Maverick Trading Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Maverick Trading Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Maverick Trading CEO Robb Reinhold  (no image)
Robb Reinhold
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Always available to their traders(in 10 reviews)

  • "I’ve learned more from Maverick Trading than all the years on my own(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The ratio of successful Prop Traders are less than 10%(in 7 reviews)

  • "It's a pymamid period recruitment is everything - desk fees, traders training and and a trading slush fund incase you mess up(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (430)

    "Uplifting Firm."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Trader in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Joined Maverick upon completion of graduate school and wanted the freedom and flexibility of very low expenses and ability to live anywhere and trade. Really great group of traders who will mentor you, fun group of guys. The firm doesn't take commission splits from trades that traders place, which keeps your best interest in mind (profitability). Firm only generates profits if your overall account is profitable with... placing trades. Which is very hard to find these days! There are no limits on how much capital traders can trade with and your not limited to placing a certain amount of trades and can essentially trade your own strategy, time-frames etc. Just from the trade alerts the company sends out, one can easily generate substantial returns.

    Show More

    Cons

    From the beginning Maverick has continually developed and progressed in terms of trader support and ease in obtaining capital. Bright futures ahead for Maverick and its traders!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop website content and trading program.

    Maverick Trading2016-04-14
  2. Helpful (295)

    "Best Prop firm out there right now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Options Trader in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been in and out of the prop industry for over 15 years now and most of the firms I used to know have either closed or merged with the others. I chose Maverick as they have basically run as an independent firm and taken care of their traders for the long term. They are very upfront with the costs of trading and are very available when you need them. Fast payout on profits only take 1 day.

    Cons

    TWS software isn't my favorite platform I've traded on but the costs of data feeds are 10% of what I paid on sterling and laser

    Advice to Management

    None

    Maverick Trading2017-03-06
  3. Helpful (228)

    "TRADER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Maverick Trading

    Pros

    Everything! I love it alot!

    Cons

    Nothing once you are aboard then you are good!

    Maverick Trading2017-09-14
  4. "Great Trader Program BUT with a Cost. Literally."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Clerk 

    I worked at Maverick Trading full-time

    Pros

    The company has a great program for their traders,

    Cons

    The company provides a great trading program, however, you have to pay for it. There's a fee deducted monthly, which is not disclosed at the beginning. You'll just be surprised to know you are in debt after completing the program. Joining this company is like venturing on a new business, instead of just getting a job. You decide if this is good for you or not.

    Maverick Trading2019-09-09

    Maverick Trading Response

    September 17, 2019Operations Project Manager

    Thank you for your opinion. Many people new to proprietary trading don't understand the capital requirements to trade, which are industry standard, and which are also discussed in great detail prior to a trader coming on board the firm. We recommend all our traders read our ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (26)

    "All It Took Was Going For It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I had many years of market experience prior to joining Maverick, and still their curriculum and coaches quickly put me to shame. However, after years of trading with the firm, I've gotten to know Maverick's mgmt team and trader community. The company mantra could be "Yes, there is always someone better...and yes, he/she is here to help you get better."

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!!

    Maverick Trading2019-03-27
  6. Helpful (260)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Equity Trader in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading for more than a year

    Pros

    Always available to their traders. I couldn't ask for a better place.

    Cons

    Absolutely very little to complain about here.

    Maverick Trading2017-01-09
  7. Helpful (265)

    "Great company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading

    Pros

    Outstanding organization. I have been with Maverick for approximately 3 years. Their training program is world class and the people are genuinely interested in your success. Trading stocks and futures is hard work. To be successful you need to understand the markets, utilize strategies that are effective in different market conditions, and then execute your trades when the market provides you with the... opportunities. The folks at Maverick do that on a consistent basis and have taught me how to do it. One of the best organizations I have ever had the good fortune to be with.

    Show More

    Cons

    none, absolutely no cons that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Maverick Trading2016-10-04
  8. Helpful (278)

    "Great group of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Proprietary Trader in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was hired on to update some of their programming and customize some of their trading softwares after being a trader for them since 2012. I have been a trader for the mid 90's and have been around many trading firms over the years and some shops are cutthroat and set up for the firm while others are more like teams working together. Maverick is definitely set up as one of the latter which is why i stay

    Cons

    Some strategies are prohibited by management. It can be a little annoying but I also understand the firm's need for risk management as the prohibitive strategies mostly exclude naked option selling.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep up the good work and continue to evolve and grow as a trading firm. Nothing other than that.

    Maverick Trading2016-07-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Really nice company. Fast paced work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time

    Pros

    I like how much we have going on and how many opportunities there are to prove myself. It helps me keep focused and motivated and I appreciate the fact that my managers have trusted me to take initiative. It's paid off big time in terms of my standing with upper management.

    Cons

    Just that we get pretty busy at times.

    Maverick Trading2018-12-19

    Maverick Trading Response

    January 8, 2019

    Thanks for the review. The great thing about the markets is that you do have to prove yourself every day. We're glad that you feel we keep you focused and motivated; that's what we're here for. Remember that our coaching staff is here to support you and you can reach out to them ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time

    Pros

    In my opinions, Maverick is one of the coolest companies you could ask to work for. Not just in Salt Lake, either. The work is so innovative that it's always interesting, and it's not rare for me to talk to an industry friend about something I'm working on and they tell me it's something their company has even touched yet.

    Cons

    Hours can be long on rare occasions if the job demands it.

    Maverick Trading2018-11-25
Found 32 reviews