Autodesk Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Autodesk Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Autodesk CEO Andrew Anagnost
Andrew Anagnost
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/Life Balance (The job can be all-consuming at times)(in 50 reviews)

  • "Can be too many people involved in decision making or its unclear who decision maker is(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Autodesk full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing environment, a lot of great people in the office. The company is trying to make a big difference.

    Cons

    Not a lot of control on what you will be working on, but this depends on what team you work with

    Autodesk2019-11-25

    Autodesk Response

    November 26, 2019HR Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your experience!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Bad Echo chamber"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Autodesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family-Work balance is great on paper

    Cons

    You like your ego stroked? You love to strike the ego of peers? You feel great in an overly political environment? You love echo chambers and wants to be part of one? Don't forget Cargo cults! They have everything for you there.

    Continue reading
    Autodesk2020-03-11

    Autodesk Response

    March 16, 2020HR Leadership

    Thank you for sharing this and letting us know of your experience. Autodesk takes these concerns seriously and will follow our processes to ensure we continually improve our workplace environment. Autodesk has a Business and Ethics Hotline and we encourage anyone with questions or concerns to contact us through this hotline. You may contact the hotline by phone at 855-822-9535 or online at www.autodesk.ethicspoint.com.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior QA Analyst in Barrie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Autodesk full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good work environment, well balanced work-personal life

    Cons

    Publicly traded company cuts and layoffs are not uncommon

    Autodesk2020-02-08
  4. "It's good enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Tech in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Autodesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice enough salary and comfortable

    Cons

    Can't really manage projects very effectively, lots of work gets thrown away

    Autodesk2020-02-04
  5. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Autodesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autodesk is a good company overall. Depending on the team you’re in, the work can be rewarding, and the salary and benefits are competitive.

    Cons

    As another reviewer mentioned, the assassin politics and climate in this office make it hard to justify staying when there are better places to work.

    Autodesk2019-12-15

    Autodesk Response

    December 18, 2019HR Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We are always open to hearing feedback and if you want to share more about your particular concerns, please feel free to contact the Ethics Compliance Hotline: www.autodesk.ethicspoint.com or call 1-855-822-9535 so that we can discuss.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Autodesk full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. WFH. Nice office on subway line. Some great people to work with. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Base salary could use serious improvement.

    Autodesk2019-11-27
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Probably other more interesting opportunities in Montreal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Autodesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I worked with were very skilled and decent. I enjoyed the work I've work there. Projects and software developed in Montreal are interesting. The stock purchase plan can be very profitable.

    Cons

    Every quarter, people are let go. Even good people. People that are now working in high profile companies like google, apple or Unity. A week you have several openings in a department, the next they cut 2 people. To make their numbers, they also force you to take vacations in certain period of the year.

    Autodesk2019-11-16

    Autodesk Response

    November 21, 2019HR Leadership

    Thank you for your candid feedback. Though reorganizations and changes are inevitable in our industry, we recognize that some of these changes impact our employees. However, we encourage all employees to have regular, ongoing communications with their managers to help achieve their career aspirations. Autodesk is continually evolving and this feedback helps us continue to be a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Dream job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Autodesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Excellent work environment + Great mentorship from seniors + Incredible projects + Startup vibes with big corp funding + 20+ interns per quarter

    Cons

    - Some projects can be killed at any moments notice - You can't get to know everyone you work with - Your manager is probably in a meeting somewhere

    Continue reading
    Autodesk2019-10-09

    Autodesk Response

    November 14, 2019HR Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Honest feedback like this helps us to continue to make Autodesk a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  9. "Senior QA Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior QA Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Autodesk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant, Intelligent, creative, caring and fun co-workers. Flex work all your life.

    Cons

    No over-time. Some politics at higher up.

    Continue reading
    Autodesk2019-04-03

    Autodesk Response

    April 3, 2019HR Leadership

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate you sharing a bit of your experience. We hope to find you back at Autodesk in the future.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "What a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Autodesk full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Great people! - Great opportunities for advancement - Great company values - Great benefits - Great compensation - Great Employee Stock Purchase Plan - Autonomy allowing to make a difference

    Cons

    - until recently, I would have said that it’s a large enterprise and that it takes time to make decisions. But since this year, Autodesk launched new company values & ways we work in an effort to simplify everything and to put in place a mentality of startup to enable us to realize the great company growth ahead of us.

    Continue reading
    Autodesk2019-03-24

    Autodesk Response

    April 3, 2019HR Leadership

    Thank you for your review! We're excited to hear that you're loving working at Autodesk. This feedback helps us to continue creating an even better environment for all employees.

    Continue reading
Found 1053 reviews