Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Great Clips Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
409 Ratings
Pros
  • "They will help you grow as a stylist through classes if your not very confident(in 189 reviews)

  • "tips daily decent pay fast paced(in 146 reviews)

Cons
  • "I really wish people would realize we are stylists who SPECIALIZE in haircuts(in 228 reviews)

  • "If you do not liked to be timed on haircuts this is not the place for you either(in 143 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Saint Albert, AB

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment, flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Far north end of St. Albert.

    Great Clips2019-09-08

    Great Clips Response

    September 9, 2019

    Thank you and your team for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand for our customers!

  2. "Great to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Bonuses, amazing tips, work family, room for advancement, paid training

    Cons

    Long hours, open 7 days

    Great Clips2019-08-02

    Great Clips Response

    August 2, 2019

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand!

  3. "Very fast paced and enjoyable workplace."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Receptionist 

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    I love the friendly faces and returning customer relations I have built over my time working here. As a student, my managers have always been flexible and understanding.

    Cons

    Management is always in and out and can be quite immature working along with their peers.

    Great Clips2019-05-27

    Great Clips Response

    May 28, 2019

    If you would like to share more, please email jeanne@greatclips.com with the salon location where you are emplyed and details. We will forward it to your franchisee for you. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you.

  4. "not a fixed schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    short a shift hour

    Cons

    they don't think we are like a family member

    Advice to Management

    make nice& peace environment

    Great Clips2019-06-13

    Great Clips Response

    June 14, 2019

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, your franchisee would be the best person to address your concerns. If you would like follow up, please email Jeanne@greatclips.com with the salon location where you are employed and details. We will provide it to your franchisee for you. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you.

    Show Less
  5. "Hairstylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Great Clips part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, understanding of those in post secondary, great co-workers and boss, can make decent money when it’s busy, lots of practice with hair cutting (great for new stylists seeking lots of hair cutting experience)

    Cons

    When it’s slow you don’t make much money, high employee turnover

    Great Clips2019-05-12

    Great Clips Response

    May 13, 2019

    We appreciate everything you do in the salon each day! Thank you.

  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hairstylist/Manager 

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They supply all the customers. They have a great 5 step system.

    Cons

    They want you to work most all holidays. If your a manager they want you to work all wkends.

    Advice to Management

    I would try really hard to not overwork your staff.

    Great Clips2019-04-25

    Great Clips Response

    May 1, 2019

    If you would like to share more, please email Jeanne@gretclips.com with the salon location where you are employed and details. We will provide it to your franchisee. Because each salon is independently owned and operated, your franchisee would be the best person to address your concerns. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you for being a valued part of a GREAT team!

    Show Less
  7. "Hair Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Environment, Base Salary + Productivity + Sales Bonus + Tips

    Cons

    flexible shifts, weekends (more tips though)

    Advice to Management

    expand

    Great Clips2019-03-22

    Great Clips Response

    March 23, 2019

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day!!!

  8. "Great is..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Clips supports its franchisees 100%! They support their stylists 100%! That is what makes this company stand out. It’s what makes us shine a little brighter then the rest. A company that cares will deliver results and have a beautiful brand which we do. Because Great Clips cares so much they have 40 000 proud stylists representing their brand everyday!

    Cons

    I enjoy everything working for this company

    Great Clips2019-03-07

    Great Clips Response

    March 9, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and comments! We appreciate that you are a valued part of a GREAT team.

  9. "Great! High paced environment. Room for growth as a stylist and more!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hairstylist/Manager in Alliston, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been working with great clips for almost 5 years. In that time I gave been an apprentice then stylist and then assistant manager and now manager. Their are so many opportunities to grow with this company. Flexable hours. Bonuses and soo much more. I can honestly say I have met some pretty amazing friends through this company!

    Cons

    I love working here!!! No cons. Have a great franchise

    Great Clips2019-03-06

    Great Clips Response

    March 7, 2019

    We appreciate you sharing your experience working in the salon! Thank you.

  10. "clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk in North York, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good environment to work in

    Cons

    more pay would be better

    Advice to Management

    pay attention to staff more and have promotions

    Great Clips2019-03-14

    Great Clips Response

    March 14, 2019

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, your franchisee would be the best person to address your feedback. If you would like, you can email Jeanne@greatclips.com with the salon location where you are employed and details. We will forward it to your franchisee for you. If you prefer to be anonymous, please let us know. Thank you.

    Show Less
Found 1963 reviews