Arup Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Arup Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 854 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Arup CEO Alan Belfield
Alan Belfield
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administraive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture, good management, flexibile in accommodating career ambitions

    Cons

    Could be more organized

    Arup2019-03-08
  2. "Company with great vision, but poorly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good team spirit, lots of training, new tools and software to work with, generous benefits, social comitee, profit share, perks, good for a first experience, interesting projects to work on

    Cons

    overtime, lots of politics, promotions only for bosses' favorite employees, too many meetings, marketing team is rude, hr is not very useful and not helping in case of harassment or conflict.

    Advice to Management

    More support staff please ! Stop despotism and favoritism !

    Arup2019-08-29
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Failed to live up to expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large scale projects, dynamic work colleagues, pretty decent salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Weak leadership, uncompetitive fees compared to other more established firms in the market place, promotions seem to be based on favouritism and length of time served at the company rather than actual ability. The HR department is one of the poorest that I have seen at any company.

    Advice to Management

    Fix your weak Canadian leadership and start treating staff with more respect.

    Arup2019-04-25
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible leadership, pointless HR."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Exposure to wider worldwide company. Work flexibility.

    Cons

    Some of the leaders are rude, disrespectful, and incapable. Only favorite people are being promoted, due to personal connections with leaders. Doesn't feel like other more established Arup offices - bunch of local bad habits under the umbrella of reputable company. Terrible work life balance - lots of long hours with zero appreciation from leaders. HR doesn't do its job, bad feedback about some people doesn't... translates into corrective actions. Lack of responsibility for bad outcomes on projects. Lots of people has left recently as a consequence.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no such advise which these self-centered leaders would ever listen.

    Arup2019-05-08
  5. "You Have to Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This depends on which team you are part of. Most of the people are amazing, and I've made lifelong friends here. Upper management are somewhat inspiring.

    Cons

    You need to drink whatever management is selling you, believe that your work is important. Mid level management are mostly uninteresting people. Junior staff are encapsulated in their grunt work.

    Advice to Management

    Mid level management requires some revamp. They don't see in long term goals.

    Arup2019-03-15
  6. "Administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, (actual) flexible work hours, LOTS of free food, great atmosphere.

    Cons

    Policies are heavily based on US norms. Not as many career opportunities if you are not an engineer or architect

    Arup2019-01-30
  7. "Recommended!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Arup full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Will support individual's professional career growth.

    Cons

    None I could think of right now.

    Arup2018-02-27
  8. "graduate geotechnical engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    amazing staff who are very helpful

    Cons

    nothing to mention as such

    Arup2018-01-25
  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good culture, friendly people, benefits - typically all offices are at a prime location. Also the projects are very high profile and interesting

    Cons

    not the highest salary - makes up for it with all other aspects in my opinion. there is overtime pay and profit sharing.

    Advice to Management

    na

    Arup2017-11-03
  10. "Toronto office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Arup

    Pros

    Great, fast paced, young and innovative environment.

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance, long hours.

    Arup2017-10-19
Found 854 reviews
</>Embed