Great Clips Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,637 of over 2,667 reviews

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
680 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stylist can ask for coverage from other great clips salons if needed (bigger team)(in 201 reviews)

  • "I love the fast paced environment getting to do what I love each day(in 161 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Stylists don’t always play nice when I’m not at the shop(in 254 reviews)

  • "Haircuts have to be done Within 8-11minutes and the pay is low(in 160 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great job!

      Apr 21, 2021 - Worker in Dorval, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None to be said about the different animals

      Cons

      None to be said about the

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      Thank you for sharing your experience working in the salon! We appreciate your feedback!

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Job opportunity room for growth

      Aug 31, 2021 - Hairstylist%2FAssistant Manager in Mississauga, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great commission on products, no chemical services, online check in app

      Cons

      Haircut sales lfor a few weeks a couple times a year is horrible. I believe it brings in the people that only come when it's a sale.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      Thank you for sharing your experience working in the salon!

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Ok

      Jul 14, 2021 - Hair Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hard to say, if you like the factory environment

      Cons

      You better cut fast, they incourage it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person to address your feedback. If you would like to share more, please email customerservice@greatclips.com and we will forward it to your franchisee. Thank you.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Lots of room for improvement

      Apr 29, 2021 - Salon Manager and Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - can meet some great people- coworkers and clients - no need for clientele - able to take classes to learn new skills

      Cons

      - if you have to restrict your schedule by any means, they will not give you full time - often times many days worked in a row with no extra pay, days off are split up typically, not together - pay is minimal - no work-life balance

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the franchisee would be the best person to address your feedback. If you would like to share more, please email customerservice@greatclips.com and we will forward it to your franchisee. Thank you.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Jan 20, 2021 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff and workplace the people are amazing

      Cons

      There is isn’t much of cons u less you don’t like the job

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      We appreciate that you are a member of a GREAT community of stylists and managers.

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Busy atmosphere

      Jan 18, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Busy. Money to be made if you’re motivated.

      Cons

      Tiring. Hard on the body. Lots of evenings and weekends.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      Thank you for sharing your experience working in the salon. We appreciate your feedback.

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      good people

      Jan 11, 2021 - Project Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good perfect great considerate pays well

      Cons

      they make you work more hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for sharing your experience working in the salon!

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      Dec 7, 2020 - Hair Stylist in Edmonton, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      easy to gain new clients, a lot of focus on time management

      Cons

      Discount customers can be really hard to work with

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      Thank you for sharing your experience working in the salon. We appreciate your feedback!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      We care more

      Nov 17, 2020 - Salon Manager in Cochrane, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At Great clips it’s all about the customers. We want our customers to feel important and let them know we do care more. Our staff are friendly and we are a big family in the salon.

      Cons

      I don’t have any cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Great Clips Response

      We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for sharing your experience working in the salon!

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Stay away

      Nov 23, 2020 - Hairstylist in Hamilton, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      none that i can think of

      Cons

      that place existing is one massive con

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,637 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Great Clips Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Great Clips? Share Your Experiences

    Great Clips logo
    or