Appboy Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 of over 51 reviews

4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Appboy CEO & Co-Founder Bill Magnuson (no image)
Bill Magnuson
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Appboy has a group of some of the most genuine people with whom I have ever worked(in 5 reviews)

  • "There is such a sense of shared mission in being part of a team that has created and continues to create a best-in-class product(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It's a startup that's grown quickly so there are of course some growing pains(in 10 reviews)

  • "Very disorganized upper management(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best place I have ever worked!

      Dec 17, 2015 - Enterprise Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Appboy is the best company I have ever worked for. The culture and the people I work with are amazing and it's very hard to put into words how much I appreciate the opportunity to be a part of something so special. As Steve Jobs said "we don't hire people to tell them what to do, we hire them so they tell us what to do". The trust management has in me as an employee and others really gives me the confidence to perform well and the motivation to work hard. Anytime I need assistance, it is there for me. Our CEO, CTO, CIO, CRO, and middle management I consider friends, and see Appboy as a real family. I have also seen that all other employees feel the same and that is something I have never seen before. As the former CEO of Costco said "culture is not an important thing, it's the only thing"..and we sure do have the best culture, which is allowing us to have well performing employees and keep up with the amazing growth. The product is hands down the best on the market, it needs no introduction.

      Cons

      There is absolutely no cons at Appboy. If you think there is, you are spoiled, and don't know how good you have it, period. If you think that cant be true, come to our office and talk to the people...you cant fake passion, enthusiasm, and the smiles on faces.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Dynamic, Fun Startup

      Jun 3, 2017 - Customer Support Specialist in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture where there's opportunity and resources to learn new skills to become successful at what I do and grow into other roles. These opportunities/resources are largely thanks to the generous and capable people that work at Appboy. Leadership is also actively encouraging this growth with both financial incentives and organizational initiatives. The in-company benefits, such as lunch, snacks, insurance make life easy and secure and the company events are a-plenty and fun. The work is both challenging and engaging, making me want to devote time and effort to the company and my coworkers. I believe that we have the best in-class product and I take pride in demonstrating how it not only meets clients' needs, but opens more doors for them. Lastly, I believe leadership is making efforts to address employee concerns, providing multiple channels of communication and implementing plans when possible to address the feedback they've received. The transparency and direction of the overall company is significantly better than my last employer.

      Cons

      While benefits more than meet my expectations, compensation is cause for concern. With that said, I believe and hope our company is making moves to improve on that front. In regards to management, the company is young and has had some expected growing pains as departments and teams grow bigger. Transitioning from less than 100 employees to around 150 has created new responsibilities and challenges that require adjustment in how managers operate. I believe, however, that Appboy is more than capable of overcoming these challenges.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Right vision, right people, right product, right place

      Jun 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Appboy has a group of some of the most genuine people with whom I have ever worked. I've learned more in the time that I've spent at Appboy than any other job (from the people and the job as we've grown), all while feeling that I'm providing value and watching us catapult in a leadership position in the space. Appboy is also the most transparent company on a variety of levels which isn't a normal thing I've previously experienced. We're growing a lot, and we're capturing a really incredible market while replacing legacy players because of our top notch people and product. Further, if you're a marketer or on a growth team, it can be pretty meta (and fun!) when you're marketing to people who do the same thing as you.

      Cons

      The space is evolving, and our company is along with it. It's fast-paced. Things are iterated on as we move through growth periods. That comes with the territory of working at a company in rapid growth stage with a great product. If you are comfortable working in an agile environment, this is normal, but you've gotta keep up.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent product. Executive team grossly lacks integrity, vision

      Dec 14, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Product has competitive features. Client base is growing.

      Cons

      The company has an Inexperienced, part time CEO that is trying to cultivate an image as a dynamic VC, technology thought leader and bon-vivant. In fact, he is detached from the business spending time attending to family business and personal investments. It was STRONGLY encouraged and restated repeatedly to "get that favorable Glassdoor feedback in" to burnish the image with candidates, potential investors and the board. Lots of smoke and mirrors here. Real, professional and credible firms do not have a mantra to control the information that the board receives. Have a more forthright and transparent approach. Provide real administrative and operational oversight. Incredible that this has to be stated: Less CEO buddies, family members, current and potential investment partners filling much needed space in the office would make for a better work environment. It is excruciatingly obvious that the CEO & CTO have never managed organizations of any size previously. Strategic vision and strategy are revised on a whim. Serious adults beware: Do to not hitch your wagon to an executive team that is making it up as they go.

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great team, Great Learning Experience, Great Product

      May 11, 2015 - Senior Manager, Customer Success in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mobile is everything right now. It's so amazing to be able to affect how millions of people access their favorite apps and brands every day. I've worked at Appboy for around 2 years as a strategic mobile marketing consultant and I've loved every minute of it. Every day is a new challenge, which keeps the work engaging, and interesting. We also have a fantastic company culture. Everyone is there for each other 100%, and people have a good work life balance.

      Cons

      Every startup has growing pains. Processes can change quickly, and you have to be able to adapt extremely quickly. It's not always easy, but it enables us to rapidly scale as we have, and it's all worth it in the end.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Product, Great People, Amazing time

      Jun 29, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall the company has been extremely welcoming and everyone has such a positive attitude toward the company and what we are trying to accomplish. There is a ton of growth happening at the company and it is an exciting time to be a part of the fun. I was worried about the people at a small startup coming from large organizations in the past but the people here are amazing and have really made the transition from big company to small super easy. The product is just as great as the people and make it a joy to help sell. Gone are the days where you have to over-sell and put "lipstick on a pig" in order to make sales happen.

      Cons

      There is obvious risk in a smaller company but the management team is great at providing financial visibility to help help minimize this risk.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work and Grow

      Jun 2, 2017 - Technology in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Best culture of teamwork that I have ever seen, anywhere. This encompasses everything from 2-person ad hoc teams to cross-department collaboration. Makes it a pleasure to come into work every day. * Both the technology and go-to-market teams are highly effective: there's strength all across the board which is rare and special. The product is great and really, really works, and the marketing/sales/success teams are amazing at bringing it to the world. * Strong emphasis on transparency and treating one another decently. Culture of growth and helping people build their careers here. * Cofounders and C-suite genuinely care and are directly involved in the business. * The NYC office manager is a superhero. Overall the best place that I've worked in my career.

      Cons

      It's a growing startup, which is not for everyone. In particular, scaling up a business heightens everything about the work experience, including both the peaks and troughs.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company and even better team!

      Jul 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really great group of people. Everyone is incredibly friendly, which makes you instantly feel like part of the team starting on day 1. It also inspires a lot of confidence to work with people who are as bright as the employees here. Start-up vibe with great perks like free lunch in addition to all the usual standard stuff, including 401k match which you don't really see in most startups. Bike commuter benefit is a nice unanticipated plus too. Good work/life balance. I get the sense that management genuinely cares and wants employees to love coming to work (which I do). Tons of growth right now and really cool product.

      Cons

      Nothing that stands out or that's different from any typical workplace.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Product, Great People, Great Culture

      Apr 22, 2015 - Sales & Business Development in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Appboy is at the crux of the flourishing tech startup scene in New York City. The company attracts intelligent, motivated, and thoughtful people, who all share the same vision of building an amazing company. People/Departments are transparent, leadership is excellent, and long-term company vision is tremendous. And the product itself is fundamentally sound, which is great for any salesperson! Really, can't say enough great things about this company. Working here is a win/win across the board.

      Cons

      Every company has growing pains. That's a fact. Any growing pains here are completely offset by great people and culture. There really are no notable cons that I feel compelled to share.

      9 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best place to grow

      Dec 17, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      +start-up environment where everybody knows your name! +collaborative- everyone from different departments gets to work together on various projects +career growth- reviews are centered around your career growth and moving towards that as opposed to focusing on things you're not doing or negative aspects of your performance. reviews are also very constructive and informative +great work/life balance- unlimited vacation days & work from home days make sure you don't get burnt out +Great people who are smart and very welcoming. Senior management is very accessible and meetings with C-levels are pretty easy to make +Transparent- the founders encourage criticism and suggestions and always inform employees about new developments. +Great benefits!

      Cons

      -Not a lot of space but luckily they're moving in the spring!

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

    Work at Appboy? Share Your Experiences

    Appboy logo
    or