Maverick Trading Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 of over 84 reviews

3.5
58%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Maverick Trading CEO  Robb Reinhold  (no image)
Robb Reinhold
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Always available to their traders(in 13 reviews)

  • "I’ve learned more from Maverick Trading than all the years on my own(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The trading platform they use can cause some headaches(in 4 reviews)

  • "The payment system wasn't disclosed properly when I joined them(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Nothing significant to learn

      Apr 10, 2021 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There's nothing particularly good to mention either.

      Cons

      Working here is a big waste of time. There's nothing significant to learn, nothing to gain, and nothing to experience anything that will make an advancement in your career.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      sample

      Dec 21, 2020 - Trader in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good management is a pro

      Cons

      risk management is a con

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Uplifting Firm.

      Apr 14, 2016 - Junior Trader in Tallahassee, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Joined Maverick upon completion of graduate school and wanted the freedom and flexibility of very low expenses and ability to live anywhere and trade. Really great group of traders who will mentor you, fun group of guys. The firm doesn't take commission splits from trades that traders place, which keeps your best interest in mind (profitability). Firm only generates profits if your overall account is profitable with placing trades. Which is very hard to find these days! There are no limits on how much capital traders can trade with and your not limited to placing a certain amount of trades and can essentially trade your own strategy, time-frames etc. Just from the trade alerts the company sends out, one can easily generate substantial returns.

      Cons

      From the beginning Maverick has continually developed and progressed in terms of trader support and ease in obtaining capital. Bright futures ahead for Maverick and its traders!

      Continue reading
      469 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best Prop firm out there right now

      Mar 6, 2017 - Options Trader in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been in and out of the prop industry for over 15 years now and most of the firms I used to know have either closed or merged with the others. I chose Maverick as they have basically run as an independent firm and taken care of their traders for the long term. They are very upfront with the costs of trading and are very available when you need them. Fast payout on profits only take 1 day.

      Cons

      TWS software isn't my favorite platform I've traded on but the costs of data feeds are 10% of what I paid on sterling and laser

      Continue reading
      303 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great group of people

      Jul 7, 2016 - Proprietary Trader in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was hired on to update some of their programming and customize some of their trading softwares after being a trader for them since 2012. I have been a trader for the mid 90's and have been around many trading firms over the years and some shops are cutthroat and set up for the firm while others are more like teams working together. Maverick is definitely set up as one of the latter which is why i stay

      Cons

      Some strategies are prohibited by management. It can be a little annoying but I also understand the firm's need for risk management as the prohibitive strategies mostly exclude naked option selling.

      Continue reading
      283 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company, great people

      Oct 4, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Outstanding organization. I have been with Maverick for approximately 3 years. Their training program is world class and the people are genuinely interested in your success. Trading stocks and futures is hard work. To be successful you need to understand the markets, utilize strategies that are effective in different market conditions, and then execute your trades when the market provides you with the opportunities. The folks at Maverick do that on a consistent basis and have taught me how to do it. One of the best organizations I have ever had the good fortune to be with.

      Cons

      none, absolutely no cons that I can think of

      Continue reading
      271 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      Jan 9, 2017 - Equity Trader in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Always available to their traders. I couldn't ask for a better place.

      Cons

      Absolutely very little to complain about here.

      266 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people and an amazing company!

      Jul 30, 2016 - Recruiter in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked for Maverick for several months now. My brother is one of the risk managers for the firm and helped me to get involved in trading and working for Maverick. Everyone here has been fantastic to work with and I am very happy to associate with people that value honesty and integrity. If you are interested in becoming a trader or gaining the necessary capital to reach your goals, joining Maverick will be the best decision you can make.

      Cons

      I haven't found anything to complain about yet, but I'll keep looking.

      Continue reading
      248 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      You need a team to succeed and Maverick provides it.

      Dec 2, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I traded on my own for nearly 10 years before I came to Maverick Trading and I've been with them for five years. I will never go back to trading on my own. The interaction, advice, and support that Maverick provides is invaluable and has saved me from making bad trades uncounted times. The firm treats trading as a profession, trains its traders as professionals, and expects its traders to act professionally. Maverick goes to great lengths to weed out the cowboy traders and poseurs in its recruiting process. The training program is top-notch and all-encompassing, from market fundamentals, through complex options, and on through advanced portfolio construction and management. All told, you're looking at about 150 hours of training. I don't recall having 150 hours of instruction on one topic throughout college. Their training essentially provides a graduate level syllabus in how to make money as a trader. I spent nearly a decade trying to trade on my own, trolling chat rooms, subscribing to newsletters, and following various talking heads. While you might achieve some minor success this way, it's not systematic and it definitely doesn't provide consistency. I essentially had 10 years of bad habits to unlearn and Maverick helped me step by step. The ongoing support the firm provides to its traders is first class as well. The bottom line is that if you need support, all you have to do is ask for it. Maverick's policy is that you should never feel like you're trading alone. Management is generous with their time, which is no mean feat. The coaching staff is comprised of successful traders who have been with the firm for multiple years (I'm not a coach). The coaches are recognized trading experts. Several times, my coach has brought me back down to earth when I've started to get too cocky in my trading. Traders share trading ideas among themselves as well, not only in the structure of the firm, but informally as well. Maverick is known as a supportive and collaborative firm for good reasons. The pathway to trading the firm's capital is laid out prior to joining the firm and is prudent and reasonable, for the trader and for the firm. Maverick stresses consistency in profits over constantly swinging for the fences. Methodical success and risk management are rewarded with more capital to trade. Payouts are prompt and without question, usually accompanied by congratulations. In all, being a part of Maverick Trading has elevated me to the ranks of professional traders. The ongoing support and community environment has gotten me through slumps and rough market conditions and I have been more profitable in the past five years than I was in the previous ten.

      Cons

      Finding a webinar solution for a firm as large as Maverick Trading is an issue.

      Continue reading
      219 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      TRADER

      Sep 14, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything! I love it alot!

      Cons

      Nothing once you are aboard then you are good!

      230 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 48 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Maverick Trading Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Maverick Trading? Share Your Experiences

    Maverick Trading logo
    or