Saskatoon Public Library Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Saskatoon Public Library Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.5
12%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Saskatoon Public Library  CEO and Director  Carol Cooley
Carol Cooley
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Page"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Page in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saskatoon Public Library part-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are always very kind.

    Cons

    It can be physically demanding at times

    Saskatoon Public Library2017-04-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "it's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SLA 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saskatoon Public Library full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great people, lots of variety

    Cons

    structuring needs work, environment is tricky at times

    Saskatoon Public Library2019-06-27
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Very poor moral, situation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Services Associate in Saskatoon, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saskatoon Public Library part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some really nice co-workers and great patrons. So much potential to make a difference and help people, if management would allow it.

    Cons

    Management is almost like a mean girls group. Moral is terrible, so many people talking about filing grievances.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of CEO and start listening to patrons and front line employees.

    Saskatoon Public Library2019-07-30
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Awful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Saskatoon, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saskatoon Public Library full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Liked working downtown. Short hours and lots of downtime. Good pay for some managers.

    Cons

    Its just a daycare for elderly and hobos. Directors are power-hungry, scheming and dishonest....always trying to drum up drama. in 2 years I saw so so so many 'employee investigations' it made my head spin. unhappy staff everywhere. Place was a mess when I started and is still a mess. CEO loves to keep people on edge, worrying for jobs...pensions. Changes are made just for sake of stirring people up and reminding them who's in charge. They keep promising to build a new library but they can't justify with the almost empty building they have already.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lost cause until Carol leaves. Big payday for her either way.

    Saskatoon Public Library2019-06-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Library Casual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saskatoon Public Library part-time

    Pros

    Decent training and some great people.

    Cons

    Being assigned to libraries all over town with different ways of doing things makes for confusion. Dealing with agitated or intoxicated patrons. Feeling unsafe.

    Saskatoon Public Library2018-12-20
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Central Library Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Saskatoon Public Library part-time

    Pros

    Great co workers who care about the clients they served and truly desire to provide excellent public service.

    Cons

    Heavy handed management style and a disastrous and poorly planned and executed “restructure “ have hogtied talented and dedicated staff. The branch is chronically understaffed and on top of that there is a high rate of sick call ins. Knowledgeable professionals have had their jobs downgraded and de skilled to the point that their talents are being wasted. Too much middle management who are micromanaged by upper management, yet no guidance for the staff on the ground. There is a gross disconnect between the delusional “vision” of the CEO (who is running the library like a corporation) and the day to day realities that the staff struggle with. CEO is a union buster. Work environment is toxic. Look elsewhere if you want to preserve your mental and physical health

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None. I don’t believe they would listen. They are too narcissistic and shuttered away in their locked administration office to see that they are taking a formerly excellent public service (not without its shortcomings, yes) and dismantling it. I fear SPL will never recover from this.

    Saskatoon Public Library2018-11-22
  7. Helpful (7)

    "It could be such a good place to work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saskatoon Public Library full-time

    Pros

    Co workers, feeling of satisfaction helping others

    Cons

    Toxic work environment, decisions made hastily by upper management with no staff involvement, only to change decison or delay once realized it wouldn’t work.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff.. have management really be involved with their staff..

    Saskatoon Public Library2018-06-23
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Do not apply here currently"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saskatoon Public Library full-time

    Pros

    There is a CUPE 2669 union.

    Cons

    There is a community petition for the CEO to resign, including rallies and protests regarding a staff restructuring during the past year.

    Saskatoon Public Library2018-06-28
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Saskatoon, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Saskatoon Public Library full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get a lot of weekends off and it's never physically demanding.

    Cons

    A lot of gossip. Managers and directors who think nothing of mocking employees they disagree with or don't like. The management meetings I attend are atrocious in their toxicity. Basically if you don't try and curry favour with the head director you can forget about a future. One manager suddenly left after she was called out for harassment. It's the kind of place where you just keep your head down and your mouth shut and hope they don't come up with an excuse to come after you. I never knew working at a library could be so stressful. We barely even have any patrons.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You don't belong in a leadership role.

    Saskatoon Public Library2018-06-22
  10. Helpful (8)

    "BPLA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saskatoon Public Library part-time

    Pros

    Lots of parking at the branch

    Cons

    Manager of branch is a dictator and makes inconsistent and confusing requests of staff.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff and STOP forcing them to take lesser paying jobs at SPL or resign out of disgust for the coming changes.

    Saskatoon Public Library2017-12-20
Found 22 reviews