Arc Productions Reviews

Updated Dec 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 of over 47 reviews

2.6
45%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Arc Productions CEO J. Thomas Murray (no image)
J. Thomas Murray
13 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    A Requiem for a Great Place to Work

    Aug 2, 2016 - Modeler in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was at Arc Productions for a good long while, during that time, I got to do almost all aspects of the process of animation. I worked with many smart people on lots of great projects. We pioneered new technologies and processes. Wherever I looked, there was always something new to do.

    Cons

    It was hard to figure out who was in charge of what sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Worst job ever

    Dec 30, 2021 - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None except made me appreciate my next job way more

    Cons

    I was hired under analyst role before company went backrupt.my actual role fully became about payroll processing and nothing I was responsible for related to financial analyst. I worked 15 plus hours daily and had no support other than some staff in HR who were helpful. Very toxic culture as every department plays blame game and refuses to work as a team. Staff had to use outdated software as my computer would crash multiple times a day causing me to redo all of my work

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Fun while it lasted

    Oct 29, 2020 - Modeler 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and fun projects

    Cons

    when they went bankrupt overnight

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    wellwellwell

    Jul 4, 2019 - Visual Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free coffee, donuts. Art Directors open for chat

    Cons

    Unreasonable work load, jockeying around for 'best projects' internally.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst mistake of my career

    Jun 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can't think of any. Maybe bagel Mondays

    Cons

    Employees were treated like cattle. No transparency, no communication. Constant lies.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Worst experience of my professional career.

    Jun 27, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They went bankrupt. There is a legal document available to the public that provides more details about the defendants, who were also the shareholders of Arc: Thomas Murray (CEO), Kallan Kagan (President) and Peter Kozic (CFO) I found a link to the legal document on this twitter site: _arcproductions and when I googled: "insolvencies arc productions kallan kagan" the document also showed up. This will give you an idea of the chaos, poor management and the misery that employees experienced.

    Cons

    They should have gone bankrupt sooner. Also this legal document showed that the defendants owed approximately $30,763,133 despite receiving multiple loans.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Going, going, gone...

    Mar 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best part of this company was it's people -- the artists and coordinators. It was like a family - everyone looked out for each other, and really worked to make people feel welcome.

    Cons

    Obviously the financial burden of bagel Mondays and beer Thursdays and redesigning the logo and seriously out-of-control OT were just too much. Sad to see you go.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fun, until it wasnt

    Mar 16, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great staff, supportive community, bagel Mondays, (sometimes) beer thursdays, monthly cake days, amazing work done by the artists in which they tirelessly worked on

    Cons

    upper management did not know how to run a studio of its size - in addition to that, the enormous financial/monetary struggles that they already had (prior to hiring me) truly showed the studio's poor leadership

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    It was fun while it lasted...

    Feb 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great, experienced and enthusiastic talent. Collection of some of the best Toronto has ever assembled under one roof. - Able to land projects of a higher caliber than is the norm for Toronto. - Lack of experience and understanding of the industry from senior management allowed some projects to flourish.

    Cons

    - Ownership and upper management had no experience running a studio of this size, and treated staff that were trying to make a difference with disrespect to the point of forcing many to leave. - Pipeline was mired in old ideas and tools, although there was a significant drive to innovate in some areas.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Experience at Arc

    Oct 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Arc had feature quality projects.

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours not paid

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

Popular Careers with Arc Productions Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Arc Productions? Share Your Experiences

Arc Productions logo
or