Postmedia Network Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Postmedia Network Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
38%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Postmedia Network President and CEO Andrew Macleod
Andrew Macleod
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "great people, good work life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • "Nationally recognized company with reputable brands, mostly good people(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "We were left out of Christmas parties put on by the sales team and upper management(in 9 reviews)

  • "poor management, company going through cost cutting effects(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Learning with fun and flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmedia Network full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment to grow up and sharpen your technical skill. Flexible work environment and fun place to work.

    Cons

    Performance matters, low performers are given multiple chance to grow up but if you fail to prove, you may have to face bitter experience

    Postmedia Network2020-01-28
  2. "Experience as a System Administrator at Postmedia."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Postmedia Network full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had a lot of freedom in this company, staff is friendly.

    Cons

    They don't invest enough in infrastructure, there's a lot of staff rolling.

    Continue reading
    Postmedia Network2020-03-18
  3. "GOOD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Local Market Specialist in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Postmedia Network full-time

    Pros

    great work / life balance

    Cons

    fewer growth opportunities . .

    Postmedia Network2020-03-15
  4. "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Postmedia Network full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    learn a lot , relaxed environment

    Cons

    poor management, company going through cost cutting effects

    Postmedia Network2020-03-12
  5. "Good people, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Ancaster, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Postmedia Network full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers on-site to work with.

    Cons

    Management doesn't understand what they want.

    Postmedia Network2020-03-25
  6. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Sales Consultant in Sault Ste. Marie, ON

    I have been working at Postmedia Network full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for, we are a community (local) news paper, and I love the flexibility in my job.

    Cons

    The commission is not the greatest, specially in our small community.

    Postmedia Network2020-02-27
  7. "Fair - Solid Company. Minimal Room for Advancement, a place to coast and give up on ambition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Postmedia Network full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good culture, Great team, fun times to be had (certainly not covered by the company though) - Great chance to learn Programmatic/Social/Search - Master Google systems, manage and execute campaigns, report on successes or failures - Very relaxed atmosphere, can come late , leave early, call in sick/Skip days at will - Can get a relatively solid starting Wage - Opportunity for raise low though - Friendly / Fair Managers for the most part, Nice guys

    Cons

    - Digital management is a bit inexperienced - A hiring bias has emerged on the digital team based upon Friendship and more specifically Nationality.... in turn it has made the environment less professional. In fact, if you don't speak french, you might find the atmosphere extremely uncomfortable. - Good luck in getting a raise above 5K regardless of time worked - Executive level Leadership are like ghosts, who knows what they do, or where they are. What plans they're implementing... anything really..... Pretty depressing when their Yearly 500K salaries are released while your 50K friend was just axed due to budget constrictions

    Continue reading
    Postmedia Network2020-02-26
  8. "marketing and communications with clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Sales Consultant 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Postmedia Network full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Base and commission bases. good benefits

    Cons

    Budgets too high. No opportunity for raises.

    Postmedia Network2020-02-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lacks resources, proper work systems and processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Design Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmedia Network full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good place to learn and apply digital knowledge as company is always looking for new ways for digital growth

    Cons

    - Constantly downsizing - Not invested in providing resources, incentives, fair salary nor motivation for employees to upgrade - Demands are often too high for a low salary position - Project stakeholders are always absent in the process but gives conflicting final word based on personal opinion rather than what is researched

    Continue reading
    Postmedia Network2020-02-25
  10. "Was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Postmedia Network full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good exposure and portfolio building

    Cons

    Low wages for the amount of work involved

    Postmedia Network2020-02-06
Found 188 reviews