United Way Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
United Way President and CEO Brian A. Gallagher
Brian A. Gallagher
176 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Unpaid, which is to be expected of a non-profit organization but disappointing nonetheless(in 72 reviews)

  • "It is nonprofit work, so you are restricted with money(in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at United Way full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to make a difference and grow with new hands on learning experiences.

    Cons

    It's not a con...be accountable for the work you do :)

    United Way2020-05-22
  2. "Excellent workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Way full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing people and amazing culture.

    Cons

    Not the place to be if you're looking for an IT career.

    Continue reading
    United Way2020-05-06
  3. "Strong values, terrible pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at United Way full-time

    Pros

    Engaging work with a big impact in the community. Opportunities to work with multiple partners in the local community.

    Cons

    Very demanding and low salaries. Little to no opportunity for career growth.

    United Way2020-03-11
  4. "Great Team - Great Community"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Brantford, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Way full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We are able to be flexible with work and life. I was able to see real change and growth in the company and myself professionally.

    Cons

    Had to wear many hats during the busy season

    United Way2020-01-08
  5. "Great workplace and great people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at United Way full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great to work with and it feels like a family

    Cons

    It's very easy to feel like you need to work late

    United Way2019-12-19
  6. "Good organization to work for"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Administrative 

    I have been working at United Way full-time

    Pros

    Challenging and Fast-paced environment with room to innovate and creat

    Cons

    Internal culture can be dysfunctional at times

    United Way2019-09-13
  7. "Truly amazing group of people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at United Way full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful culture and work environment. Terrific people. Great cause and competitive salary.

    Cons

    Difficult to advance into more senior roles due to flat structure

    United Way2019-08-13
  8. "Great Organization Doing Important Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President Donor Relations & Marketing in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at United Way full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Super smart people committed to their mission

    Cons

    Challenging global and national structures

    Continue reading
    United Way2019-04-19
  9. "Resource Development"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sudbury, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at United Way full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits/RRSP Work-Life Balance Time for Time Fridays off in the summer

    Cons

    Compensation, growth in the company, unorganized sometimes

    United Way2019-03-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "United Way Calgary leadership not the best"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at United Way full-time

    Pros

    - Working alongside passionate individuals who are fighting to create a better city for everyone - Work/life balance

    Cons

    - The Calgary top leadership isn't great, their personal insecurities get in the way of the organization doing great things to move forward. There's a lack of trust and respect from the CEO to the rest of the employees, including the VPs. Employees are generally disheartened about the poor leadership and whether it can take the organization where it needs to go. Many people are leaving because of this.

    Continue reading
    United Way2018-11-19
Found 853 reviews