MetCredit Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

MetCredit Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
MetCredit CEO Brian Summerfelt
Brian Summerfelt
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company, wonderful staff and management(in 5 reviews)

  • "Great pay if you know how to work and are willing to learn the business(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working at Metcredit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at MetCredit full-time

    Pros

    Good worklife balance, friendly colleagues, good bosses

    Cons

    May have to work 2 Saturday's in a month but thats only 3 hrs

    Advice to Management

    Classroom training required on systems and product before moving to production

    MetCredit2018-10-24
  2. "Office Bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Debt Collector in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetCredit full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay structure if you can collect well.

    Cons

    When I started at MetCredit it was a welcoming and friendly place to work with tight but reasonable collection targets. I still work here and enjoy my job however, the office politics and absolute inaction of Human Resources has created a toxic untenable environement. There is an active clique of workplace bullies that are allowed to roam free and cause emotional and psychological problems for other employees.

    Advice to Management

    Weed out the bad apples before the whole tree rotts

    MetCredit2019-06-25

    MetCredit Response

    June 25, 2019Human Resources & Quality Assurance Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. Our goal is for each and every one of our valued employees to work in a respectful and positive environment that fosters growth and opportunity. If there are any unresolved workplace issues, please feel free to reach out to the CEO or senior executives.

  3. "Great chance for anyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collector in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetCredit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity, tons of business. Lots of room for growth.

    Cons

    Lots of restrictions and privacy concerns are required to fulfill have certain clients which can appear excessive but are a necessary part of a successful agency.

    Advice to Management

    Evolution is essential.

    MetCredit2019-03-20
  4. "Collector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetCredit full-time

    Pros

    Alot of help, everyone is willing to give you pointers and are happy when you do well. Training is good and to the point.

    Cons

    The job is not for everyone, it can be tough on people to put other people (the debtors) in a place where they feel helpless, you have to be a hardened person to survive here.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe more mock calls

    MetCredit2019-01-09
  5. "Great firm to work for and lots of room to advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administration Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetCredit full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fun and positive atmosphere, great staff, LOTS of opportunities to advance, great education about the finance industry in general.

    Cons

    Only downside is there is no pension

    Advice to Management

    More contests and I miss the monthly corporate email celebrating promotions, personal bests and exciting news , such as annoucing new clients.

    MetCredit2018-07-20
  6. "Collector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Debt Collector in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetCredit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office that is very modern. Amazing break room that has multiple team building things to do during your break. Hardworking team members that cover all demographics. You get to know the owners on a first name basis as you see them when they stop by your office, and they take the time to get to know you. You really feel like you are apart of a team. Lots of sponsored events by the president of our company to...

    Show More

    Cons

    Low starting salary, but chance of commission. Can feel unwelcoming at first, but once you are here awhile people really warm up to you. Little room for advancement or movement. If you start a job, you will most likely be in that same position until you quit.

    MetCredit2018-07-05
  7. "A Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Agent in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetCredit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    MetCredit offers a friendly and motivating workplace. Management treats their employees with respect and works with them to move forward towards their goals. Working in collections is a great place to gain knowledge of the ever changing financial industry with skills you can apply to your own personal financial goals.

    Cons

    Must have the confidence to be firm with instructions from clients. You must have the skills to deescalate high stress situations and keep people focused on solutions to their situation. As it is an office setting, must be okay with sitting most of the day and working on a computer.

    MetCredit2018-07-05
  8. "Room to move up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collection Supervisor in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetCredit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of room to move up in the company. If you work hard, follow the code of ethics and go above and beyond with your job; you will be given opportunities to better your career within the company and also better your own life skills.

    Cons

    Dealing with abusive people on the phones. However, you are taught how to deal with those people.

    MetCredit2018-07-09
  9. "Great company, very focused on employee success and engagement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Debt Collector in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MetCredit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always coaching employees, understanding of needs. Good working atmosphere. Fast paced so the day goes by fast. Great hours! Managers are easy to work with.

    Cons

    It's early in the morning and some Saturdays so if you're an early bird it's great for you. Collecting debt takes a special kind of person so if you're very nice it might not be good for you.

    MetCredit2018-03-11
  10. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetCredit

    Pros

    Best company culture I have ever seen.

    Cons

    Takes a specific kind of person to work here.

    MetCredit2018-02-14

    MetCredit Response

    February 27, 2018Human Resources & Quality Assurance Manager

    Thanks for your review and for being part of our company culture! You are making a difference.

Found 72 reviews