reviews