Animal Logic Reviews

Updated Apr 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
96%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Animal Logic Managing Director Zareh Nalbandian (no image)
Zareh Nalbandian
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "As their Motto goes - Great People Great Work(in 9 reviews)

  • "great food, great people, great projects(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Short contracts, Animation pipeline is good but could be improved(in 6 reviews)

  • "Work life balance doesn't exist - long hours 8-6 and no paid break(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A good crew to work with

      Apr 12, 2021 - Production Assistant in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Excellent mentorship -Fun coworkers -Fair wages and treatment of OT -Nice location -A good sense of teamwork -Helpful and friendly IT team (the best I've worked with yet) -Fun projects -WFH has been extremely doable during COVID: quick turn-around times on errors and issues, well-scheduled work-from-studio options to keep the building safe

      Cons

      -OT a requirement for most production staff -Future Work From Home offers are unappealing given we've spent 1.5 years beefing up WFH viability and I want the option to continue with at least half time spent WFH

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing company

      Mar 1, 2021 - Character FX Artist in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      super cool place to work, friendly atmosphere, awesome projects

      Cons

      havent gor any negative things for this

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A great company to push technical boundaries

      Apr 29, 2020 - Senior Lighting Technical Director in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Heavy focus on RnD Great people and team culture Studio amenities (fortnightly lunch, Friday pastries, free espresso, etc)

      Cons

      Sometimes too much focus on building everything themselves instead of buying other solutions Large technical history and old code Lack of documentation - lots of “tribal knowledge”

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      May 16, 2020 - Technical Director in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good social environment - Great people - Fairly organised compared to other studios - Robust pipeline compared to other studios

      Cons

      - Teething issues when the Vancouver studio first opened.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Everything is Awesome!

      Feb 15, 2019 - Technical Animator in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved working at AL, cannot recommend it enough. The social environment is positive and inspiring, the facility is beautiful, clean and well maintained, with an outdoor roof patio area for lunches or beer Friday time. They bring in free lunches every other Thursday and free breakfast every Friday. They even have an artist management team that checks in with you periodically to ask about your over all career goals at the company and offers ways to help you get there. Even after my contract ended, they continued to take care of me by sending my resume and reel out to other companies with their reverse recruitment program, and I started getting interviews right away, before I had even begun job hunting on my own. I appreciate that so much! Great projects, great people, great place to work.

      Cons

      We had to work some Saturdays during crunch time. There was rather alot of OT toward the end of the project, but I think that's become an industry standard unfortunately, and not really specifically a problem of this company.

      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Pleasant company to work for

      Jan 14, 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Solid and fairly well organised code base (for a production house) - Inspiring and fun environment, with plenty of highly knowledgeable experts - Decent benefits

      Cons

      - Slow adoption of newer technologies due to certain senior members - Lots of conflicting interests with no appropriate objective liaison between agents - Significant time difference between the two sites. - Lack of ability to work remotely. - Lots of proprietary systems that need support, but could be replaced with a better product (from job security aspect, this is a pro, I guess)

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Company for Animation Industry

      Nov 2, 2019 - Production Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great People cool projects fun office environment

      Cons

      Legacy technology can be a bit of a problem lack of transparency too many video calls with overseas office. hard to work that way

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work, 3D animation

      Aug 22, 2018 - 3D Animator in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The talent is great, and nice people to whether with

      Cons

      No room to grow, don't expect high raises.. If any. Get in high! Because that's all you'll get. Too many production people. Unecessarry .

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      I've had a positive experience working for AL

      Dec 16, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours and a large enough team to support the studio infrastructure. I actually feel like I have the support of my team and managers.

      Cons

      The communication between the locations in Sydney, Vancouver, and LA is still a work in progress. No clear indication on what to expect in the future.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fun place, cool movies but no work life balance

      Apr 19, 2017 -  in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Seems fun and simple yet nice staff perks like nice coffee machine, breakfast, beer friday and pastry thursday AM.

      Cons

      Work life balance doesn't exist - long hours 8-6 and no paid break. This adds up to quite a bit when calculated hourly over a year and salaries don't match this.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Animal Logic Job Seekers

    Production Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Animal Logic? Share Your Experiences

    Animal Logic logo
    or