Animal Logic Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Animal Logic Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Zareh Nalbandian
31 Ratings
  1. "Awesome studio."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Animal Logic for less than a year

    Pros

    Great teams, feeling like family

    Cons

    salary negotiations can be difficult

    Advice to Management

    Doing a great job, very good work environment

    Animal Logic2019-04-19
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Render Wrangler in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Animal Logic for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great work atmosphere and culture -Free catered lunch every other Thursday -Happy hour every Friday -Excellent kitchen with a patio on the roof -Mostly everyone is super laid back and a pleasure to work with

    Cons

    -Benefits are average -2 weeks of vacation to start, then 3 weeks after a year -Not many growth opportunities

    Animal Logic2019-03-08
  3. "Everything is Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Animal Logic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at AL, cannot recommend it enough. The social environment is positive and inspiring, the facility is beautiful, clean and well maintained, with an outdoor roof patio area for lunches or beer Friday time. They bring in free lunches every other Thursday and free breakfast every Friday. They even have an artist management team that checks in with you periodically to ask about your over all career goals at...

    Show More

    Cons

    We had to work some Saturdays during crunch time. There was rather alot of OT toward the end of the project, but I think that's become an industry standard unfortunately, and not really specifically a problem of this company.

    Animal Logic2019-02-16
  4. "Great Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lighting Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Animal Logic for less than a year

    Pros

    Animal Logic in Vancouver was a great place to work. The company culture was very welcoming. The quality of the work top notch.

    Cons

    Could be clearer with a bit more notice about booking dates but it goes with the territory in film nowadays. Certainly better then other shops I've worked at.

    Advice to Management

    Don't loose that small company vibe and turn into another sweatshop.

    Animal Logic2019-01-26
  5. "Production Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at Animal Logic for more than a year

    Pros

    - some great people on the crew - weekly Friday breakfasts, bi-weekly Thursday catered lunches - current location has gym in building

    Cons

    - proprietary database and tracking software - any suggestions to changing process, workflow or pipeline require countless meetings and vetting with Sydney studio

    Animal Logic2018-11-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "AL Vancouver - R&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Animal Logic for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - I was allowed to work on a diverse set of tasks. - Knowledge-sharing between teams in R&D is actively encouraged. - My manager was fantastic. - Fun office vibe. - Hired some of the best people in the industry. - Projects are interesting. - Free food on alternate Thursdays, and snacks in the kitchen every day.

    Cons

    - Difficult to get a pay increase. Even with an entirely positive performance review, no salary adjustments were made. - No formalised training for technical staff.

    Advice to Management

    - Provide cost-of-living adjustments on a year-on-year basis, at a minimum in line with inflation. This was the largest reason for my departure. - Formalise job-progression paths, including training plans for each stage.

    Animal Logic2018-08-27
  7. "Good place to work, 3D animation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Animal Logic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The talent is great, and nice people to whether with

    Cons

    No room to grow, don't expect high raises.. If any. Get in high! Because that's all you'll get. Too many production people. Unecessarry .

    Advice to Management

    Cut down on production cost and give it to the artists who really deserve it

    Animal Logic2018-08-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I've had a positive experience working for AL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Animal Logic

    Pros

    Flexible hours and a large enough team to support the studio infrastructure. I actually feel like I have the support of my team and managers.

    Cons

    The communication between the locations in Sydney, Vancouver, and LA is still a work in progress. No clear indication on what to expect in the future.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate changes to all sites before they are made. Clean up the lines of communication to clarify the path of escelation.

    Animal Logic2017-12-16
  9. "Lighter/compositor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Animal Logic

    Pros

    Very friendly work environment, interesting projects

    Cons

    I have no cons, it has been great working there

    Animal Logic2017-07-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Fun place, cool movies but no work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Animal Logic for less than a year

    Pros

    Seems fun and simple yet nice staff perks like nice coffee machine, breakfast, beer friday and pastry thursday AM.

    Cons

    Work life balance doesn't exist - long hours 8-6 and no paid break. This adds up to quite a bit when calculated hourly over a year and salaries don't match this.

    Advice to Management

    normal working hours and work from home - need work life balance

    Animal Logic2017-04-20
Found 50 reviews