Rio Tinto Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Rio Tinto Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 778 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Rio Tinto CEO Jean-Sébastien Jacques
Jean-Sébastien Jacques
187 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor in Boron, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great learning atmosphere, excellent growth opportunity.

    Cons

    Older equipment tends to lead to increased breakdowns.

    Rio Tinto2019-08-28
  2. "Overall very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Saguenay, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, shift work, lots of paid vacation, good work environment with my partners, 6 to 6 12 hour shifts, lots of overtime. Very good retiring plan

    Cons

    Constantly pressured by the supervisors, doing more work than expected will never be enough, arrogant supervisors and pushing us to our limits during extreme heat in the aluminum plant when its 45 Celsius outside its about 100 degrees between pots and they expect you to work for hours non-stop.

    Advice to Management

    Worry more about your employees health and stop always thinking about money, stop pressuring your supervisors so they feel overwhelmed with all the responsibilities, therefore making the employees pay for it.

    Rio Tinto2019-07-25
  3. "Good Company but very much depends which of its offices you work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Controller 

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    Good Salary & renumeration package, high safety standards for site work

    Cons

    Company culture in Labrador ,NL is not what you might expect of an international company, HR is only involved in recruitment and renumeration. Mangaement style is very old school and needs to be improved

    Rio Tinto2019-08-14
  4. "Great benefits, poor business architecture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer EIT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Full benefits package available, very stable job

    Cons

    Mismanagement and politics plagues the company

    Rio Tinto2019-08-18
  5. "Be careful of restructuring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay with bonuses. People are friendly. Many, not all seniors, are open to be mentors. A lot of people stay because people are friendly and the pay is great.

    Cons

    Difficult to move out of support role. Turnover of management in recent years with push from Australia. A lot of expats joining Canadian offices. Visas being pushed through to save their jobs while pushing out Canadians. I've seen this happen to a few colleagues.

    Advice to Management

    No advice, they wont listen.

    Rio Tinto2019-06-18
  6. "HR Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Advisor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pension, flextime, development, wage

    Cons

    Work life balance, management, culture

    Rio Tinto2019-05-15
  7. "Superintendent Technical Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Superintendent in Yellowknife, NT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company, good benefits, good team

    Cons

    Not too many underground mines

    Rio Tinto2018-11-05
  8. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto

    Pros

    High paying job for the education Pretty chill people A lot of security measures

    Cons

    Night and weekends shifts Work hazards

    Rio Tinto2018-10-14
  9. "Good Ethic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    Very Ethics, Excellent safety focus, good salaries.

    Cons

    Constant change implementation, change just to change... no gain

    Rio Tinto2018-10-23
  10. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GIS Adviser in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Diversity, challanges, respect, gender equality

    Cons

    It depends on everyone's experience.

    Advice to Management

    Think more on the people, not only on the shareholder's revenues.

    Rio Tinto2018-09-27
Found 778 reviews