Two Sigma Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Two Sigma Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
David Siegel and John Overdeck
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is encouraged(in 16 reviews)

  • "Lots of smart people walking around that are mostly humble and will answer your questions(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "As Two Sigma grows into a medium-sized entity, there are some growing pains(in 8 reviews)

  • "There's still some red-tape around getting environmental changes approved(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fast moving great workplace for innovative minds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very transparent and this company opens a zillion ways to learn new stuffs to help personal growth . this company has great benefits and there is always food in the pantry no dress code

    Cons

    It moves too fast at times in terms of inheriting technology so, we jump /upgrade sooner than really required. No work from home options

    Advice to Management

    Work from home options for employees , may be we can have like 2 days a month per employee.

    Two Sigma2019-08-15
  2. "Great company to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Average quality of employees is high. Good work life balance. Good reputation in financial world.

    Cons

    Although people here try to be very helpful, Green Card application process takes longer than normal big IT companies due to limit of experience and resource.

    Two Sigma2019-08-15
  3. "Small Teams with Big Impact, Mostly for the Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The broad context here is I'm extremely happy with my job at two sigma. I've been here for 1.5 years and in that time, I've learned and grown more than I would have thought possible. - Almost everyone I've worked with in my corner of the Engineering world has been very kind, creative, and incredibly driven. - Since team size is small relative to the number of products, impact-per-person can be extremely significant....

    Show More

    Cons

    On the flip side, growth can sometimes be painful. - It somehow always seems like there's 20% more work to do than the amount of time there is to do it. Small teams with out-sized responsibilities in combination with the type of passionate/ambitious personality that TS seems to attract can produce an environment of intense self-imposed stress. - That same strong DIY lean? Means a lot of projects get built from 0 to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Make stability, repeatability, and polish a first order priority. Prefer to have one feature done excellently than three done as fast as possible. - Hire more onto existing initiatives relative to new ones. Work done by one person here might be done by an entire team elsewhere. It's great for learning new things, but could burn people out. - Only add additional levels of management hierarchy if it's absolutely necessary...

    Show More
    Two Sigma2019-08-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for a quant researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Researcher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Great work-life balance and flexible hours. 2. Smart people with high level of intellectual curiosity as their main motivation. 3. Great tech-company-like culture that values creative ideas from everyone. 4. Challenging and interesting work.

    Cons

    No major complaints yet.

    Two Sigma2019-08-08
  5. "Incredible company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Workplace Services Experience Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Two Sigma's culture, the way employees are treated, and the office amenities

    Cons

    There are no cons to working at Two Sigma, in my opinion!

    Two Sigma2019-08-08
  6. "Smart people, no pressure for results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hire smart people, good historical returns

    Cons

    No urgency for any productive results, Tons of politics especially in the engineering group.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring external managing directors and giving them cushy packages to sit around and do nothing. Reward those who have been loyal to the company.

    Two Sigma2019-08-14
  7. "Highly Engaging Colleagues, Fun Work Challenges to Solve, Amazing Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are sharp, thoughtful and very kind. It feels like you're back in school, except that you're getting paid to learn and grow!

    Cons

    You need to be proactive about your career path. The firm is growing and it's important to take ownership over new projects, and continue to find ways of advancing. It's a relatively flat structure.

    Advice to Management

    Clearer definitions of promotion, stronger encouragement of internal transfers. Internal transfers are not discouraged, but it does take a good deal of time, energy and egg-shell walking.

    Two Sigma2019-07-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting and Challenging Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, fair pay, smart and driven team. Collaborative and down-to-earth people across the firm.

    Cons

    Flat team structure means that growth can take time ( but is possible).

    Two Sigma2019-06-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Smart Innovative people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time

    Pros

    -Innovative people -Good work like balance

    Cons

    -Low Pay -Minimum opportunities for promotions

    Two Sigma2019-06-05
  10. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Two Sigma part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun great benefits 401k game rooms

    Cons

    too much work for the money

    Two Sigma2019-06-04
Found 109 reviews