SMA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SMA Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
SMA President & Chief Executive Officer Ajay Patel
Ajay Patel
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Also despite being deployed by yourself or with a small group; SM&A's corporate office has always managed to keep me connected and feel supported(in 6 reviews)

  • "Use of technology (TOD) to have easy process(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "In my opinion, there are no cons within the company itself(in 7 reviews)

  • "Open office environment makes it difficult to do your job(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer 

    I worked at SMA full-time

    Pros

    salry,organisation,mangment great team work . overall good

    Cons

    comunaction with team mmebrs could be better

    SMA2019-11-16
  2. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SMA full-time

    Pros

    Get to learn lot more things practically

    Cons

    Salary is too delayed

    Advice to Management

    Please improve your hr department towards paying of salary to field executive

    SMA2019-10-14
  3. "Great Leadership!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Where to start? There are so many good things to share. First of all, I report to the COO and work closely with the VPs and the CEO. SMA is a very flat organization, where even our interns get to interact with our C-Levels and of course there is no micromanagement at any level. Second, our leaders lead by example. They are the type of people that always roll-up their sleeves and stay close to the product. They are not proud individuals but lead with confidence and grace. They pride in building people up and provide positive reinforcement when they see someone is doing right. Lastly, my co-workers care about each other. Many of them have formed long-term friendships that go beyond the SMA walls. I overall feel valued and appreciated, like nowhere else before.

    Show More

    Cons

    The CEO & COO are so close to the product that it may prevent them from actually understanding the view of the product users.

    Advice to Management

    My recommendation is to implement surveys and check-points to collect feedback and recommendations from Candidates, Associates and Clients on our TOD application to continue enhancing the value and usability of it. I would also recommend for us to grow the TOD marketing / help-desk, recruiting and sales team.

    SMA2019-05-16
  4. "Now for something completely different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Proposal Writer in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My first, and I bet only, experience with a company that *helped me to apply*! Also, very slick and innovative virtual interview with an avatar. These guys have really thought about how to recruit and motivate people.

    Cons

    80% travel, but with bennies.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    SMA2019-02-13
  5. "HR was very helpful during the hiring process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Proposal Writer in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SMA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am a new employee with SMA . I will be working with proposal professionals who have extensive experience, are great listeners and eager to help new hires succeed.

    Cons

    There aren't any cons so far.

    Advice to Management

    None yet.

    SMA2019-02-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Long Term Employee (Proposal Mgr)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You will work with the smartest and most capable folks in the industry

    Cons

    Travel, but that is true of any company

    Advice to Management

    Keep expanding into new industries and clients

    SMA2019-01-24
  7. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SMA is a really great company to work for. The environment is small, non-hostile, friendly, understanding, and they care about their employees. There has been significant effort to improve the company whether that be location, roles, etc.. and it's shown that they care about growth. Overall, it's a great place to work at if you are looking for a career.

    Cons

    Alexa doesn't always register our answers on Jeopardy.

    SMA2018-11-19
  8. "Good Company, Nicest People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Everyone works really well with others. - Very friendly office to work in - Really good Health benefits.

    Cons

    Need more Office Parties and happy hours.

    SMA2018-11-13
  9. "Great Company - Awesome Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The firm has a diverse demographic and attracts very accomplished people. Most impressive is the collaboration and support across the organization (staff and associates). Bottom line, we play well as a team! The organization has a flat hierarchy, and everyone is very accessible. The Talent On Demand (TOD) system developed by the firm to manage and deploy talent is impressive! It has improved transparency of opportunities, consistently wows clients, and has increased deployment opportunities for all. The recent move of the firm’s entire technology infrastructure is impressive and has significantly improved the end user experience.

    Show More

    Cons

    The updates to the technology infrastructure are a significant improvement, but we need to continue driving these enhancements. We are evolving into a technology company and our implementation of technology must one of several attributes that differentiate us in this space. We are not there yet!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on TOD and the enhancements to the technology infrastructure. Maintain the culture of the organization as we scale.

    SMA2018-11-12
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Use of technology (TOD) to have easy process. - Flexibility to work from home occasionally. - Awesome benefits (reimbursement for health equipments).

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons right now.

    SMA2018-11-09
Found 90 reviews
</>Embed