Shaw Direct Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Shaw Direct Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Shaw Direct CEO Brad Shaw (no image)
Brad Shaw
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "call center opened 24 hours, in the beginning you get a lot of weekends and late shifts(in 5 reviews)

  • "long hours, high demanding physicaly(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company, great culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company culture. Open door policies with the likes of VP of sales Philip Siccot, Director of ops Julie, CSR Manager Rédouane, and great supervisors like Jean Michel, Tony, and Abdul.

    Cons

    Limited & expensive parking spots.

    Shaw Direct2019-05-17
  2. "Company is ok...management lacking integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pleasant people to lead Nice facilities. Senior management is decent but middle management (Director and Managers) are laughable.

    Cons

    Middle Management is atrocious when it comes to dealing with human rights or anyone who does not drink their corporate kool-aid. The company itself tries hard to drive fairness, trust, integrity, and respect for others. The leadership talks the talk but rarely walks the talk. A lot of lip service until you call them on it. then they rally the troops to get rid of those who speak up. Poor pay compared to industry standard. Mangement that has no real experience in the real world but knows how to talk a good game. Leaders will turn against rank and file if they complain. Promotions based on how well you buy into the company kool-aid and not by merit. Company is behind in Eastern Canada and unless you are willing to move our West there are no opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Shaw Direct2019-08-09
  3. "Customer Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Direct full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, good tools, good healthy benefits and nice pay

    Cons

    long hours, tedious job, poor schedule and extremely micro management

    Shaw Direct2019-04-07
  4. "Company in decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Sales Representative in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shaw Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, Stable Hours, Try to make you feel listened to, Decent Comission, Family-like dynamic

    Cons

    Managers won't give you a straight answer when it comes to what we can expect of the future, set unrealistic targets for agents, limited possibility to grow and earn more, an industry in decline and a company struggling to innovate

    Continue reading
    Shaw Direct2019-03-02
  5. "If you have been working at Shaw for 5 plus years.. be prepared to be “laid off”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Calgary, AB
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Direct full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Atmosphere was awesome and so were all the people. Really enjoyed my time there. Benefits were awesome and pay was ok.

    Cons

    Every year sometime twice a year they “restructure” which leaves everyone on edge.

    Continue reading
    Shaw Direct2019-02-19
  6. "Field Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Shaw Direct

    Pros

    Fun working environment with co workers

    Cons

    Moving up in the company was limited

    Shaw Direct2018-12-13
  7. "Good for entry, but can't support a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Direct full-time

    Pros

    Extremely Flexible Schedule. Fantastic co-workers/upper management.

    Cons

    Difficultly moving to another position that's no commission/sales

    Continue reading
    Shaw Direct2018-10-10
  8. "loyalty care agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at Shaw Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great management and work atmosphere

    Cons

    no cons to mention about this company

    Shaw Direct2018-08-13
  9. "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shaw Direct full-time

    Pros

    Great learning opportunity. Just deliver good customer service. That is the main expectation. Sometimes customers are annoying. But most of the time it's a no-stress job

    Cons

    Very little chance for career growth.

    Shaw Direct2018-07-31
  10. "not a good place to work at all. Making people look miserable and streessful envoironment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shaw Direct full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    sitting on the chair, free coffee, and that is it.

    Cons

    good benefit but the company gives the right to the insurance company to withdraw the pay tree months from your salary at once. and you paying for something that you did not use. you started working on April but paying for benefit for January, February,and March. I have never seen this before. the service to client in very poo. Some supervisor do not know nothing about the job all they do is putting pressure on agents. customer can insult you all day. Management is rude. bad training. you learn almost nothing. Agent look very miserable and struggling to keep the job. My god I had a very good sleep the day I stopped this job.

    Continue reading
    Shaw Direct2018-07-26
Found 80 reviews