Jumpfactor Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Jumpfactor Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Jumpfactor CEO Zamir Javer (no image)
Zamir Javer
20 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Joined for a Job. Left with a Career. Love You, Jumpfactor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Content Marketer in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jumpfactor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -I started in March 2018 as just another writer looking for a job. But 18 months later, I left Jumpfactor as a seasoned Content Marketer with marketable skills in areas that I didn't even imagine learning when I joined, such as sales copywriting, SEO, conversion optimization, etc. -I don't know if it's Zamir's eye for promising (yet grossly underrated) talent, or if we're all just a bunch of ambitious misfits,... but JF has been the *only* workplace in my experience that takes a chance on people with 'unconventional' professional backgrounds. You don't need a degree and 2-3 years of professional experience to get a shot here; rather, show initiative with a personal pet project, or willingness to learn marketable skills (especially if they're outside of your comfort zone) and you'll get an interview for sure. -Not only did I benefit from paid training (a $500 USD sales copywriting course, 100% subsidized by JF) and mentorship from JF's Management team, but I was given tons and tons of patience as I weaved through my mistakes. Where other small companies will want to cut you loose, JF will try pulling you to your potential, even on its dime (so long as you put in the effort). -Yes, there were some stressful times, but that's natural in a working environment that prioritizes profitability. There's NO coasting here, and JF will flip any idle/free time you have *during work hours* with, guess what, "work"!? -No matter how much you have to learn, or how long it takes you to figure it out, the moment you submit your first task, you're a valued team member. And as you grow, JF will do everything in its ability to retain you. Of course, it can't work out all the time, but if you're an earnest person dedicated to putting out good work, the entire JF team -- from top to bottom -- will value you.

    Show More

    Cons

    --There's definitely stress time-to-time. There's net-growth in terms of clients and billings every month it seems, so keeping pace with our deliverables is tough. On the other hand, that speaks to the fact that JF is both adding and retaining happy clients, hence why it's always in a hiring state (at least since I've been there). --Management can get a tad too enthusiastic about personal and company growth,... which might inadvertently lead to a spike in workloads and stress. However, the key is to be transparent and speak to your supervisors. Just tell them of what you can handle and they'll accommodate. --The office coffee machine runs out too quickly (and at inopportune times).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    --You gave me a chance when no one else did, and I'm forever grateful, especially as the skills and experience I got helped me build a great career. So please -- PLEASE -- keep looking for diamonds in the rough; believe in the drive, keenness, and potential of people, not just the "years of experience" or degrees.

    Jumpfactor2019-08-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "THE place for dedicated digital marketing professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager Digital Marketing in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jumpfactor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - I personally love the constant focus on learning and improving digital marketing strategies and tactics. The team is tight-knit and entirely results focused. | - Personal opinions and beliefs NEVER trump actual data and results, we always plan, test, validate, deploy, review, and repeat. I've learned so much after just a few years that I easily trump experts that are several decades my senior, and I even go... back to my old University to share new best practices and tactics with people who once taught me. | - Easy opportunities for growth if you're dedicated and drive results. I've been promoted twice in two years and now manage several accounts and a team. I started in an entry level position, so if you're someone who can be dedicated, you can grow very quickly in a short time. | - Awesome company investments in the team. We always have company outings (like Archery Tag or Escape Rooms), company wide learning days and hackathons, lunch brought into the office, after hours parties, this list can go on and on. Spend a few months here and you easily fall into a tight-knit team. | - EVERYONE on the team is a top-tier committed expert in their field - from design to SEO to content to strategy etc. I'm surrounded by people who all know more than me in their space, and we work together to drive kick-ass results. I'm constantly learning from the team, and nobody thinks twice about lending a hand where needed. This is the best team I've worked with. | - There's no playing favorites or ridiculous hierarchy here. Everyone is encouraged to speak their mind - we call it radical transparency. You're encouraged to push back, share your thoughts, and take ownership. Everything is based on results, the way it should be in every business. | - AMAZING clients. I've worked with the same clients for years now. The retention rates are like nothing I've seen before. We become friends and partners with our clients, and we work with some of the best B2B companies in the world. | - Casual environment. Everyone here is at the top of their game. This isn't a place where a 3-piece suit buys you favorite points with the CEO. The team is comfortable and very open and honest. There's no playing politics. We all trust each-other, the managers have an open-door policy, people bring their dogs to the office, the space is open-concept, I love it.

    Show More

    Cons

    - (for me personally) the drive. I live in Mississauga so getting to North York can sometimes be a bit of a trek. It's a small price to pay to get to work with such a great team, plus the regular work-from-home days make this a minor thing. | - This is not a laid-back do-nothing type of job. Only apply here is you're someone who is passionate and has a drive for fast past, results-based digital marketing. You... constantly need to be learning and up-skilling yourself to ensure our clients stay ahead of their competition. If you're looking for laid-back work and 3-hour lunch breaks, this isn't the one for you. | - Deadline crunches. A few times a year you might have several really important campaigns for several clients all starting around the same time, and you'll need to put in extra time to make sure things run smoothly. However, if you're planning and working with your team correctly, you can avoid these situations. | - You'll need to sometimes deal with difficult clients (i guess this is a fact of life at any job). If you set expectations and drive results, this is almost never an issue, but it can happen.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Keep up the investment in the team and culture. I never want to slip into corporate mediocrity. Always focus on keeping the values aligned and a top priority. | - Would love to play a bigger role in the local community like doing volunteering as part of team events once in a while. | - Would love to start trying internship positions where we can teach and up-skill students and improve the availability of... skilled digital talent in Toronto - the Universities are too far behind the curve on digital strategy education.

    Show More
    Jumpfactor2019-08-24
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Strong Team, Great Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jumpfactor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team at Jumpfactor is extremely strong. Every person will have something valuable to teach you. I gained an immense amount of knowledge working here in just one year, and built a large portfolio of work with different clients, and projects. My managers trusted in me to be able to lead many design projects, and because of this I had a chance to get very creative with the work that I did. Jumpfactor keeps up... with the latest applications and technologies, and is constantly looking to improve their processes. Feedback on improving processes and efficiency is very appreciated, and always acted upon. Everyone is very open to hearing your opinions, and you are able to be transparent with everyone at the company. Contribution in client campaigns is encouraged, and there's weekly meetings to not only teach the team about clients and their industries, but also get everyone's feedback. I was promoted within the first year and was able to take on leadership responsibilities, including training new designers on the team, and leading L10 Delivery meetings. The people at Jumpfactor is what makes the culture here. Everyone gets along, and the CEO does a great job hiring people that fit in with the culture. I had lots of great laughs, learning experiences, and made a lot of friends in my time at Jumpfactor.

    Show More

    Cons

    The work is definitely fast paced, but working in Agile really helps prioritize tasks and make sure people aren't overworked.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the biweekly 1on1's with managers. Consistent feedback is a huge contributor to the team's growth.

    Jumpfactor2019-08-23
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Hectic and Poorly Managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Writer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jumpfactor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great team - Great culture - Birthday cake - Ping Pong Table

    Cons

    - Terrible management (get ready to be micromanaged) - Nonexistent work-life balance (you are expected to stay after 5 PM and work late hours) - Wages are under average (salaries in job descriptions do not reflect the reality) - Not much space for professional growth - Very high employee turnover rate (employees work for a few months and leave) - Fake reviews on Glassdoor (CEO encourages employees to write 5... star reviews)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better

    Jumpfactor2019-08-19
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Dream environment for passionate marketers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Digital Marketing Strategist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jumpfactor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very strong core values that encourage radical transparency. There are no politics. No hidden subtexts. No playing favourites. Just your proposals and your evidence, in a free market of ideas. A dream environment for a data-driven marketer - Leadership that listens to concerns, iterates frequently on process, and actively benchmarks team happiness and satisfaction. In short -- leadership that holds themselves... accountable. - Never-ending opportunities for growth and career development -- if you're willing to work for them - Learning sessions several times a month from team members who are passionate about the topics they're presenting on. - Frequent paid outings that feel like hangouts with your closest friends. We've done paint nights (with food and alcohol!), axe throwing (with food and alcohol!), escape rooms (with food and alcohol!), etc. - On that note, our clients stay with us for a looong time. Our client retention is unheard of, and that speaks volumes about the agency's capabilities, values, and leadership. - The agency is constantly rolling out new tactics, improving processes, and trying new things. You won't find a better environment to learn and immerse yourself in the latest and greatest of digital.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Expectations are quite high (but not unrealistic). - There's no hiding laziness here. Because of radical transparency and a focus on incremental improvement, this is not a place to "coast by" and chill. If you're looking for a typical 9 - 5 where you can come late, leave early, and spend half the day on Reddit -- this job WILL NOT BE FOR YOU. Only apply if you want to put in the effort to improve yourself and... your career prospects.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - I'd love to see our logo up on the reception wall. I know it's coming -- but it can't get here soon enough. I want to take some photos for my LinkedIn page :P - More frequent VTO updates and reviews would be helpful to maintain a north heading on everyone's compass. We can sometimes get lost in the weeds of day-to-day activity, forgetting the fundamental "why" of major initiatives.

    Jumpfactor2019-03-23
  6. Helpful (4)

    "strong team, happy clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Strategist in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jumpfactor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easily the best team I've had the opportunity to work with. A lot of long tenured clients going back as far as 8+ years . NPS scores from clients consistently 9+/10 with several referrals coming in. I've seen increasing levels of training coming in to the team which is great. And we've built a pretty cool culture of transparency and trust (shout out to Ray Dalio!) Not for talkers /complainers --the team has... a lot of very driven individuals who want growth and take action.

    Show More

    Cons

    if you're not comfortable being called out on your ideas or statements or stating what you think clearly, this may not be a place you'll be happy at. If you thrive on challenge and debate and growth then you'll like it.

    Advice to Management

    looks like we are ramping up our marketing this year which is great to be a part of - keep it up (I'm excited to take part in the video series !)

    Jumpfactor2019-03-28
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Writer in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jumpfactor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredible team and learning on many different accounts. Mentoring from team leads and CEO is a bonus. Great culture and major focus on improving things - even small things from the food ordered for the team to the improvements in training. I love that there were constant surveys to get feedback from the team. I found the company has higher end clients as compared to typical agencies . Many of them seem to be... high growth firms. I think this is also what has helped the company to got listed on the Growth500. I made a major career/life change after several years at the firm, but was promoted twice while there. Many of my peers have become team leads and managers now.

    Show More

    Cons

    some clients are in complex industries - takes some time to learn their business

    Advice to Management

    keep building the amazing talented team.

    Jumpfactor2019-03-23
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great growth opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jumpfactor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tonnes of learning from an amazing team of high caliber digital marketers. You're surrounded by people who keep learning and sharing ideas. Everyone is looking to improve and become the best at their craft. The team has clearly been brought together based on very specific criteria. Strong structured system of execution for clients. I can see that clients get a lot of value from the team and there's a high trust... factor among the team.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lot of systems and technology used. If you're not comfortable learning new platforms and keeping up, you'd probably find it a bit overwhelming.

    Advice to Management

    Continue promoting team members and investing in training . It's working.

    Jumpfactor2019-03-14
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jumpfactor full-time

    Pros

    The people make the company, though the length they stay is typically under a year.

    Cons

    You will be promised whatever you want to hear to entice you to join the company, only to find that you will not receive these opportunities, nor will they ever be brought up again once you start working. The same goes for bonuses / pay incentives. Good luck getting a chance to go over your performance with the CEO. Speaking of which, the CEO is very ambitious which is admirable but initiatives will be rolled... out at the expense of employee functionality. No other proper management is in place. While I have made some great friends through the company, I'm sad that most if not all have left. Turnover is high, hours are long, and job satisfaction at the company is at an all time low. Any positivity is only maintained by a handful of faithful employees who still believe in this company's direction despite there being none.

    Show More
    Jumpfactor2019-02-25
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Company Built on Empty Promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jumpfactor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone's birthday is acknowledged with cake.

    Cons

    As a warning to anyone coming across these reviews, the positive ones are very clearly either written or encouraged by the CEO and are not in the least bit accurate. Anything promised to prospective or even current employees should be marked with an asterisk as there is always an excuse or plain disregard for why these set expectations never come to fruition. The foundation of this company has been built on empty... promises (given to employees and clients alike) forcing valuable team members to seek other opportunities in healthier work environments. Employee happiness and work-life balance are almost non-existent. Because of the high turnover, all employees are overloaded with work and often have to put in 10+ hour days just to stay afloat. A previous review mentions that "client retention is unheard of" however most clients are constantly threatening to cancel their contracts causing last-minute panic-sessions to produce some sort of deliverable, no matter how insignificant, trying to persuade them to stay on. Getting a meeting with the CEO is nearly impossible so quarterly reviews and any bonus income that is supposed to be based on said reviews never happen. Not to mention, this "radical transparency" is only practiced in one direction. Any suggestions for how the company may improve fall on deaf ears when they come from employees and not "management" - ie. the CEO.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach.

    Jumpfactor2019-03-25
Found 26 reviews