Knak Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Knak CEO Pierce Ujjainwalla (no image)
Pierce Ujjainwalla
9 Ratings
  1. "Best Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knak full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I made the scary choice to leave my previous company and soon after came across Knak at the perfect time. The CEO is the kindest CEO I have ever worked for and everyone on the team is a rockstar. Knak has an awesome set of core values that the entire team sticks to and actually implements every single day. Every time I come to work the entire team is working so hard, there are smiles on their faces and they are genuinely happy to be there, as am I. I felt more at home and comfortable with this team after the first week than I have after years at previous companies. Everyone is super helpful and so friendly and I am so happy to be a part of this amazing team. Can't wait to see what the future holds for this company and I plan to be a part of it for as long as possible!

    Cons

    There are coffee drinkers on the team. I prefer tea myself. (I won't hold it against them...they are still fantastic people).

    Continue reading
    Knak2020-05-19
  2. "Fantastic Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knak full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Innovative technology Fantastic team Trust first Flexible schedule Weekly happy hours Company vision

    Cons

    Some team members like their coffee too strong, thought it was a little odd

    Continue reading
    Knak2020-05-15
  3. "The best company I ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Whistler, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knak full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team is full of rockstars. Everyone from Management down is passionate, driven, knowledgeable and good at their job. Very positive and supportive culture in which learning, development and a good work/life balance are encouraged.

    Cons

    Honestly pretty hard to fault, I've never worked somewhere where I'm so excited to come to work each day. The company is growing rapidly so there's always a lot to be done and things change quickly. It's exciting but you have to be able to adapt fast.

    Continue reading
    Knak2020-02-06
  4. "Best Professional Decision I've Made"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Controller in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knak full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the core values at Knak is "Stay Curious". It is truly embedded everywhere in the culture. Everyone is always learning which makes it a truly empowering place to work and grow. I have honestly learned more in my 5 months at Knak than I had in my prior five years of work and I don't see that trend stopping. The team here is positive, encouraging, and very high on the "Get-Sh*t-Done" scale. With the business being a bootstrapped start-up there's never any shortage of tasks to do, but we collectively work through it at an astounding pace. Despite there being a huge amount to do, the healthy work-life balance is actively encouraged and everyone shuts down at 5PM which has allowed me to keep putting a lot of time into my own personal interests and hobbies. This is a huge change in culture from my last job.

    Cons

    As I mentioned, Knak never has any shortage of things to do, and as such there's isn't much time for hand-held training, though this is not to say that you can't ask for support or help. Depending on your personality and what you're looking for, this can be really intimidating, or truly liberating. With that lack of hand-held training, there is an encouraged culture of self-driven learning. If you need to know how to do it, go learn it. Even though I write this as a con, I think this has actually been one of my favourite pieces of working at Knak is the liberty to learn skills as I see them necessary.

    Continue reading
    Knak2020-02-06
  5. "Phenomenal Place To Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knak full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone who works at Knak is so talented! Management does a fantastic job of making us aware of their vision, and what their plans are to get us to the next level. The product is fantastic and continually evolving – it is so refreshing to work on a product that our customers love due to its innovation and ease of use. We are a team with big goals! Because we are still relatively a small team, everyone has an opportunity to work in different areas of the business that they normally wouldn’t be exposed to if they for example, worked in a larger organization. Management actively encourages and organizes brainstorming sessions where everyone gets to share their ideas. I feel like every option is considered, regardless of who it comes from. When product releases happen, we all have an opportunity to test drive and offer feedback, reinforcing the idea that everyone is responsible for the success of the company. Working from home is an option that is always available to us – another sign of the total trust the management team places in their employees.

    Cons

    So much to do and so little time - there are just not hours in a day but time really does fly when you're having fun!

    Continue reading
    Knak2020-02-06
  6. "Great company and amazing culture! I love coming to work every day."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knak full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coming from a large company, I was a bit nervous about making the switch to a small startup. Turns out, it's been one of the best decisions I've ever made! I LOVE working here. Every day brings an exciting new challenge, with lots of opportunity for growth and learning. I'm genuinely excited to come to work every day.

    Cons

    None, other than our team is so awesome that I wish we could connect in person more often (many work remotely).

    Knak2020-02-06
  7. "I love being a part of the team here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Technology Officer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knak full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working at Knak; the team is like a family to me. Everyone is really talented at what they do and has a really positive attitude. Pierce, the owner/CEO, is a great guy and really wants the best for everyone in the company. Everyone is really supportive and works together to advance our product and it shows since we've been growing like crazy for the past couple of years. I feel like we're at the forefront of our industry so we're pushing the envelope all the time. Our clients love us and give us great feedback and direction. Overall, I love that everyone in the company can make an impact and is given the freedom to make a difference in the direction of the company.

    Cons

    Though work-life balance is really important at Knak (nobody is expected to put in more than their 40 hours), there is a lot of stuff we want to get done and the environment can be a little higher pressure than at some other jobs. Also, a lot of the work is done remotely which has huge benefits, but for some who might be more social, not seeing people every day could be a negative (more-so on with developers since many are scattered across Canada).

    Knak2020-01-13
  8. "I'm excited to go to work every morning."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Founder in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Knak full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I believe that our people are the biggest pro of working at Knak. There is a contagious energy about what we do and we try and surround ourselves with people with a positive, get it done attitude. We are all deeply committed to our company mission of changing the way marketers build emails in their companies and want to build a platform to help them unlock their creativity. We get to work with some of the largest companies in the world as our customers, with other passionate professionals and help them solve a real problem they are facing. It's fast paced, every day is different and everyone is always learning something new.

    Cons

    As a bootstrapped startup it means that there is a lot of change, and endless amount of work to be done and new challenges and opportunities around every corner. It's a roller coaster. Not for everyone, but hard to beat for the right person.

    Knak2019-08-01
  9. "Best Company I've Ever Worked For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Sales Operations in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knak full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic team, fast-paced startup, great culture. Innovative in the industry and growing fast! I LOVE working for Knak. I feel more invested then I ever have in any previous jobs. They understand work life balance and do their best to assist you with career growth and doing what you love.

    Cons

    I work remote, which I LOVE. However, that comes with it's own challenges. You have to be a problem solver and have a Get SH&% Done attitude. The main communication in the company is online, so there is no hiding behind your desk. You have to engage and produce. LOVE that. Have to be disciplined to know when to turn off.

    Continue reading
    Knak2019-07-30
  10. "Amazing Team to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Whistler, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knak full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a huge amount of trust between employees, everyone has faith in each others ability. It is an exciting product to work on, we are an agile team that is focused on fast progression. It is the most open company I have ever worked at with everyone having a say in the direction of the company. Excellent opportunities to learn and progress with such supportive management. Full remote work with opportunities to meet up at conferences and on site. Great benefits and hardware provided to allow me to work at my best.

    Cons

    The only downside is not getting to see everyone more often due to being remote.

    Continue reading
    Knak2019-07-31
Found 11 reviews
</>Embed