AVI-SPL Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AVI-SPL Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 498 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "upper management needs to have more insight to what is happening within departments(in 25 reviews)

  • "Top heavy upper management, lack of communication to lower level employees during transition(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome place to work, great enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AVI-SPL full-time

    Pros

    Great training, processes for success

    Cons

    Still a job, but fun

    AVI-SPL2018-03-09
  2. "Sr. Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AVI-SPL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people with a sense of get the job done well

    Cons

    Details of change management were too onerous at the time.

    Advice to Management

    Mgmt made changes to allow for efficient swaps based on site conditions

    AVI-SPL2018-10-31
  3. "manger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AVI-SPL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    they were bought by AVI-SPL

    Cons

    micromanagement with narrow vision

    AVI-SPL2018-10-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Canada used to be good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AVI-SPL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people who used to be there.

    Cons

    The new culture after the acquisition.

    AVI-SPL2018-10-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "great vision poor exectution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AVI-SPL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great compagnie and amazing market position. some of the best ressources in the industry with the support of every vendor there is.

    Cons

    stretchs ressources too thin and does not have a good record for execution.

    Advice to Management

    focus on core items rather than chasse everything that moves. Good team will always follow directions at their own detriment until they burn out and can't anymore... that's why I left.

    AVI-SPL2018-04-19
  6. "AVI-SPL review, long-term employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AVI-SPL full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Large, mature AV firm. Great employee benefits. Vast team experience. Good metrics to improve our processes and profitibility.

    Cons

    Some slow responses due to complex procedures - not as nimble as a smaller company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Allow employees to be empowered.

    AVI-SPL2018-02-28
  7. "Strong Organization and Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond Hill, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AVI-SPL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of great leadership Great investments in technology, education, systems, etc.

    Cons

    It is a growing organization so it's very very busy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    AVI-SPL2018-02-28
  8. "Feels like you work for a big family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AVI-SPL full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    AVI-SPL through its leadership and employees has created a corporate culture which allows you to really feel like you are part of a team with shared goals and ambitions. They not only care about what you contribute to the greater company goals but also how you are as a person. AVI-SPL has gone out of their way to make sure that all employees have access to superb personal and professional support structures. In my...

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't feel that there are any cons to work here as any concerns that I have expressed I have felt comfortable and encouraged to share with those who could assist me. They listened to what I had to say and worked with myself to overcome any challenges I faced.

    AVI-SPL2018-02-27
  9. "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Installation Technician in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AVI-SPL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Progressive company with a strong community focus. We are made to feel we are part of a team here that all want to achieve the same goal of providing excellent customer experience

    Cons

    the size of the company is a little intimidating not sure who to talk to about what.

    Advice to Management

    Work on top down engagement from all levels. The recent town hall was great but for immediate supervisors it would be great to see one on one professional development planning. This is done but check-in and updates would help to strengthen these relationships

    AVI-SPL2018-02-27
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AVI-SPL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Progressive company that cares for their employees and offers great programs.

    Cons

    Business is booming so I am working long hours.

    AVI-SPL2018-02-27
Found 498 reviews