Harry Rosen Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Harry Rosen Reviews

Updated Mar 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Harry Rosen  Chairman & CEO Larry Rosen
Larry Rosen
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, very hands on management, access to luxury clothing(in 8 reviews)

  • "Are lower to mid tier payers, have strong benefits package and employee discount(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Extremely numbers driven, little concern given to work life balance despite it appearing that way on the surface(in 6 reviews)

  • "You will work long hours and rarely have a weekend day off(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work, the Merchandiser Manager cares for employees' wellbeing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harry Rosen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly coworkers - Workload is not demanding - My manager is very understanding and cares a lot for his subordinates. - Benefits are ok.

    Cons

    - Not all managers and employees are friendly, some can really give you a headache.

    Continue reading
    Harry Rosen2020-01-19

    Harry Rosen Response

    January 20, 2020

    Thank you for the terrific feedback. It looks as though there is a lot to appreciate as an Associate in the Sherway Gardens store. I'm sorry to hear though that your experiences with your colleagues are not universally positive. If anyone's behavior is unprofessional or not aligned with our standards then please ensure that your coach and/or the GM is advised. Thanks once again for taking the time to record your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  2. "No Coaching from your coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clothing Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Harry Rosen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefit , great clothing discounts

    Cons

    Management not on the same page, managers don't know how to train staff

    Continue reading
    Harry Rosen2020-03-06

    Harry Rosen Response

    March 10, 2020

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. As an organization we pride ourselves on the high quality training and individual coaching that we provide to all of our team members. We know however that there are rare occasions when Associates and their leaders don't align well and when we become aware of those situations we take steps to re-arrange our coaching trees to address the situation. It isn't clear from your posting if you shared your dissatisfaction. I encourage you to provide more detailed information on your Exit Interview to allow us to ensure that these types of situations don't recur. Thanks once again for reaching out.

    Continue reading
  3. "No Sell - No Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harry Rosen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Don't see much except some individuals that stand out of the crowd!

    Cons

    Full commission - Real struggle during quiet season Poor Management - Promote between each other Shark environment - have to show up on your day off to secure sales!

    Continue reading
    Harry Rosen2020-03-05

    Harry Rosen Response

    March 10, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. Clothing Advisors working for Harry Rosen are provided with base pay plus commission. Associates do however earn more based on how much they sell. Our best Associates make good use of the 'quiet' periods to reach out to their clients, set up personal shopping appointments or to send them links to encourage those who choose not to come into the store to instead shop on-line. We're one of the few retailers who pay commission to Clothing Advisors when their customers shop with us regardless of whether that sales transaction occurs in-store or on-line.

    Continue reading
  4. "Garbage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Coquitlam, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Harry Rosen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are friendly and store is clean

    Cons

    Bad manager, no work life balance

    Continue reading
    Harry Rosen2020-03-15
  5. "Canadian company with long history"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Brand Specialist 

    I have been working at Harry Rosen full-time

    Pros

    Great discount for products. Friendly Management.

    Cons

    Not getting paid a lot. No overtime pay.

    Harry Rosen2020-02-11

    Harry Rosen Response

    March 4, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your comments. Harry Rosen is definitely a pay for performance organization and therefore the more productive you are, the more money you'll make. Some Associates need a little bit more time than others to develop a clientele and grow their business. Once that happens our Team members can boast income levels among the best in our industry. You mention that you're still quite new to the organization. We encourage you to reach out to your coach for additional guidance on how to build your productivity (and your earnings). Best wishes!

    Continue reading
  6. "They Work you hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VSA Or Harry Helper in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at Harry Rosen part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    50% employee discount Meet great people Women packages- discounted designer clothes for female employees

    Cons

    They work you hard as VSA your at the bottom of the heiarchy Some employees treat you bad depending on where you work because of your title Some time customs are so snobby like employees and act entitled

    Continue reading
    Harry Rosen2020-01-11

    Harry Rosen Response

    January 13, 2020

    We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We're thrilled to hear that you've had the opportunity to take advantage of both our generous in-store and Womenswear discount programs. We're not aware of any other menswear retailer that is as 'female friendly' as we are. Like you, many Associates tell us about the great people they have the opportunity to meet in our environment so hopefully, the positive interactions you've had with both staff and customers outnumber any negative ones. Thanks for sharing and for being a long term member of our team. We really appreciate your commitment.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Need to be more modern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Department Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harry Rosen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Goos Benefits, really good managers in my store, obviously not all the stores have good managers. Good training.

    Cons

    Associates fighting over sales and customers everyday, long hours.

    Continue reading
    Harry Rosen2020-01-08

    Harry Rosen Response

    January 13, 2020

    Thank you for your comments. We recognize and appreciate that a successful store requires the efforts of a large team of people and that everyone's contribution counts. This is one of the primary reasons why we implemented a team based bonus last year that provides all team members with a financial reward when store budget is achieved for the month and/or for the year. We're proud to say that a number of store locations earned this bonus in 2019. In addition to the team bonus, we participate in salary surveys for our non-selling store staff each year. Based on the results of these surveys, we are confident that pay rates for team members are competitive with other retail organizations. With regard to your comments about communication, we do have an Open Door Policy and welcome store feedback through pulse surveys and store visits but recognize that there is always room for improvement. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harry Rosen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of freedom Good benefits Great clientele

    Cons

    Greedy environment Mixed bag of coworkers Incompetent employees

    Harry Rosen2019-12-19

    Harry Rosen Response

    December 23, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. As you say, Harry Rosen is known across the retail industry for the quality of our benefits programs. In addition, once fully trained, we respect our staff members by allowing them the freedom to deliver on the expectations of their role without ongoing follow-up. We like to think that everyone on our team is a positive and collaborative contributor. If you're finding this isn't consistently the case in the store where you work then I strongly encourage you to share your thoughts with your Coach or with the GM of the Store. Our leaders are always looking to understand what we can do differently or better and feedback like this is critical to ensuring that we deliver on this objective. Thanks once again for reaching out.

    Continue reading
  9. "Toxic culture, terrible management, nonexistent career development opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harry Rosen full-time

    Pros

    High quality products, clean environment

    Cons

    They use very flowery language to describe management positions to attract younger people, but really it's an underpaid 10-hour shift sales job with an impossible sales quota, in a declining industry. Your job will be not explained to you clearly as it is in their best interest to have you stay for as long as they can, to generate sales. This is a top-down business where you are expected to measure career development by counting the number of decades worked on the sales floor. Despite being in management, your managers will ensure to keep you locked into a position since they also have not advanced in their careers in the past 10 years. Not worth anyone's time.

    Harry Rosen2020-01-18

    Harry Rosen Response

    January 20, 2020

    We appreciate you sharing this information. Contrary to what you describe, the vast majority of leadership positions across our chain right up to the Executive level have been filled through internal promotions. With regard to your comments, we don't apologize for the fact that we are a sales driven organization. We promote team members who embrace our training, demonstrate a passion for luxury, are customer focused and understand the value of reaching out to clients in multiple ways including in-store, on-line and through curation services. We recognize that our standards are high and that we're not for everyone. We're sorry to hear that evidently you had a difficult experience and encourage you to participate in our Exit Interview process to provide feedback more specific to your location/situation. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  10. "Working at Rosen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - General Manager 

    I have been working at Harry Rosen full-time

    Pros

    Career advancment opportunities are strong.

    Cons

    Pay is not top of market

    Harry Rosen2019-11-28

    Harry Rosen Response

    December 2, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. You're absolutely correct - it is our preference to promote from within and we have countless examples of Associates in the company who have enjoyed long careers with us in a variety of different roles. We are also an organization that pays based on performance. The more productive you are, the more you can expect to earn. Given this we have many Associates earning at the top end of the market for the positions that they hold.

    Continue reading
Found 96 reviews