NETGEAR Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

NETGEAR Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Patrick C.S. Lo
120 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relaxed work environment: mostly stress free; managers don't usually push you to take projects outside of your core duty(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great work / life balance compared to other Silicon Valley companies(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Firmware Developer Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NETGEAR

    Pros

    Netgear was a great company to work at. As an intern I learned many practical skills that were directly applicable to many of my university course projects.

    Cons

    No real downsides. As an intern your experience and what you end up working on is dependent on how much effort you put in.

    NETGEAR2017-05-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NETGEAR full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Good salary and benefit package.

    Cons

    Decision-making is too centralized. Lower level managers have little or no decision-making power. Upper management lacks a culture of innovation. There is too much bureaucracy.

    NETGEAR2018-10-18
  3. "Good work environment and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firmware Engineer Co-op in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NETGEAR for more than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast on every Friday and flexible hours

    Cons

    needs more planning with the office

    Advice to Management

    Let juniors experience more hardcore problems

    NETGEAR2018-09-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Certification Engineer COOP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certification Engineer Coop in Richmond, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NETGEAR for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Very helpful work environment Friday fun

    Cons

    I am having a hard time to think of any Cons

    Advice to Management

    None

    NETGEAR2017-09-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NETGEAR

    Pros

    Flexible Hrs Work from home Decent Pay Benfits decent Lots for freebies Decent team members if you are working with the right people

    Cons

    Too dependent on ODM Operations manufacturing team members are under qualified Processes are outdated Not proactive on preventing issues

    NETGEAR2016-12-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Software Developer Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Richmond, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NETGEAR

    Pros

    Great working environment; Easy at work and really flexible with the time you want to work. Lots of events and free tickets to hockey games each quarter.

    Cons

    Some tasks for Co-ops are not challenging enough

    Advice to Management

    none

    NETGEAR2016-09-26
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Live to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NETGEAR full-time

    Pros

    - competitive pay - interesting products

    Cons

    - expected to work tons of overtime without any increase - CEO doesn't believe in democracy - waterfall methodologies for everything - inefficient teams - impractical working conditions - AWFUL work life balance - most people leave because they are burnt out - extremely political - cancerous and stressful environment - worst company culture I've ever experienced - high turnover

    Advice to Management

    - restructure the company - remove of the CEO - bring some fresh and capable talent in

    NETGEAR2016-10-24
  8. "Senior Strategic Sourcing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Strategic Sourcing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NETGEAR

    Pros

    Very dynamic. Encourage for good performance as performance links to compensation

    Cons

    Poor life-work balance. Overtime is often expected

    NETGEAR2016-04-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Friendly Place for Co-ops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NETGEAR

    Pros

    People are friendly and is a fun culture. Work will always keep you busy

    Cons

    Work is repetitive and some members are not always approachable when asking questions.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more honest feedback to students.

    NETGEAR2016-01-20
  10. "Manufacturing test engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NETGEAR full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good company culture, good working atmosphere

    Cons

    Moving some positions to China

    Advice to Management

    Give employees more chance to make certain decision

    NETGEAR2015-07-21
Found 181 reviews