Maverick Trading Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Maverick Trading Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Robb Reinhold
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Always available to their traders(in 10 reviews)

  • "I’ve learned more from Maverick Trading than all the years on my own(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The ratio of successful Prop Traders are less than 10%(in 7 reviews)

  • "It's a pymamid period recruitment is everything - desk fees, traders training and and a trading slush fund incase you mess up(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (424)

    "Uplifting Firm."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Trader in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Joined Maverick upon completion of graduate school and wanted the freedom and flexibility of very low expenses and ability to live anywhere and trade. Really great group of traders who will mentor you, fun group of guys. The firm doesn't take commission splits from trades that traders place, which keeps your best interest in mind (profitability). Firm only generates profits if your overall account is profitable with placing...

    Show More

    Cons

    From the beginning Maverick has continually developed and progressed in terms of trader support and ease in obtaining capital. Bright futures ahead for Maverick and its traders!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop website content and trading program.

    Maverick Trading2016-04-14
  2. Helpful (294)

    "Best Prop firm out there right now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Options Trader in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been in and out of the prop industry for over 15 years now and most of the firms I used to know have either closed or merged with the others. I chose Maverick as they have basically run as an independent firm and taken care of their traders for the long term. They are very upfront with the costs of trading and are very available when you need them. Fast payout on profits only take 1 day.

    Cons

    TWS software isn't my favorite platform I've traded on but the costs of data feeds are 10% of what I paid on sterling and laser

    Advice to Management

    None

    Maverick Trading2017-03-06
  3. Helpful (228)

    "TRADER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Maverick Trading

      Pros

      Everything! I love it alot!

      Cons

      Nothing once you are aboard then you are good!

      Maverick Trading2017-09-14
    • Helpful (260)

      "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Equity Trader in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Maverick Trading for more than a year

      Pros

      Always available to their traders. I couldn't ask for a better place.

      Cons

      Absolutely very little to complain about here.

      Maverick Trading2017-01-09
    • Helpful (9)

      "All It Took Was Going For It"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Trader in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I had many years of market experience prior to joining Maverick, and still their curriculum and coaches quickly put me to shame. However, after years of trading with the firm, I've gotten to know Maverick's mgmt team and trader community. The company mantra could be "Yes, there is always someone better...and yes, he/she is here to help you get better."

      Cons

      Nothing to complain about.

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up!!

      Maverick Trading2019-03-27
    • Helpful (265)

      "Great company, great people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Maverick Trading

      Pros

      Outstanding organization. I have been with Maverick for approximately 3 years. Their training program is world class and the people are genuinely interested in your success. Trading stocks and futures is hard work. To be successful you need to understand the markets, utilize strategies that are effective in different market conditions, and then execute your trades when the market provides you with the opportunities....

      Show More

      Cons

      none, absolutely no cons that I can think of

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you are doing

      Maverick Trading2016-10-04
    • Helpful (276)

      "Great group of people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Proprietary Trader in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I was hired on to update some of their programming and customize some of their trading softwares after being a trader for them since 2012. I have been a trader for the mid 90's and have been around many trading firms over the years and some shops are cutthroat and set up for the firm while others are more like teams working together. Maverick is definitely set up as one of the latter which is why i stay

      Cons

      Some strategies are prohibited by management. It can be a little annoying but I also understand the firm's need for risk management as the prohibitive strategies mostly exclude naked option selling.

      Advice to Management

      Just keep up the good work and continue to evolve and grow as a trading firm. Nothing other than that.

      Maverick Trading2016-07-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Really nice company. Fast paced work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time

      Pros

      I like how much we have going on and how many opportunities there are to prove myself. It helps me keep focused and motivated and I appreciate the fact that my managers have trusted me to take initiative. It's paid off big time in terms of my standing with upper management.

      Cons

      Just that we get pretty busy at times.

      Maverick Trading2018-12-19

      Maverick Trading Response

      January 8, 2019

      Thanks for the review. The great thing about the markets is that you do have to prove yourself every day. We're glad that you feel we keep you focused and motivated; that's what we're here for. Remember that our coaching staff is here to support you and you can reach out to them ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time

      Pros

      In my opinions, Maverick is one of the coolest companies you could ask to work for. Not just in Salt Lake, either. The work is so innovative that it's always interesting, and it's not rare for me to talk to an industry friend about something I'm working on and they tell me it's something their company has even touched yet.

      Cons

      Hours can be long on rare occasions if the job demands it.

      Maverick Trading2018-11-25
    • Helpful (3)

      "One of the best working experiences I've been part of"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time

      Pros

      The end goal of Maverick is entirely about helping people, so naturally most everyone that works here is kind and generally easy to get along with. It's been really easy to form a great working relationships with both my coworkers and management. it's made my day to day really enjoyable for me.

      Cons

      Parking is a headache, but that's everywhere around here.

      Maverick Trading2018-10-31
    Found 33 reviews