Talbots Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Talbots Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 958 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Talbots CEO Lizanne Kindler
Lizanne Kindler
357 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management is not understanding when you are also a full time student,(in 51 reviews)

  • "Poor leadership, does not practice what is preached, work-life balance does not exist(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sale associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Talbots

    Pros

    Very good. Place to work

    Cons

    Just the salary was base

    Talbots2017-10-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Talbots part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing coworkers, the atmosphere is amazing there because of associates you work with - Gives you an experience of working with clients one-on-one and build your clientele - Amazing discounts for associates

    Cons

    - Not enough hours at all. Promised to give me around 25 hours a week, after 3 weeks of working started to give like 8-13 hours a week - If the store doesn't meet the sales target, they cut your hours even to having one 4 hours shift - In normal companies when someone goes on vacation their hours are being put into other people, in Talbots they don't do it, those hours are just wasted - They pay minimum wage and... they don't give a raise no matter how long you work there. - Get's very repetitive because associates don't have too many responsibilities so the job gets boring over time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more wise with the hours you can use towards other associates and give a raise every year as every other company.

    Talbots2019-07-11
  3. "Worst Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Talbots part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good collegues There is no more Proa for this store.

    Cons

    Awful team of management No benefit You have to buy outfits from them to like you No commision No rotation between floor, fitting rooms and ....

    Advice to Management

    Act like a manger not a gossiping team.

    Talbots2019-05-07
  4. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Talbots part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Formal Training Package and Benefits were good

    Cons

    Short breaks with no lunch break

    Talbots2018-09-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Talbots part-time

    Pros

    Friendly associates, women community, beautiful store setting

    Cons

    Overworked and high expectations for average pay

    Talbots2018-05-15
  6. "talbots sale associate and cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Talbots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very flexible 5 hours for shift for part times

    Cons

    boring no enough hours no place for growth not enough clients

    Talbots2017-11-29
  7. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Retail Assistant Sales Manager in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Talbots for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Weekly payments. Ins. + RRSP. Friendly environment.

    Cons

    no increase since years, pay is lower then the market..

    Talbots2016-03-24
  8. "It's all about the Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talbots

    Pros

    Truly a feeling of community within the unit! Welcome atmosphere of collaboration on all levels from the bottom ... up to the top! A place to make rewarding relationships with peers, and clients!

    Cons

    I can't think of any ... it just continues to "feel" like the best place to work.

    Talbots2015-09-16
  9. "District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talbots full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic collaborative company, where the customer is always our first priority. It is not in the words it is in the action we take and that makes Talbots a very special place to be part of.

    Cons

    I truly can't think of one thing

    Advice to Management

    I love the team environment and the way everyone works together, thank you

    Talbots2015-07-16
  10. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talbots

    Pros

    Talbot's offers a hospitality work environment one that is dedicated to not only the guests, but the employees as well. Adding that all important personal touch when forming relationships with employees will guarantee Talbot's will keep the quality work force it has and attract many more. After all, the hospitality industry is all about courtesy.

    Cons

    Balancing work and life is a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Continue on the path that upper management has started to employee, changing the way we think our behaviors and incentives to all management and associates.

    Talbots2015-06-05
Found 958 reviews