Affirm Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Affirm CEO Max Levchin
Max Levchin
140 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good opportunities to have impact and work with smart people(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, high hourly rate (non exempt), ability to contribute beyond just your role(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Typical growing pains for any bay area company - tech debt, trying to find an organizational structure that works, lack of ownership, etc(in 15 reviews)

  • "The workload can be very heavy which can make it difficult to find a work life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Seriously amazing place to work!

      Mar 9, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work is challenging and engaging. A lot of immediate support and opportunities. Can’t believe how great the benefits are! I didn’t know it was possible to be treated so well. The DEI is top notch and the company actually wants you to invest in your own financial wellness.

      Cons

      Definitely a few bumps being remote only in most roles, but the company is really trying hard to keep everyone connected.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Apr 23, 2021 - Client Success Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High growth startup working with major retailers. Great benefits and oerks.

      Cons

      High pressure and can be stressful.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      terrible management

      May 10, 2021 - Resolution Specialist in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      co-workers are amazing and they help each other

      Cons

      manager. the management of the company will give you task from other departments to you do and will not provide you compensation. people keep the same job title and salary, but get work from other departments and work that the payment should be increase

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing place to work, people oriented and also customer oriented company

      Mar 21, 2021 - Business Resolution Specialist in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing Culture, entrepreneurial spirit and, diversity and inclusion.

      Cons

      The solutions and system might be a working process.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Cool work, awesome people

      Dec 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - High-impact projects - Lots of smart people around - Fun to hang-out with people outside of work

      Cons

      - Changes happening often - Not much else tbh

      2 people found this review helpful

      Affirm Response

      VP, Talent

      We're extremely proud of the people we've brought on to the Affirm team and are happy to hear you that felt surrounded by great colleagues! Best of luck in your next endeavor.

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Culture Deterioration and Innovation Stagnation

      Apr 15, 2021 - Senior Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong talent pool, good benefits, you're in Max Levchin's sphere which is probably beneficial to your network, definitely a space with a large addressable, albeit highly competitive market.

      Cons

      This place cannot find an organizational equilibrium, typical of high growth startups, but juxtaposed with a rapidly deteriorating culture that overweights favoritism, nepotism, and lacks accountability is a recipe for flat-lining quickly. Way too many people managers + layers in an organization of only 1200. The least flat "growth company" org structure I've ever seen - Stripe is 3x the size and 6x the market cap and has less than half the mgmt layers. Upside is capped for mid-senior level hires. Lots of "large company executive" hires recently that are set in their ways and lack the imagination to effect constant change and improvement.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Affirm Response

      VP of Talent

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. One of Affirm's values is "no fine print," which means we believe in being completely honest and transparent with both our customers and each other. Fostering a culture where everyone is treated with respect is extremely important to Affirm, and we are committed to non discrimination in hiring and being an equal opportunity employer. As we continue to grow into new markets and our teams get larger, it's of paramount importance that we maintain the same level of transparency- and we’re disappointed to hear that this hasn’t been your experience. If you are comfortable, please reach out to your PBP, the Ethics team, or our reporting hotline through www.AffirmEthics.com (which can be done anonymously) to further discuss your concerns.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for!

      May 13, 2021 - Risk Operations Specialist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open and inclusive work environment

      Cons

      Senior Management can be aggressive

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for, amazing benefits, great culture

      May 7, 2021 - Marketing in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced, great people, awesome benefits, remote work

      Cons

      No formal tuition reimbursement although you can use one of your wallets (250/month) towards it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Mission-driven company changing the world of consumer credit

      Mar 26, 2021 - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Authentic, humble CEO with a clear vision for how the company can bring honest, transparent finance to the world. Great, talented group of people with a strong belief in Affirm's mission. Track record of building great products that align the company's interests with those of its customers and partners.

      Cons

      Financial products are complicated and take a village to bring to the world. It means many different teams have to work together effectively to make things happen. At times it can feel cumbersome and difficult to get things done.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Values and people-driven company on a fast trajectory

      Oct 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Opportunities to have impact in my role and autonomy to take on projects that are outside the scope of my day to day. I feel empowered to show up and contribute towards projects that make work fulfilling to me. - Lots of transparency and honesty from the business, especially during the COVID 19 pandemic . Constantly informed of business priorities, changes to the product strategy and felt our executives genuinely cared about putting people first. - Collaborative, smart and supportive teammates. Strong culture of learning/mentorship and emphasis on building a diverse and inclusive team environment. While no company has a perfect D&I strategy, I do see Affirm committing to this across various levels of the org. - Amazing benefits, unlimited PTO, and remote-first company.

      Cons

      - Really fast paced right now and easy to burn out since everyone and everything is moving so fast. We're encouraged to take time off if we need it but lots of teams are feeling the pressure to execute on urgent deliverables. - Reorgs/restructuring and org changes happen more now that we continue to scale and it can feel a bit chaotic with the growing pains. - Not all teams have the same level of leadership involvement/support. Investing in leadership training as we continue to promote internally and set up new managers for success.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 170 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Affirm Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Affirm? Share Your Experiences

    Affirm logo
    or