BDO Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BDO Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
50%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
BDO CEO Pat Kramer (no image)
Pat Kramer
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer and awesome team in Ottawa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team and reasonable wages compared to industry

    Cons

    Work is less challenging than Big 4

    BDO2018-12-17
  2. "BDO DARTMOUTH REVIEW! WORST WORKPLACE EVER!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Dartmouth, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BDO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Liked some fellow recent grads working with me in Tax & Audit.

    Cons

    1. I would not recommend this particular location for CPA students they don't offer support or allow ANY time off while your in the mods. 2. The culture at this office is highly toxic, this is a result of the tone from the top specially the partners who have been there before the takeover from BDO. 3. Repeatedly told that CPA grads are "dime a dozen" and easily replaceable 4. Favorites/hockey players are promoted over everyone else 5. Pay is awful and raises are even worst 6. Partners are very disrespectful towards other cultures. 7. No training is provided and you are expected to know everything. I would advice anyone from accepting a job offer from them. I would recommend any other firm except them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your employees work life balance. Stop making everything about chargeable hours. Some people take more time to learn and that shouldn't make them disposable.

    BDO2019-12-20
  3. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    More room for improvement in future

    Cons

    System and culture not good for staff

    Advice to Management

    -

    BDO2019-12-17
  4. "Good overall culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, decent pay, inclusive atmosphere, possibility to work remotely

    Cons

    Management styles are specific to certain teams. Its a gamble

    Advice to Management

    Train people and give them the opportunity to venture into hybrid job definitions

    BDO2019-11-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not that good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Auditor in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like the people working there. Most of them are really down to earth and easy to get alone.

    Cons

    1. Salary is bad. 2. Overworked employee, the general business atmosphere is bad. 3. Not enough training provided to their employee. 4. No really work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    BDO is not as reputable as the other big 4 so there is no selling point here. When I joint the selling point of BDO was "work-life balance" however this culture has changed afterwards. Also you don't really have generous salary like smaller firms do so I am wondering what is the BDO' s selling point and why would people apply to your company but not other similar companies?

    BDO2019-11-05
  6. "the worst nightmare ever. I would rate this place negative if such function is available."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you ever want a professional work environment, DO NOT GO THERE!

    Cons

    Having worked here in the past 2 years has been my worst nightmare. There is no fairness in how employees' performance is evaluated. You ended up with no recognition in your contribution at all, although you handled insane amount of workload, difficult clients and complex situations. I have seen how high-performance employees were driven out of the office because they get blamed for "working too hard" or "helping other employees too much". I have seen people who get promotion into management without qualifying as a Canadian CPAs. I have seen staff taking leaves after they are booked on engagements and still able to get away with it. I have seen managers disappearing on tight deadlines, leaving the staff struggling on files and still getting away with it. I have seen high-performance employees been driven to work restlessly and NOT getting promotion because according to the partners, they “worked too hard”. They proclaimed work-life balance. But a better question is who is getting the work life balance? Their favourable babies who get time to rest and promotion with easy effort; or the hardworking ones who spent 70 hours per week, fixing the issue in those high-risk files and getting no recognition? In the mid year, I came to a senior manager with my concern on favouritism. He told me that I should do self-reflect thinking why I am not the one being favoured for? Guess what, this senior manager also left them in the same year. I guess he found out that he was also not favoured for here. I discussed with staff about favouritism, everyone told me to shut up because it is a taboo here. It is happening, but everyone is too scared to talk about it. I even got threatened that if I brought this issue to HR, I would be forced to submit my letter of resignation. Personally, I really regretted working for this office and I know I am not the only one.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I know that no management will ever pay attention to what happened in this office. Everyone is dispensable here. But if this office continues to operate in this way, it is a matter of time before this office gets into class action of lawsuits for workplace unfairness or discrimination in court. But BDO probably won't care about lawsuits either.

    BDO2019-12-11
  7. "Awful Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BDO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salaries are competitive but that's all.

    Cons

    You have an arrogant CMO who is fake and treats people like he is still a professor. They do not practice what they preach regarding their core values.

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach and do not play games with people's career or compensation.

    BDO2019-12-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Unsupportive management breeds toxic work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits, nice office, firm events

    Cons

    Inflexible work from home policy, managers don't care about staff, high expectations but minimal guidance

    BDO2019-11-12
  9. "investment analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good for new grad developments

    Cons

    intense for new grad developments

    BDO2019-10-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "management has very limited understanding of people culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Staff Accountant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at BDO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -regular pros of big 4, but less

    Cons

    -if you outperform others initially it will come back to haunt you - high turnover so lack of internal culture

    Advice to Management

    keep your staff close but not too close, shows over-commitment and to people that aren't as committed as management that comes off as a turn-off

    BDO2019-10-13
Found 119 reviews
</>Embed