NORR Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 of over 81 reviews

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
NORR CEO Brian Gerstmar (no image)
Brian Gerstmar
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "projects good(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great people, interesting projects, good vibes(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No support for upper management(in 6 reviews)

  • "no growth opportunity(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Aug 6, 2021 - Mechanical Designer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Collaboration between disciplines. Amazing Senior Engineers Opportunities for Personal and Business Growth

      Cons

      Lacked Extracurricular Activities Outisde of Work - Mainly due to Covid

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      General

      Sep 24, 2021 - Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career advancement opportunities are always available if you express interest.

      Cons

      More work to do than there is the time to complete it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Wouldn't Want To Be Anywhere Else

      Jul 12, 2021 - Architectural Designer in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started with NORR on a contract to spend my summers while I was in school working and I was welcomed back with open arms the next summer. The year I finished school I was offered a full time position as an Architectural Designer - Technical and I have been here now full time for just over 3 years. Working with this company has been such a positive learning experience and a great way to develop my career and shape it into the exact career path I desired. NORR offers endless learning opportunities including free webinars and lunch & learns - providing us endless information on building methods and materials. The environment is so welcoming, everyone is so nice. Because we are a smaller office, the company feels like a small family. Apart from office life, NORR has also provided it's employees with an outstanding Working From Home initiative that has allowed us to continue working on our projects while remaining safe at home. One great thing I love about NORR is it's constant growth with new technology. Our team always seems to be introducing new software, and technology to improve our performance. I also love how much NORR encourages out of office relationships by hosting social events that allows us to get together with our co-workers to have some fun and promoting a work-life balance (which I believe NORR truly values).

      Cons

      I am a very detail oriented and focused individual and I find our open concept office environment can sometimes be very distracting to work in. Alternatively, through the working from home initiative, I feel like a lot of people are enjoying working from home more and therefore another con would be the fact that the office environment may not ever be the same when we return to the office.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A Place to Build a Career - but it's on you!

      Jul 12, 2021 - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent support in career development -- if you put in the work! Cares about employees

      Cons

      Cons can be switched to Pros if the individual who views the con as an opportunity to help make it better. help positive change.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great people make great projects

      Jul 12, 2021 - Director, Operations in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive compensation packages. Room to grow and advance your career. Good work-life balance; flexible work hours Well situated office in Byward Market, close to transit hub, parks, culture and restaurants. Friendly and professional coworkers. Wide variety of project types and scales. Share-based employee-ownership model. Cutting edge design technology tools.

      Cons

      None right now to me. I really enjoy working here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Upper Management

      Jul 10, 2021 - Architect in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Complete leadership change at NORR. New management completely changing the way this company operates for the better

      Cons

      Change needs to happen faster

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      working,future prospect

      Jun 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good working environment, very qualified people

      Cons

      growth is very much limited

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Frozen in time

      Jul 1, 2021 - Architect in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Location Organized work Professional respectful environment Long lasting company with good reputation

      Cons

      I did my career in this company starting from scratch when I arrived to Canada with my degree in Architecture. I focused in my work, development and learning as well as dedicating my time to do the internship, exams, courses to get the license and ensuring that I was progressing at all times. However this path was not really easy at NORR Toronto, specially because I found many people stuck in their positions for decades, not for them to understand what my goals, potential and therefore contribution to the firm would be. You feel that they try to stain your image when they can't deal with your determination and dedication When you find out that all this professional path doesn't mean anything for them, that there is more to do downstairs at the bar having drinks with the boss to see how loud you can laugh at his jokes; that the majority of people don't do internship, courses, licenses, therefore no continuing education, then you understand that you have a decision to make. Promotions are made based on loyalty, that selection of people who meet outside the company and you were not part of. Disdainful language and in many ways hidden between the lines, that once you start listening can harm you on a daily basis.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great place for juniors.

      Jun 9, 2021 - ARCHITECTURAL TECHNOLOGIST in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to learn and grow when new to the profession. Knowledgeable mentors and managers.

      Cons

      Project type is limited and interesting ones mostly given to people with 10+ years experience.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Neutral

      May 22, 2021 - Interior Designer in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great colleagues with lots of experience

      Cons

      No support, long hours, high expectations low rewards

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 76 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with NORR Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at NORR? Share Your Experiences

    NORR logo
    or