Muscular Dystrophy Association Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 592 of over 625 reviews

2.8
27%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Muscular Dystrophy Association President and CEO Donald S Wood, PhD
Donald S Wood, PhD
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great coworkers, families are amazing, the mission is uplifting and the sponsors really want to help find cures(in 41 reviews)

  • "The people working really want to help make a difference and that helps a lot in the day to day(in 25 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Pressure from Leadership to do a lot of personal fundraising to reach budget goals(in 83 reviews)

  • "Explosive outbursts of anger and other inappropriate behaviors/practices by upper management(in 57 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      It is pretty good tbh

      Jan 25, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is pretty good tbh

      Cons

      Oh well idk, i think tis alright

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

      Muscular Dystrophy Association

      Thank you for your review. We are thankful for everything you do for MDA! Even though you did not share much, we would like to know more about your time at MDA if you are willing to share. Please reach out to Human Resources to discuss.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Customer Service

      Aug 12, 2020 - Service Specialist in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits Are very good for family

      Cons

      Disorganization From management, constant changes every day

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

      HR Generalist

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We would like to more details about what you are talking about. If you would like to share any additional information, or discuss your personal situation in more depth, please reach out to culture@mdausa.org.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Working for MDC is challenging, rewarding and frustrating.

      Sep 19, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Knowing that you are working to improve the lives of people living with muscular dystrophy is very satisfying.

      Cons

      Depending on which office you work in and who your immediate supervisor is, MDC has some issues around negative work environment.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Nov 28, 2021 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work at

      Cons

      High turns over and campaign season

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      2 for 1

      Nov 16, 2021 - Administrative Assistant/Volunteer Coordinator in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule. Causal attire. Events. Networking.

      Cons

      Immediately assigned two roles, unknowingly to me. Low pay. No raise.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Lots of work, little help

      Nov 29, 2021 - Fundraiser 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay for non profit

      Cons

      Nights and weekends are required

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      getting better

      Oct 19, 2021 - Customer Care Specialist in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      With new ceo, things are looking up. He seems committed to the organization and offers incentives like continuing "summer fridays" where we leave early on friday in the summer time.

      Cons

      Changes happen before a plan is in place. Lots of job shifting, hard to remember who's who, especially now that we're all remote. No COL increase, ever. No Bonuses.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Nice Company

      Oct 16, 2021 - Muscular Dystrophy Association in Lenexa, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a great atmosphere

      Cons

      there were no cons here

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

      Muscular Dystrophy Association

      Thank you for providing your concise feedback, and your 5+ years of dedication to MDA. We agree MDA has a great atmosphere. Even though you did not share much, we would like to know more about your time at MDA if you are willing to share. Please reach out to culture@mdausa.org to discuss.

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Oct 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission driven Connecting with families and donors Coworkers that become friends/family Learning to adapt to different day to day scenarios

      Cons

      No communication with national and local offices Burnout Unrealistic fundraising goals Burnout Disconnect between families, and clinic with a bigger emphasis on $$$ Low pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great pleace to work for within first few months then down hill

      Oct 5, 2021 - Coordinator in Lake Success, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Gave employees great PTO after only a few months on the job. Helping families was the best part of the job.

      Cons

      Not real room for growth. Doesn't care about long term employees that have position under a executive role. No real job security.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Muscular Dystrophy Association Response

      Muscular Dystrophy Association

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our generous PTO, we’re proud to offer a 403b match, as well as ample holiday time. We fully agree that the MDA mission, and our families are the best part of working for MDA. We are saddened to hear that you felt there was no room for growth/job security. We hope you had a chance to connect with your manager/HR to discuss your specific situation. If there is anything you would like to discuss further, please reach out to culture@mdausa.org.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 592 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Muscular Dystrophy Association Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Muscular Dystrophy Association? Share Your Experiences

    Muscular Dystrophy Association logo
    or