The RealReal Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The RealReal Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
33%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
The RealReal Founder & CEO Julie Wainwright
Julie Wainwright
217 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch/Free bagels once a week(in 29 reviews)

  • "Hands on experience with all different luxury designers(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "They make the workplace feel like high school all over again(in 25 reviews)

  • "MANAGEMENT (they always talk about internal promotions but so far I've only seen external hiring for upper management/higher positions i(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic Dev Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal

    Pros

    The dev team is really tight. Lots of good communication from all the way up. Great experience with the now-CTO.

    Cons

    There was some conflict with the Lead Engineer and the Project Manager, but not much.

    The RealReal2017-06-06
  2. "Interesting culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 

    I worked at The RealReal full-time

    Pros

    Great people Interesting business model

    Cons

    Low pay Not enough to growth

    The RealReal2020-03-22
  3. "Vhb"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time

    Pros

    Pay lunch schedule vacation environment

    Cons

    There were no down sides

    The RealReal2020-03-27
  4. "Great team environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The RealReal part-time

    Pros

    Wonderful team - made working so much fun

    Cons

    Vague return policies led to a lot of customer service issues

    The RealReal2020-03-09
  5. Helpful (3)

    "better be thick skinned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - If you're a fashion lover, it's fun to work and being surrounded by beautiful pieces of clothing. - Nice to be surrounded by young fellow individuals who are also like-minded in terms of fashion. - Work on your own. You can just pop your airpods and listen to music or podcasts during your entire shift. - Great benefits. I don't have a dog but pet insurance is offered! 401k as well

    Cons

    - Management: So messy. They make the workplace feel like high school all over again. - Favoritism: Need I say more. - Quantity over Quality: They push hard for you to go over and beyond quota. - Unfair: I keep to myself and do all the work I need to do, yet still get picked on. Better to be thick skinned because if you don't care, then great. - Work is repetitive. This could either be a pro or con, depending on what kind of person you are. - Environment: It's quite cliquey. Overall, it's a great company that still has a lot of growing to do. They offer great benefits. BUT it is really up to you and how you manage to get past the cons listed above. As long as if you remember that work is work, and that everything that happens at work STAYS at work, you should be fine.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2020-03-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "An ok in between job while you find something much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Authenticator in Secaucus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Subsidizes lunch Free bagels on Friday and Saturday Flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Worst place I've ever worked at. There's a reason why the reviews are as low as they are and why this company has never made it on the list of best places to work. Management is the worst, especially the manager of the authentication(formally copywriting) department, he does not take an interest in his employee and basically just stays in his office all day and has his AM's handle everything. The quotas are unrealistic to hit, the proof is in the fact that there is a high turnover rate and only about less than half of the copywriter hit their goals. if you need further proof look at the article CNBC did where previous employees spoke up about almost everything. When you go to management for help, they will only be willing to train you in another category that might be easier for you if you are one of their favorites. The CEO Julie is either delusional about what's going on or she does not care. They truly make you feel as if you don't matter and you're just a number. In November we had a focus group where are of the copywriting employees expressed their concerns of the company and the things that they wished to change but it was all for nothing as the things that were at the top of our concerns ( lower quota, mangers that actually cared, etc) were not changed. It's as if they did that for us to shut up for a while. The managers constantly lie and trick us about incentives that they will give us if we meet our goal just to later backtrack. Oh and don't expect HR to care either, I had a concern and the manager, told me he would talk to me about it once he looked into it and never did. BTW if you have allergies to pet dander, dust, etc do not work here, it's super dusty and the clothing that you have to SKU often comes from people who own pets. You will literally have to take a pill every day.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2020-03-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Company is awesome, Sales team not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Corporate job with benefits, free shipping when ordering on the site

    Cons

    Lack of company culture, revolving door with no retention for current employees, no flexibility, hourly pay, slow to make any real changes, don't care about employees, headquarter location

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2020-03-09
  8. "good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    coworkers are some of the best people

    Cons

    problem with management— sometimes not very professional

    The RealReal2020-02-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "worst company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Photo Production Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you like fashion its a decent way to learn about other brands.

    Cons

    1. completely under paid. 2. management doesn't know what they are doing. 3. only 6 call outs. no sick time. no vacation time.

    The RealReal2020-03-16
  10. Helpful (3)

    "This company wants us to die."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal

    Pros

    Looks good on LinkedIn to be part of an IPO’d company.

    Cons

    Sales Department is not given work laptops to work from home during the Coronavirus outbreak. We are hourly employees, and do not have any other option than to commute via public transportation and expose ourselves to contracting the virus.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2020-03-11

    The RealReal Response

    March 11, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for raising your concern. As you’ve been hearing from us, we take your health and safety very seriously. In addition to adding extra cleaning services in all our office locations, we have been working very hard to secure laptops for the entire Inside Sales and BDR teams across the country. As you can imagine, resources are limited due to other organizations trying to accomplish the same thing. Our IT team is working hard to have equipment set up as soon as possible. As shared in prior communications, if you do not feel comfortable at this time traveling into the office, please work with your manager or HR to make alternate arrangements. We want you to know that your health and safety is our priority which is why we are committed to taking measures to create a safe place to work.

    Continue reading
Found 336 reviews