IXL Learning Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

IXL Learning Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
IXL Learning CEO Paul Mishkin
Paul Mishkin
123 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management refuses to listen to employees(in 14 reviews)

  • "No free lunch might be the only one(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Curriculum Designer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IXL Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoy working at IXL because there are high expectations for the quality of work here. I also feel very supported and trusted in my role.

    Cons

    Most of the work in my role is independent, which can be hard when making decisions.

    IXL Learning2019-08-28

    IXL Learning Response

    September 3, 2019VP HR

    Thanks for your feedback! I appreciate the balance of positive and constructive feedback on the organization and your role.

    Continue reading
  2. "Leadership/Systems Problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time

    Pros

    There are kind hard-working co-workers.

    Cons

    There is a lack of organization/communication from leadership and low morale/bad work culture.

    IXL Learning2020-02-13
  3. "Don't kid yourself - senior leadership does not care about you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A wildly profitable company with a useful product for teachers and students, at this point in the landscape of educational technology.

    Cons

    Smug leadership that is detached from a sense of humanity. They will fire you based on a whim, spite, or if you challenge their arrogant organizational goals. Then they will make your severance contingent on signing a non-disparagement agreement. Don't work here. You can do better for yourself and educators.

    Continue reading
    IXL Learning2020-02-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed feeling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Most coworkers are smart, dedicated in ed-tech. You'll be around with a lot of nice people. 2. Good work life balance and benefits. 3. Young and energetic team, lots of new grads from top schools.

    Cons

    1. Decisions are extremely top-down. Not only business direction, but also product features and details have to be approved by COO and CEO, product managers sometimes have little power upon decisions. 2. Below average compensation. 3. Unclear career ladder and promotion. 4. As others have mentioned, it's not a stable environment. Business decisions lead to frequent team re-organization and lay-off since mid 2018, people leaving all the time. Very high retention rate. Sales VP departed, COO commented in the email -- "get away with any obstacle and inefficiency toward our goal". (The goal is to reach 1 in 2 students in US by 2025, while it's 1 in 8 in 2019)

    Continue reading
    IXL Learning2020-01-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible company that does not care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free parking and sparkling water

    Cons

    Management team and especially senior management team really does not care about employee growth; employees are scared to speak up as new ideas are not welcomed; democracy is not welcomed; engineering team uses outdated tools and processes...

    Continue reading
    IXL Learning2020-02-01
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Like others have said, don't get comfortable. Use as a stepping-stone only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -They are always hiring (why would that be?)

    Cons

    -Constant layoffs and reorganization (at least 3 mass layoffs and subsequent reorganizations in just over 1 year). Why the need to keep reinventing the work flow when this company has been around and 'successful' for so long? Why the elimination of entire departments, yet constantly hiring? They have 10x or more the number of engineers and project managers to the number of support personnel, when it should be much closer to 1:1. -Acquiring new companies while implementing layoffs. Over the past year at least two educational companies were acquired, and yet there were more mass layoffs and department 'reorganizations'. That does not instill the slightest bit of confidence in job security. -Supposed benefits until you need them: 'Unlimited PTO', freedom to work from home, raising questions to management are touted when hiring but then discouraged once actually working there. -Managers who clearly are not effective or interested in anything other than the company line. In addition, some who have 'fallen up' into their position and achieved it only through being the last one available to promote (most if not all of the best ones have moved on or laid off). -Cliques and favoritism, in every department. For how much they preach equality and shared work there clearly is not. Managers have their favorites and it quickly becomes apparent there are different rules for them. -Observations, complaints, suggestions, any input falls on deaf ears. So many meetings yet so little accomplished. What is the point of them if nothing gets done? The changes all come from upper management, and the middle managers do nothing but rubber stamp and nod their heads.

    Continue reading
    IXL Learning2020-01-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Nice place to work for a while"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Membership Specialist in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IXL Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual dress, good supervisor who values your opinions/feelings, friendly co-workers, GREAT health insurance coverage/health benefits, good PTO, convenient location, good technology.

    Cons

    Customers can be stressful to deal with, some favoritism, little room to grow, pay raises are not fairly distributed.

    IXL Learning2019-12-02
  8. "Great Work Environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IXL Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits, work life balance/flexibility, and friendly co-workers - The company has a clear and exciting vision to make a difference in education

    Cons

    Though more free food is always a good thing, I appreciate how the company has been providing a great selection of free beverages and fruits.

    IXL Learning2019-11-07

    IXL Learning Response

    December 5, 2019VP HR

    Hi. Thanks for the feedback! We introduced our healthy fruit delivery as part of our 2019 wellness campaign and plan to continue in 2020! Our HR team has an open door and we welcome your comments and feedback any time!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "It's all about the managers..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at IXL Learning full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was lucky to have worked with some of the smartest, hard-working, professional and dedicated group of people I have ever been around.

    Cons

    Most of the people mentioned in pros are gone. Likely because the company didn't care enough to keep them. Having my benefits change while my fellow employees remained the same. My one-on-ones were more status reports than career growth. Having a manager that couldn't perform my job.

    Continue reading
    IXL Learning2019-12-04

    IXL Learning Response

    December 5, 2019VP HR

    Hi. In answer to your question regarding working harder to retain our employees, both managers and non-managers, I'd say we are doing just that. We've initiated more frequent company updates in order to keep lines of communication open, recently completed a company-wide rollout of our organizational goals & product vision in order to improve transparency and line of sight and we are about to kick off a new service recognition program at our annual holiday party tonight! I'm sorry that you won't be here to see it. I am curious about your benefit comment under 'cons'. If you feel so inclined please do reach out to me as I'd like to understand more, it doesn't sound like anything we've implemented and wonder if there was a miscommunication along the line? Thanks for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at IXL Learning full-time

    Pros

    Company continues to grow each year

    Cons

    No Employee growth opportunity and low compensation

    IXL Learning2019-10-25

    IXL Learning Response

    December 5, 2019VP HR

    Yes, we do continue to grow and with our growth, there is opportunity for our employees. We recently started posting all openings on our internal slack channels so employees are aware and just this week I hosted a career development workshop for some of our engineering managers in order to better facilitate career conversations. There were some great examples in the room from our engineers who took advantage of opportunities, asked for more and have grown their careers at IXL.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 185 reviews