HMSHost Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

HMSHost Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1060 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
HMSHost CEO Steve Johnson
Steve Johnson
229 Ratings
Pros
  • "Airport locations are reall busy(in 77 reviews)

  • "Free lunch and you usually work with friendly employees at the airport in different locations(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "going through security at the airport(in 49 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of support from upper management(in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I have been working at HMS host for 6 months and i like the work and people are nice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HMSHost full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment and Good work culture..

    Cons

    Need system update for the payment.

    HMSHost2019-06-18
  2. "Worst Job I've had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HMSHost full-time

    Pros

    If you like working all the time without getting breaks sometimes than you may like this job.

    Cons

    Worst Job I've ever had. Managers are terrible and don't care about the people but just care about having someone to do the work. Sometimes you don't even get breaks.

    HMSHost2019-07-18
  3. "Thankful we were bought by someone else and our quality of life will improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member in Mallorytown Landing, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HMSHost full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good meal plan Decent benefits

    Cons

    Always problems with holiday pay No room for improvement or advancement

    Advice to Management

    My only problem with Management is that they pick favourites. If you’re not the favourite you’re constantly getting screamed at. The problems are with HMShost making us cut our hours and not wanting to do anything good for the hard working employees.

    HMSHost2019-05-27
  4. "HMS host management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at HMSHost part-time

    Pros

    very social, and form close relationships

    Cons

    very unorganized and unstructured for a business

    HMSHost2019-04-03
  5. "extremly crooked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at HMSHost full-time

    Pros

    good money if youre a server

    Cons

    everything else. managers are crooked liars and there is no support from them

    Advice to Management

    grow up and learn how to really run a business

    HMSHost2019-05-03
  6. "Shift Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HMSHost full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Different customers, work life balance

    Cons

    odd working hours and repetitive weekend shifts

    Advice to Management

    be consistent with schedules and encourage training and growth of individual within the company

    HMSHost2019-03-21
  7. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Mallorytown Landing, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HMSHost full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff meal program.

    Cons

    High turnover, long hours, staff undervalued

    Advice to Management

    HMS need to hire specified trainers for each location to develop new staff. Assistant managers and management are spread thin enough, and cannot spend a shift in one brand training new staff. Staff turnover is so high because proper training simply isn't available.

    HMSHost2019-02-14
  8. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fast Food Cashier in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HMSHost full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - good hours - fast paced environment - learning experience

    Cons

    -not all staff have been trained properly -assistant managers don’t always schedule properly (they schedule one or two people at busiest hours) -assistant managers don’t do anything when supervisors consistently show up 20-40 minutes late every single day without excuse - assistant managers/supervisors gossip and don’t help when it gets busy

    HMSHost2019-01-29
  9. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HMSHost full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting clientele and easy work.

    Cons

    Terrible management and no communication.

    Advice to Management

    Better training and procedures.

    HMSHost2019-01-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Crew member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at HMSHost part-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work most of time

    Cons

    Management never follows thru with anything

    Advice to Management

    Do what you say you will

    HMSHost2019-01-08
Found 1060 reviews