Travis Perkins Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Travis Perkins Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Travis Perkins CEO Nick Robert (no image)
Nick Robert
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people, everyone is really helpfull(in 13 reviews)

  • "Positive overall culture, great work/life balance, lots of on the job training and support from direct management(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, no set break schedule for some types of shifts (sometimes worked 7-8 hours before taking a break)(in 16 reviews)

  • "Uncertainty in senior management and future of company(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Management Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Trainee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Travis Perkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started off in another position working for PTS, the training was mainly in house throughout the scheme and was relevant to daily operations. The pay at the time for the work was fairly ok!

    Cons

    I got moved three times during the scheme due to them liquidating half the branches and cycling out old managers. I worked in Birmingham, Bristol and Nottingham... was given tons of false promises and then thrown into an underperforming branch where half the people challenged me due to my title! I can’t comment more than that however because I was paid off to keep my lips sealed! Just make sure if your doing the scheme that you don’t work for PTS as for some reason they’re paid from the branch... the managers don’t like that!

    Continue reading
    Travis Perkins2019-05-02
  2. "Branch manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Bridgend, Wales
    Recommends

    I worked at Travis Perkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working for one of the largest building suppliers in the UK.

    Cons

    Very slow at making decisions

    Travis Perkins2020-04-04
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Macclesfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Travis Perkins full-time

    Pros

    All different avenues of progression great pay

    Cons

    Hours make it hard to fulfil personnel life sometimes

    Travis Perkins2020-03-24
  4. "Really good company to work for offering a career not just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Travis Perkins full-time

    Pros

    Progression - you really can go places in TP Support - everything is in place to support your progression from management development programmes to senior management development programmes from those who are aiming high and have the potential. The best at what they do, great stock range Good people Good benefits in terms of pension contributions, private healthcare etc

    Cons

    IT systems are awful. They started a project for a whole new IT system but this has been put on hold. It is desperately needed, this will hold the company back if it isn’t already Salary isn’t amazing A lot of people who won’t change and are stuck in their ways

    Continue reading
    Travis Perkins2020-03-13
  5. "Can support finding your next appointment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Travis Perkins full-time

    Pros

    Glass door does the leg work

    Cons

    some jobs may not be relevant

    Travis Perkins2020-02-18
  6. "Merchants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Travis Perkins full-time

    Pros

    Good people. Nice rewards. Good prospects

    Cons

    Long hours. Some customers can be nasty..

    Travis Perkins2020-02-17
  7. "Great, passionate company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Travis Perkins full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best at what they do.

    Cons

    Long hours, management jobs not advertised

    Travis Perkins2020-02-14
  8. "Fair employer not a great deal of progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travis Perkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team and benefits always busy

    Cons

    More staff support in training and progression

    Travis Perkins2020-02-06
  9. "Great people, terrible organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Travis Perkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, decent salary, company car

    Cons

    Good luck getting a decision made on anything, ever.

    Continue reading
    Travis Perkins2020-02-13
  10. "Lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Northampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travis Perkins part-time

    Pros

    Big multi site organisation. Plenty of opportunities for progression

    Cons

    Can feel impersonal due to the scale of the company

    Continue reading
    Travis Perkins2020-02-12
Found 234 reviews