Glu Mobile Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Glu Mobile Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 208 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Glu Mobile CEO Nick Earl
Nick Earl
63 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Needs more communication between departments/studios(in 29 reviews)

  • "Upper management don't know what they are doing(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Abysmal Pay and a Depression Epidemic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people who help you get through the day. Some solid friendships. Fun events and work gaming leagues.

    Cons

    The pay for QA was below the poverty line. QA were treated in unacceptable ways for years. Management continually handled employee issues in terrible ways. Immense amounts of overtime, sometimes with mere minutes of notice. Depression, poverty, and hopelessness was the general tone of the QA team.

    Advice to Management

    Pay QA with a salary instead of hourly, and pay them the same as all the other departments.

    Glu Mobile2019-09-04
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time

    Pros

    People give value to what you want to learn

    Cons

    I don't have anything to say.

    Advice to Management

    Food which is served by the vendor at the office is bad.

    Glu Mobile2019-09-17
  3. "Devops Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good HR Policy - Good Pay - Less Politics - Friendly Workplace and lot more

    Cons

    I don't find any cons

    Glu Mobile2019-09-11
  4. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Core Team Member in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They allow you to think new, you can access anyone no designation matters.

    Cons

    But they won’t allow you to create new. Specially in India.

    Advice to Management

    Recalculate salary structure.

    Glu Mobile2019-09-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Best place turned out to be awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture, best colleagues, employee's perk like lunch, snacks, transportation, good pay.

    Cons

    One person in management could ruin the whole team's environment by being politically biased. Most of my colleagues (former)left the job because of this. Hyderabad studio's reputation will be ruined due to such toxicity. They will not hire a lead to the team, instead they'll make senior employees work badly, in the end it is a huge disappointment. It demotivates one's dream to achieve something in career.

    Advice to Management

    Please take individual employee survey directly without giving access to management to know the employees happiness index. I still have hope in upper management they can deal with this better.

    Glu Mobile2019-08-06
  6. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment talented people lot to learn lots of facilities

    Cons

    did not find any of it.

    Glu Mobile2019-07-24
  7. "Lot of changes, lesser employee focus. Actual rating - 5*. But, changing it to 2*."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glu Mobile full-time

    Pros

    During my stint, I learned a lot at Glu Mobile. Definitely, a place to be, if you are looking for a decent workplace. 1. A very good working culture when I was around. 2. Some employee perks like snacks available. 3. Some really good mentors, only if you approach them positively. 4. Good pay in comparison to others' in industry.

    Cons

    I personally think there's just one con, which is not being an employee-centric company anymore, at least the Hyderabad studio. One toxic person changed the entire course of employee happiness/delight. Hopefully, top management finds out who it is, and does something about it. This isn't just a feedback of mine alone, a lot of others (former colleagues) also feel the same way. Bringing political bias into a company... that had a really good culture changes a lot of things.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You should do a survey to find the actual happiness index at Hyderabad studio with regards to the people team. The political bias is gonna spread more toxicity in the future, or a nearer future.

    Glu Mobile2019-08-06
  8. "Nice company with handsome perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment with encouraging people all around

    Cons

    Nothing as such to mention

    Glu Mobile2019-07-03
  9. "5 Star Organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Manager in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Creative Freedom, Adaptable workplace, friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    None that i can think off.

    Glu Mobile2019-06-20
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glu Mobile full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, play at your leisure, stress-free

    Cons

    no proper transparency in the management, last-minute changes/updates

    Glu Mobile2019-06-17
Found 208 reviews