Arup Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Arup Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Arup CEO Alan Belfield
Alan Belfield
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administraive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture, good management, flexibile in accommodating career ambitions

    Cons

    Could be more organized

    Arup2019-03-08
  2. "Good place to work, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, great benefits and perks

    Cons

    Poor management, only those favoured by senior management get promotions, lots of over time.

    Arup2019-11-12
  3. "Arup Toronto Facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Things seem to work in the building It is obvious the hard work and dedication

    Cons

    - Facilities is in general rude and mocking - If the top behaves like that is a permission to her team to do the same. - We receive many surveys and they are not anonymous - office wise we are under excellent projects but under so much pressure

    Advice to Management

    Advise management of the appropriate language and behaviour with enployees.

    Arup2019-10-31
  4. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Controls in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, Environmental focused, Lots of technical/engineering support internally

    Cons

    Project management organizational structure is very new to the company

    Arup2019-10-30
  5. "Company with great vision, but poorly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good team spirit, lots of training, new tools and software to work with, generous benefits, social comitee, profit share, perks, good for a first experience, interesting projects to work on

    Cons

    overtime, lots of politics, promotions only for bosses' favorite employees, too many meetings, marketing team is rude, hr is not very useful and not helping in case of harassment or conflict.

    Advice to Management

    More support staff please ! Stop despotism and favoritism !

    Arup2019-08-29
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Failed to live up to expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large scale projects, dynamic work colleagues, pretty decent salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Weak leadership, uncompetitive fees compared to other more established firms in the market place, promotions seem to be based on favouritism and length of time served at the company rather than actual ability. The HR department is one of the poorest that I have seen at any company.

    Advice to Management

    Fix your weak Canadian leadership and start treating staff with more respect.

    Arup2019-04-25
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible leadership, pointless HR."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Exposure to wider worldwide company. Work flexibility.

    Cons

    Some of the leaders are rude, disrespectful, and incapable. Only favorite people are being promoted, due to personal connections with leaders. Doesn't feel like other more established Arup offices - bunch of local bad habits under the umbrella of reputable company. Terrible work life balance - lots of long hours with zero appreciation from leaders. HR doesn't do its job, bad feedback about some people doesn't... translates into corrective actions. Lack of responsibility for bad outcomes on projects. Lots of people has left recently as a consequence.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no such advise which these self-centered leaders would ever listen.

    Arup2019-05-08
  8. "You Have to Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This depends on which team you are part of. Most of the people are amazing, and I've made lifelong friends here. Upper management are somewhat inspiring.

    Cons

    You need to drink whatever management is selling you, believe that your work is important. Mid level management are mostly uninteresting people. Junior staff are encapsulated in their grunt work.

    Advice to Management

    Mid level management requires some revamp. They don't see in long term goals.

    Arup2019-03-15
  9. "Administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, (actual) flexible work hours, LOTS of free food, great atmosphere.

    Cons

    Policies are heavily based on US norms. Not as many career opportunities if you are not an engineer or architect

    Arup2019-01-30
  10. "Recommended!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Arup full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Will support individual's professional career growth.

    Cons

    None I could think of right now.

    Arup2018-02-27
Found 889 reviews
</>Embed