Petco Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Petco Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2940 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Petco CEO Ron Coughlin
Ron Coughlin
394 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Watching people bring back dead animals because they didn't listen to your advice(in 328 reviews)

  • "Never having upper management say anything positive(in 164 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "sales assosiate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Dunnville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good staff , good manager

    Cons

    not enough hours given to staff to deal with customers in a busy store and all the daily cleaning,freshness tracking etc to keep things shoppable in store. makes for staff stress

    Petco2019-02-26
  2. "Alrighty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Petco full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, lovely staff, lovely and friendly customers.

    Cons

    Poor management, training is not that great Hidden agendas Could be better organised

    Petco2019-01-28
  3. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Groomer in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good team, loved the animals. Great customers. Tips are good too.

    Cons

    Not enough staffing at the time, management seemed to not care about Grooming

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge everyone, and coach people up instead of not giving them a chance.

    Petco2019-09-11

    Petco Response

    September 14, 2019Petco Experience Team

    Thank you for your four-star review! We're happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with Petco, and are constantly looking for ways to move the company forward. We value your feedback and will surely keep this mind. Thank you!

  4. "Awesome part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Petco part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome environment working with dogs. Education while working. Active job. Great discount. Consistant work flow

    Cons

    Not enough coverage. Could pay more than minimum as knowledge is learned. Programs for education on products could be established to motivate employees to grow within a very important industry. Serving to our fur family members.

    Advice to Management

    Your doing a great job given the resources from corporate

    Petco2019-09-10

    Petco Response

    September 14, 2019Petco Experience Team

    Thank you for your terrific review! We're happy to have you on our team and are happy to hear you're enjoying working for Petco!

  5. Helpful (8)

    ""Thank you for your honest review. We’re all in this together!""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Leader in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed dress code, ability to own your store's schedule. With this much work, who needs a gym membership?

    Cons

    In recent months, top executives in the company found it necessary to cut about 30 hours of payroll out of each store. They have acknowledged this on national conference calls and said there isn't anything that can be done about it...glad to see they are all smiles in trips all over the country. Could those dollars spent flying top leaders all over the nation be spent in the stores? 30 hours might not seem like a... lot, but when there is only one "salaried" person in each building, and a paper thin crew as it is, it's completely devastating to our ability to help our customers. I have lost track of how many trackers and goals we have. Grow every inch of your business while you are register coverage / getting fish / selling animals / having 30 minute conversations with customers trying to convert them to $100 dollar bags of food. It is clear to everyone in the company that the top level executives truly don't know what it's like. "A labor of Love" our CEO Ron has stated. They see the stores when they are prepared for visits. They see the horse and pony show, but no one is brave enough to talk to the struggles.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cut the canned replies of "We're all in this together" Stop showing us pictures of your expensive trips to China and all over the nation...we are desperate for help in the field. Well, back to trying to grow our average transaction, since that's the flavor of the week. Wonder what next week will be? Remember...dental is never going away!

    Petco2019-09-11

    Petco Response

    September 14, 2019Petco Experience Team

    We appreciate your honest review and are grateful for your employment with us and value your opinion. If you’ve got suggestions, we are happy to hear them. Please contact the Petco Hotline at 1-888-736-9834 or http://petcohotline.com/ so we can work towards resolving your concerns. ...

    Show More
  6. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time

    Pros

    Great people, culture, and business. New leadership team has done a great job to ensure Petco is headed in the right direction.

    Cons

    Retail environment continues to be challenging.

    Petco2019-09-05
  7. "Good place to work and getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lot's of opportunity to improve the business and opportunity to have a role in making the changes

    Cons

    Benefits still behind competitors in San Diego, difficult to get alignment and chasing too many things at same time

    Petco2019-09-05
  8. "Difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Store Leader 

    I worked at Petco full-time

    Pros

    they are an even paced company

    Cons

    not sure of their corporate direction

    Petco2019-09-15
  9. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Trainer in Montclair, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Petco part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible during my time in college. They were very accommodating with me. Management also communicated very well.

    Cons

    Pay was a bit confusing at first as a dog trainer. I felt that I was being under payed compared to other new dog trainers. At the time, minimum wage had gone up so I wasn’t getting compensated for evenly. There can be lost of drama within stores. Just stay out of it and you will be okay.

    Petco2019-08-30
  10. "Great place but who you work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, pet bereavement, Good availability

    Cons

    Depends on who you work with. Not enough time to do all the work well

    Advice to Management

    Need to schedule more people and people who truly care about the animals

    Petco2019-08-30
Found 2940 reviews