MHR Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
58%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
MHR Chief Executive Officer Anton Roe  (no image)
Anton Roe
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "There seems to be some disgruntled people who have left MHR for one reason or another(in 19 reviews)

  • "Really lovely offices and free parking(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some people aren't thrilled with the smart dress code(in 18 reviews)

  • "None that would prevent me from recommending MHR as an employer of choice (although perhaps public transport links could be better for the area)(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Be careful all that glitters"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at MHR full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people who work there look after you and try to get you through the initial horrors.

    Cons

    The training program is an initial 6-8 week schedule where you are taught the basics of the system you are then left to it until something goes wrong and then all hell to pay. The company made me feel worthless and incapable and after a period of absence from work caused by stress was then let go. I have no ill will towards MHR and I'm sure they will continue to make money but the attitude the senior/middle management have towards any one that questions them or their ideas is outdated at best. Its an old boys club at best.

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-03-31

    MHR Response

    April 2, 2020Social Manager

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at MHR. I'm sorry you didn't have a great experience during your time here. Related to your comments that MHR made you feel worthless we would like to look into this further with your help, please could you email: jeanette.wheeler@mhr.co.uk Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review and we wish you the best in your future endeavours

  2. "I've been employed at MHR for over 22 years"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    During my employment I've had exposure to many different technologies and software tools that have been used to produce marketable products - so life is always interesting at MHR. We work in teams for different projects so new starters get to know people quickly, and the work is split into manageable chunks called timeboxes. Team members may all have different particular skills so good communication is important. I've enjoyed my time here at MHR and have a lot of friends here. It helps if you have some common sense and are conscientious about what you do. Amongst other charity events - we recently raised £6k for Rainbows Children's Hospice (charity) with a week long sponsored cycle ride/mountain climb with all logistics funded by the company - brilliant. There are lots of opportunities here.

    Cons

    Car parking was difficult but construction of a multistorey car park is under way so that'll ease things a bit. Bike racks are limited with half under cover and half open air. Occasionally a manager will leave the company then they will reappear as a director a couple of years later, I guess if they are director quality now then they were before they left.

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-03-02
  3. "Good company to work for that is continuously improving"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Automation Test Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with some good people, well paid, new offices, onsite cafe, free parking and building more spaces. Company is expanding and continues to do well and is always looking to improve to make it a better place to work. If you work hard and show commitment you do get rewarded.

    Cons

    Dress code is a little old fashion.

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-03-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Career potential"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having worked for MHR for many years I have been given the opportunity and tools to develop both myself as an individual as well as my career with MHR. I have been supported through most levels of management - but have found that Directors, Chiefs and past and present CEO's have really been the driving force behind my success - both giving me the confidence, the challenges and chances to progress. I have found feedback and ideas listened to - yes they need to be constructive - and I am given the freedom to innovate within my team when and where required. The Company is quite clear and communicative in both its direction as a business, its financial status and how each individual can contribute. Annual Departmental and Company days further enhance this buy in that we are all aiming for the same goal. Business happily reinvests - whether it be in employee training, office facilities, car parking or equipment. I see many people leave and come back - MHR must have something going for it!

    Cons

    It's formal - personally that doesn't bother me. Quality of cafeteria food is pretty average. It can vary from department to department - my experiences are all generally positive within Engineering.

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-02-27
  5. Helpful (4)

    "A Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Empowering Environment where all opinions and ideas are listened to * Believe strongly in Learning and Development of people . * Credit always given for good work * Honesty and Integrity highly valued * Family environment, very welcoming * Really lovely offices and free parking * Subsidised restaurants with great food * Extremely talented and supportive colleagues * Culture of Innovation and Excellence

    Cons

    * Communication between departments has room for improvement. This has however been recognised and work is already being done to make improvements. * Can't really think of any further Cons tbh...

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-01-22
  6. Helpful (5)

    "The Ultimate in fear based management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free Parking - Financially stable business

    Cons

    - Fear culture - Bullying - Awful middle management - The “Human Resources" Department - Forced to dress like a Victorian at your own expense - Redundancies and sackings are commonplace

    MHR2020-03-03

    MHR Response

    March 13, 2020Social Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and pointing out the fact we are financially stable and offer free parking. Please feel free to email HR so we can discuss your comments further.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Agressive"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Nottingham, England

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They offer above average salary

    Cons

    Little respect for their employees

    MHR2020-02-05

    MHR Response

    February 14, 2020Social Manager

    Hi, Thank you for leaving a review. We would be interested to hear more of your feedback, please feel free to contact our HR director Jeanette.wheeler@mhr.co.uk

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Formal"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Administrator in Ruddington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free parking great colleagues to work with

    Cons

    Over worked Everyone is paid different salary - new starters join the company on a higher wage regardless if you have YEARS more experience then them

    MHR2020-01-27
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Watch your back with senior management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High salary, onsite parking, nice offices, friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Watch your back. New senior management telling the managers to put someone on an improvement plan but make sure they are given something to fail on. Despicable behaviour for a company connected to the HR industry

    MHR2020-02-20

    MHR Response

    February 28, 2020Social Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and pointing out just some of the employee benefits of which we're very proud. However, we also believe that rather than being listed as a con, the provisions of both personal improvement plans and personal development plans are an additional benefit and show our desire and support to develop and enhance our employees' skills throughout their careers.

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Don't make the mistake I did by working for MHR"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big office space on grounds

    Cons

    No coffee or tea making facilities (have to buy it basically) No kitchen facilities (e.g. fridges or microwaves) Very hierarchical Ruthless with staff - if they have less than 2 years experience, will simply fire them as they know the employee can't raise an employee tribunal (this happened to me and it coincidently happened at the end of the year where they were cost saving) Developers wear suits (which is crazy as they aren't even customer facing) No way of innovating their products (simply just want to put a new 'skin' on it They don't accept reviews - they report it to glassdoor, I know 5 people that had their review taken down over the last year If the ' exective board' take a disliking to you - you won't be there long

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-02-06

    MHR Response

    February 14, 2020Social Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Here at MHR we're proud of our heavily subsidised onsite restaurants and our professional image. On Glassdoor as a business, you cannot simply remove reviews unless they violate glassdoors review policy: https://help.glassdoor.com/article/Community-Guidelines/en_US

Found 150 reviews
</>Embed