Extendicare Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Extendicare Reviews

Updated 3 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
38%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Extendicare CEO Timothy L. Lukenda
Timothy L. Lukenda
71 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Always short staffed, hard work never appreciated, wage is too low for the amount and type of work done(in 12 reviews)

  • "Product of upper management I suspect(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nursing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RPN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extendicare full-time

    Pros

    Love my job all the people are great

    Cons

    Can be challenging working with dementia

    Advice to Management

    Great management and great coworkers

    Extendicare2019-07-12
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapeutic Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extendicare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff Great residents Nice environment

    Cons

    Lack of communication. Sometimes it was hard to find time for a break

    Extendicare2019-11-03
  3. "Okay for a short period"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Extendicare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning experience. Co-workers decent. Pay decent.

    Cons

    Too much politics. Care for seniors is okay. Management not the greatest in some homes.

    Extendicare2019-08-03
  4. "Psw at extendicare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PSw 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Extendicare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of hours and overtime. Awesome union

    Cons

    Older employees bully new ones. Heavy work load

    Extendicare2019-08-01
  5. "Extendicare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Activity Aide in Halton Hills, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Extendicare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pleasant environment to work in for the most part. Additional training and educational opportunities provided regularly.

    Cons

    High turnover and poor communication.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to what is going on with your staff.

    Extendicare2019-07-30
  6. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Director of Care in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Extendicare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent experience revealed state Long Term Care

    Cons

    Horrible managers staff overworked poor values

    Advice to Management

    Get some formal training

    Extendicare2019-07-15
  7. "Great company to learn and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Web Specialist 

    I worked at Extendicare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to learn and grow. Management and staff are genuine and hard working. Staff would go above and beyond to help people live better.

    Cons

    Lots of changes happening.

    Extendicare2019-07-15
  8. "Long hours, Poor Pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Extendicare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Monthly team building, free coffee, great colleagues

    Cons

    Long hours, Poor Pay (at least $10K+ lower than market), Worst management (don't care about your workload - just get your work done attitude)

    Advice to Management

    Care your employees - Higher pay!

    Extendicare2019-06-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sometimes Overwhelming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sudbury, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extendicare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to learn new roles in my department. Helped me develop skills that I can potentially use to advance my career. Decent pay for what my job was. Most jobs are unionized. Activity department does a great job of keeping the place from being totally depressing. Of all departments, they seem to care the most about the residents.

    Cons

    The facility was and still is filthy. Extendicare cares more about profit than it cares about its residents or employees. Nursing staff are woefully underpaid which seems to be part of the reason for a terrible staffing crisis. Most managers seem to care more about hanging out with each other than they care about doing their jobs effectively. The scheduling department needs to be separate from reception, having... the two together confuses things. A large portion of the staff are rude and cruel and I have seen them scare away new staff due to how nasty they can be. Also the building is under constant scrutiny by Ministry of Health.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get new, better management. Current management is a large reason that people keep leaving and these people who are leaving keep saying so.

    Extendicare2019-06-14
  10. "Short Staffed Daily"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - HCA in Viking, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Extendicare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent money for small town job.

    Cons

    Poor management, all they care about is the bottom line. Chronically short staffed but excuse it by saying everywhere is the same. Top heavy in supervisors but cut to the bone in frontline staff.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of your office and walk the talk. Start cutting your management team who hide in their offices.

    Extendicare2019-06-28
Found 223 reviews