Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Great Clips Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
445 Ratings
Pros
  • "They will help you grow as a stylist through classes if your not very confident(in 192 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, nice people, fast-paced, well paid(in 148 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's hard to find stylists in today's market(in 236 reviews)

  • "I really wish people would realize we are stylists who SPECIALIZE in haircuts(in 150 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff, good pay , great hours , new owners are understanding and Willing to help

    Cons

    I have no cons I enjoy my job.

    Great Clips2020-01-29

    Great Clips Response

    January 29, 2020

    We LOVE having you as a valued member of a great team!!! Thank you for sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  2. "Hairstylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hairstylist in Sherwood Park, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good for students just learning

    Cons

    The Quality is not there

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-03-04

    Great Clips Response

    March 4, 2020

    Our cutting system and advised haircut times are based on years of data we have collected showing the optimal time it takes to complete a quality haircut. Every customer deserves a personal experience and more time may be needed with some to be sure that happens. Clearly, others take less time. If you would like to share more, you can email customerservice@greatclips.com. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  3. "It was great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    It was a great place to work because it gave you the freedom to read

    Cons

    It was too quiet

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-02-20

    Great Clips Response

    February 20, 2020

    Thank you for having been a member of a great team! We appreciate everything you did in the salon.

    Continue reading
  4. "Do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Shorter days. 6 hour days. Busy with clientele

    Cons

    Expect you to work without breaks. Can be fired without warning. No communication. Lack of training or proper information about training days. No or little knowledge of employment standards laws. No job security as wrong wrong move can lead to dismissal.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-03-03

    Great Clips Response

    March 4, 2020

    Since each salon is independently owned and operated, your franchisee would be the best person to address your concerns. You can email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you are employed and details. We will forward it to your franchisee for you. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Greeter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Experience and great service

    Cons

    Good experience And management is good too

    Great Clips2019-11-06

    Great Clips Response

    November 7, 2019

    We appreciate you sharing your experience working in the salon. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  6. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Saint Albert, AB

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment, flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Far north end of St. Albert.

    Great Clips2019-09-08

    Great Clips Response

    September 9, 2019

    Thank you and your team for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand for our customers!

    Continue reading
  7. "Great to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Bonuses, amazing tips, work family, room for advancement, paid training

    Cons

    Long hours, open 7 days

    Great Clips2019-08-02

    Great Clips Response

    August 2, 2019

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand!

    Continue reading
  8. "Very fast paced and enjoyable workplace."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Receptionist 

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    I love the friendly faces and returning customer relations I have built over my time working here. As a student, my managers have always been flexible and understanding.

    Cons

    Management is always in and out and can be quite immature working along with their peers.

    Great Clips2019-05-27

    Great Clips Response

    May 28, 2019

    If you would like to share more, please email jeanne@greatclips.com with the salon location where you are emplyed and details. We will forward it to your franchisee for you. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  9. "Hairstylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Great Clips part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, understanding of those in post secondary, great co-workers and boss, can make decent money when it’s busy, lots of practice with hair cutting (great for new stylists seeking lots of hair cutting experience)

    Cons

    When it’s slow you don’t make much money, high employee turnover

    Great Clips2019-05-12

    Great Clips Response

    May 13, 2019

    We appreciate everything you do in the salon each day! Thank you.

    Continue reading
  10. "not a fixed schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    short a shift hour

    Cons

    they don't think we are like a family member

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2019-06-13

    Great Clips Response

    June 14, 2019

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, your franchisee would be the best person to address your concerns. If you would like follow up, please email Jeanne@greatclips.com with the salon location where you are employed and details. We will provide it to your franchisee for you. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you.

    Continue reading
Found 2044 reviews