MarketSource Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,202 of over 2,243 reviews

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
MarketSource President Rick Haviland (no image)
Rick Haviland
807 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule while being a student(in 120 reviews)

  • "flexible hours for when in school(in 100 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Part time only, they don’t offer full time positions(in 99 reviews)

  • "District Manager makes or breaks your team/area(in 67 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company. Freedom & Opportunity

      Mar 14, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tons of opportunities for growth in a diverse portfolio of clients. A company that cares about its employees and makes every attempt to make their jobs enjoyable.

      Cons

      Heavily tech-based and it's almost impossible to avoid the headaches that come along with technology that isn't cooperating. Sometimes it leads to a slowdown in productivity, being forced to use technology when it's not cooperating.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good benefits

      Sep 8, 2020 - Assistant Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Medical, Dental, and numerous discounts across multiple retailers. Stable and consistent workflow.

      Cons

      Really hard to move up and progress. Not the greatest towards employees. Stagnant feelings all the time while working here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      n

      Aug 20, 2020 - Marketing in Vaughan, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice place, great paid. you should try

      Cons

      but poor management, pls change this

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      My experience over a year at Marketsource

      Jul 25, 2010 - Event Sales in Mississauga, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Even the staff are treated like part of the team, and not just another resource. We were given lots of resources to use, such as promotional materials and giveaways, opportunities to provide feedback, and recognized for good work, all things that were not available in my experience with other similar firms.

      Cons

      Limited number of hours, but that was essentially the fault of the client, and not of Marketsource. Also, I did not get to see my boss except for a handful of times but that also comes with the territory.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Account Development Manager

      Jan 6, 2017 - Account Development Manager in Halifax, NS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Market Source is a huge company with unlimited resources and worldwide operations. Very inclusive and connected to teams in the field.

      Cons

      I was led to believe that the bonus portion of my compensation package was all but a foregone conclusion but in almost a year I have yet to receive even one quarterly bonus even though my territory has the highest numbers in all of Canada.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      interview questions

      Jul 16, 2016 - Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      friendly environment and team bonding

      Cons

      low pay and lssues of irate customer

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Poorly managed company with close to zero benefits for most employees.

      Jul 10, 2021 - Mobile Department Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There's nothing I can think of that's worth mentioning

      Cons

      - No overtime allowed - No paid holidays or vacation - No additional pay for working on weekends or national holidays - They have a highly restricted, low payout commission plan that's not conducive to "team selling", confusing, and more importantly, not very lucrative. - Job requires an extensive knowledge of several cellphone manufacturer's products, especially when it comes to trouble shooting and doing in-depth diagnostics. The general public (i.e.- customers) expect us to be "technical experts", however, MarketSource doesn't provide any training in this (rather frustrating and major time consuming) area of service. This is also never mentioned as a job skill requirement in their "Job Description" postings. - There's practically no growth path in existence for the employee. - The company-provided training is all done through a series of tedious video slides and mostly useless for the daily job functions. It's therefore mostly OTJ training. - MarketSource does not provide any funds for rewarding it's best performers and for team-building events. - Must use your own cellphone for all critical time-managing, team communicating and (some) training job functions, without any monetary compensation provided by MarketSource. - Most offered Medical benefits are over priced and not worth it. - Management positions itself as a powerless subservient to the (master) client, who in this case is Target. As a fallout of this, in some of the stores, the MarketSource employee's are not very respected and are occasionally poorly treated. - And, as one might expect. the employee turn-over rate is high.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      If you don’t care about your mental state

      Jul 28, 2021 - Recall Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay and work on your own. The schedule is okay. They pay well to keep people, and looking back, it would have been better to leave sooner than did to keep just because of they pay.

      Cons

      Management, supervisors, benefits are the worst of any company ever. Constant harassment and when a complaint is made about it, they just brush it under the rug. The harassment is the worst. The treatment from leads and management is awful. If you perform your numbers they leave you alone, but if 1 off, they hound you like it’s the end of the world and that you do not matter. They only care about the bottom line.$$$.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Job itself wasnt bad but the target environment was

      Jul 30, 2021 - Sales Representative in Ann Arbor, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      freedom communication skills growth sales skill growth good pay benefits

      Cons

      working with hostile and harrasing target employees Little guidance Understaffed can get boring rude customers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A good stepping stone but don't stay long

      Jul 19, 2021 - Recruiter in Alpharetta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a great team of people who really cared about each other and genuinely worked well together.

      Cons

      Management treated us like we were in high school. I got in trouble for being late a couple times (never more than 4 minutes). Other than that I was a stellar employee, exceeded my goal every week and got along well with everyone. My team manager was unnecessarily intimidating and tough on her team, and cursed at us in our morning huddles. When I expressed mental health issues she asked me to quit instead showing me empathy and a willingness to work with me while I came off an antidepressant.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,202 Reviews

    Work at MarketSource? Share Your Experiences

    MarketSource logo
    or