Animal Logic Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Animal Logic Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Zareh Nalbandian
23 Ratings
  1. "Everything is Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Animal Logic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at AL, cannot recommend it enough. The social environment is positive and inspiring, the facility is beautiful, clean and well maintained, with an outdoor roof patio area for lunches or beer Friday time. They bring in free lunches every other Thursday and free breakfast every Friday. They even have an artist management team that checks in with you periodically to ask about your over all career goals at...

    Show More

    Cons

    We had to work some Saturdays during crunch time. There was rather alot of OT toward the end of the project, but I think that's become an industry standard unfortunately, and not really specifically a problem of this company.

    Animal Logic2019-02-16
  2. "Good people, bad upper management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Animal Logic full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay, benefits, decent people, nice HR. The main employees/talent are very nice people. I loved who I met here - technical artists, production coordinators, etc. are all very hard working and make the best of it. Great people. Benefits are decent, and pay is good. Always paid overtime. HR people are very nice and want to see you do well, and are very understanding.

    Cons

    Too many producers meddling, too many time zones, bad production schedule, cubicles, no trust from the Sydney HQ / upper management. Basically everything was made to be important, and too much time was devoted to showing an absolute polished piece, when it could've been streamlined to include more sketches and ONLY THEN when all the producers agreed to the concept, THEN we can made a polished rendition. Also, if...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't bust your artists to make polished work that needs to be sketched and decided on first by the producers and director. Too much wasted time. CREDIT YOUR ARTISTS EVEN IF THEY LEAVE BEFORE THE CONTRACT END. NOT CREDITING IS A SURE FIRE WAY TO MAKE PEOPLE NEVER WANT TO EVEN TRY WORKING FOR YOU, OR EVER AGAIN. I will not recommend anyone to work here until most of the cons are sorted out. Good luck.

    Animal Logic2019-04-16
  3. "Good place to work, 3D animation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Animal Logic full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The talent is great, and nice people to whether with

    Cons

    No room to grow, don't expect high raises.. If any. Get in high! Because that's all you'll get. Too many production people. Unecessarry .

    Advice to Management

    Cut down on production cost and give it to the artists who really deserve it

    Animal Logic2018-08-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "I've had a positive experience working for AL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Animal Logic

    Pros

    Flexible hours and a large enough team to support the studio infrastructure. I actually feel like I have the support of my team and managers.

    Cons

    The communication between the locations in Sydney, Vancouver, and LA is still a work in progress. No clear indication on what to expect in the future.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate changes to all sites before they are made. Clean up the lines of communication to clarify the path of escelation.

    Animal Logic2017-12-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Fun place, cool movies but no work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Animal Logic for more than a year

    Pros

    Seems fun and simple yet nice staff perks like nice coffee machine, breakfast, beer friday and pastry thursday AM.

    Cons

    Work life balance doesn't exist - long hours 8-6 and no paid break. This adds up to quite a bit when calculated hourly over a year and salaries don't match this.

    Advice to Management

    normal working hours and work from home - need work life balance

    Animal Logic2017-04-20
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Animal Logic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful work and great atmosphere!

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Animal Logic2017-01-19
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Render Wrangler in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Animal Logic full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    People here are happy to work for this company, and treat each other with respect, especially in the IT department.

    Cons

    In my two years there productions would always run through holidays, and as a Render Wrangler, would be expected to work during Christmas and New Years.

    Animal Logic2019-04-02
  8. "What a wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Animal Logic full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great place to work, very sociable, many events for employees, great kitchen, activities, very familiar atmosphere, great buildings, access to financial counseling, HR team is great and helps you with everything, relocation, very talented people and environment, friendly staff.

    Cons

    - a lot of crunch time (yet you never felt stressed)

    Advice to Management

    It would be great to have more continuous work, so people would not have to leave this company

    Animal Logic2019-01-29
  9. "Pretty fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Surfacing Artist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Animal Logic for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice work environment Free lunch on Thursdays

    Cons

    Large facility, lots of people you don't get to know everyone.

    Animal Logic2019-01-25
  10. "Great for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Animal Logic

    Pros

    Good meals Good environment

    Cons

    lack of interaction between co-workers

    Animal Logic2019-01-22
Found 29 reviews