Extra Space Storage Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Extra Space Storage Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Extra Space Storage CEO Joe Margolis
Joe Margolis
475 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work- life balance: family is important(in 133 reviews)

  • "We are closed on Sundays which makes a perfect family day(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons this job is the best(in 32 reviews)

  • "It's really all about who upper management likes best is how you move up in this company(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage

    Pros

    Promises for future growth and expansive opportunity for longevity

    Cons

    Promises were false and opportunity lead to the front door

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2015-09-21
  2. "Extra Space Storage Rocks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Payroll Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extra Space is a company very friendly and welcoming. It is nice to work in a company that is so happy. Benefits are great, especially since they start on Day 1, as are the 401K and HSA programs. The PTO and holidays are very generous. We are paid to help with projects for the community. There is a very nice free on-site gym. There are break rooms with free snacks and a large kitchen with free soda. Underground parking. Management is awesome!

    Cons

    None come to mind.

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-21
  3. "360 Difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Puyallup, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In the past I worked for another storage company that is one of the top five in the industry for almost seventeen years and as I was there they do not promote within, not once met or talked to the CEO, they micro manage all employees, and no longer give merit raises not even for cost of living. I came to Extra Space Storage almost two years ago and my experience has been a 360 change. Within the first year and a half Joe Mangolis the CEO of Extra Space came out to my store and other stores to meet the people who work for him. The company held meetings through out the company traveling all over the states so they could connect and ask the employees that work the sites, what their opinions and ideas are to help improve our company. Not only does the company value your opinion they also value each and every employee.

    Cons

    I have no Cons at this time

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2019-10-19
  4. "Extra Space Storage actually cares about its employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I come from Mall retail where I was working an average of 65 hrs a week so when I was given the opportunity to work for Extra Space Storage I jumped on it, I have been with ESS for about 3 years and I love my job. I now work 40 hrs a week, I get every Sunday off and 1 Saturday a month off, so, what can I say about ESS? I actually have a life now, I am really happy about how I get treated and valued by my superiors which I never had before;I was always treated like a number and not recognized for my accomplishments, I work in a very tight team and if I ever need something my team helps out, I have a great District Manager who has a heart of gold and who compliments me when needed, ESS is the best Company to work for!

    Cons

    I have no cons to list!!

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2019-10-19
  5. "A great place to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is exciting to be a part of a growing organization at a time so many companies are cutting back or on shaky financial grounds. The work is challenging yet rewarding, and everyone has the opportunity to make a difference. Internal promotions occur regularly - I have never worked anywhere with so many leaders who were promoted from within.

    Cons

    Some of the best ski slopes in the world are only minutes away from the office and they are very tempting during the season!

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-18
  6. "Good people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people at ESS are what really make this place special. Every position I work with really understands what it takes to be a partner and we don't let titles get in the way

    Cons

    As we grow, inconsistencies in practice are becoming more apparent. We need to shore this up before it becomes too large of a problem.

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-18
  7. "positive work envirnment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distict Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    level of communication to all employees, work life balance environment, able to adjust to current situations nimbly

    Cons

    pay level versus cost of living

    Extra Space Storage2019-10-18
  8. "Best Company I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The support that you get from upper management regarding the job is second to none. I have never worked for a company that consistently SHOWS and VOICES how much they appreciate employees as much as Extra Space does. There are many opportunities to relocate to other states and transfer to other site level positions.

    Cons

    Pay could be better, and opportunity for growth beyond site positions are minimal. Majority of the positions beyond the site are located in Utah.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2019-10-18
  9. "Employment @ Extra Space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly one of the top places to work here in Memphis. Talk about work/play balance, opportunities for advancement and a wonderful management team then look no further!

    Cons

    Really cant find any at all.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2019-10-18
  10. "Great people, great leadership and love my DM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Leadership cares about people Chances to advance Monthly bonus

    Cons

    secret shop program not fair at times better yearly raises

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2019-10-18
Found 1061 reviews