RONA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

RONA Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 267 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Sylvain Prud homme
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "cant get full time if your life depended on it(in 13 reviews)

  • "poor management, and lack of opportunity(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at RONA for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun nice caring good work to do

    Cons

    No gum ball machine makes it less enjoyable

    Advice to Management

    Invest in gum ball machine

    RONA2019-07-23
  2. "Good people lousy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Hand 

    I have been working at RONA full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Customers are very needy management does not respect you

    RONA2019-08-14
  3. "Love plumbing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Person 

    I worked at RONA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    get to learn about plumbing

    Cons

    they didnt give me any hours

    RONA2019-07-19
  4. "Family Business well rooted in the community."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Langley, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at RONA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Smaller company requires you to perform more tasks, which at times can take away from the focus on your primary function

    RONA2019-07-17
  5. "Only good for a short time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Yard Worker in Coquitlam, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RONA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -flexible hours for students -nice staff

    Cons

    -unpredictable shifts -poor management -favouritism towards certain staff members -management doesn’t care about store safety and what staff say

    RONA2019-08-17
  6. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RONA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lowe's take over is slowly improving Rona's overall operations

    Cons

    Pay is weak due to bonus structure

    Advice to Management

    Do what is asked

    RONA2019-07-25
  7. "Ok job, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Mission, BC

    I worked at RONA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good coworkers, feels like family at times

    Cons

    Managers treat you poorly, manipulate situations to make you look bad, very drama orientated

    Advice to Management

    Give your young workers a better chance.

    RONA2019-07-22
  8. "Best place I have worked so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Bowness, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RONA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work environment, supportive and upbeat coworkers, approachable management staff

    Cons

    None so far, we will see haha

    RONA2019-06-23
  9. "Dishonest,Agressive, Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finisher in Chilliwack, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at RONA for less than a year

    Pros

    Stephanie Hilton is imaginative with her design

    Cons

    Dishonest with customers & contractors. Does not listen to adice, inexperienced site management & unrealistic budget

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully you'll listen to your next employer and not cost your customers extra's not properly documented. With respect for your teams listen to the pro's.

    RONA2019-07-15
  10. "This place is an absolute nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ajax, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RONA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible around schedule, but if you ask for time off don't count on getting decent hours after that.

    Cons

    Inconsistency with policies, every manager has their own rules. No room for growth, company does not care about their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Be strict with the store managers to ensure everyone follows policies - if you follow them, managers get mad. If you don't follow them, head office will call. It's a no-win situation for the employees.

    RONA2019-06-26
Found 267 reviews