George Weston Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

George Weston Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
George Weston CEO Paviter S. (Pavi) Binning
Paviter S. (Pavi) Binning
3 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Administrator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at George Weston full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for, excellent benefits, educated and motivated people to work with. A great fresh atmosphere to work in.

    Cons

    I can't think of any downside to working there, they prepared me for my next step in my career path, assisted with training and certifications.

    Advice to Management

    A Great company with a proven track record

    George Weston2016-12-01
  2. "Coop Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at George Weston

    Pros

    - Great culture - Talented people - Great for early experience/resume building

    Cons

    - I was there for 8 months and have very little negatives about my experience.

    George Weston2019-02-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at George Weston full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment, good location, nice people, interesting work

    Cons

    Hours people seem to hang around until 6pm most days, wasn't the most flexible work location place when I was there

    George Weston2018-11-20
  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at George Weston full-time

    Pros

    The team I work with is great.

    Cons

    There is some politics in the culture.

    George Weston2018-07-30
  5. "Career advancement not available in all departments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at George Weston

      Pros

      large variety of work available

      Cons

      growth potential limited in the finance department

      George Weston2017-11-09
    • "Decent place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at George Weston full-time

      Pros

      Highly engaged staff and a relaxed corporate culture. A small team providing advisory services to Loblaw, Shoppers Drug Mart, Presidents Choice Financial, and Weston Foods.

      Cons

      The most difficult aspect of the job is navigating through the corporate cultures in place at the various subsidiary companies.

      Advice to Management

      Nothing, really. The company works well, and is good at what it does. Communication is excellent and cooperation is rampant.

      George Weston2016-10-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great people. Disappointing experience. Would not recommend."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Etobicoke, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at George Weston full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Amazing team members. They are the only thing that keeps you coming back each day.

      Cons

      Constant change, constant reorganization. Spent more time onboarding new leadership than driving the business. Very little emphasis on training or professional development. Poor advancement opportunity, especially since management is always turning over. Burn-and-churn culture. No recognition of workload given limited people resources. Long hours are the norm (without thanks) and people are stretched way too thinly....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Focus on your people. They're your most important asset. Provide meaningful training and development opportunities. Recognize that there is a life outside the office. And hold your managers accountable to employee engagement. Doing so will make a huge difference.

      George Weston2014-09-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "ok experience at George Weston"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at George Weston full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Pros: reasonable expectations slow pace if you are looking for that for the most part friendly people good company sponsored events pay is ok, although less than in the financial services sector

        Cons

        cons: lots of politics good benefits not a lot of room to move up horrible HR staff lots of turnover at the management level several layoff waves

        George Weston2014-07-08
      Found 8 reviews