Etsy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Etsy Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "Teams, culture, flexibility, technology work/life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great benefits offered vacation and medical for and for 401k(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some folks feel like they have great work life balance, others might not(in 8 reviews)

  • "Sentiment amongst Etsy sellers can be demoralizing, but the company is listening to them and things are getting better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Motivated and smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy

    Pros

    Great people and atmosphere. Friendly offices and activities

    Cons

    No noticeable things to say

    Continue reading
    Etsy2017-06-09
  2. "Awesome Company & Corporate Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Cares about employees Believes in the handmade movement Lovely offices Free lunches, snacks,

    Cons

    Changed quite a bit under new management (post IPO) Closed international offices / centralized most work to Brooklyn

    Etsy2019-03-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sadly not putting people first anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a fun, friendly place to work

    Cons

    They're not putting money first and employees second

    Etsy2018-03-10
  4. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Etsy part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fun and Creative place to work.

    Cons

    Not enough hours available to work.

    Etsy2020-03-31
  5. "Great leadership, great company-ever changin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership, great mission, and great company. The company has so much potential that we're still scratching the surface with what we can do.

    Cons

    Priorities can change quickly, so you need to be comfortable in that environment

    Etsy2020-02-19
  6. "How is it like working with Etsy India ?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    - Lavish Life - Great Activities - Amazing Interiors

    Cons

    - Week Management - Ignorance to Employ Grievances - Not fixed Job roles

    Continue reading
    Etsy2020-01-24
  7. Helpful (3)

    "As long as you can roll with changes, this is the place for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Etsy is a wonderful place if you can handle a fast paced, ever changing environment. I've been here for almost 4 years and the company has been nothing but supportive of me and my career and especially in times when things personally were not great. The company deeply cares about us as humans and for that I am thankful.

    Cons

    The only con is that we move too quickly at times, because of that we do often have to change directions which can cause a lot of fatigue among teams

    Continue reading
    Etsy2019-12-02
  8. "Well looked after"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Lots of food, activities, personal development encouraged

    Cons

    Employees have been here for years and there are some cliques

    Etsy2019-12-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not an equal employer as they claim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Compensations & benefits are ok, better than a non-tech company, however they are not as good as other tech companies.

    Cons

    While they spend all the internal meetings talking about diversity and equality, I have known several cases where females were promoted at the same time and to the same position that males in the same team and they received a lower salary raise. Their complains were brushed off under the carpet by HR. Also while employees are encouraging to talk to HR and they are promised that the conversations are confidential, HR has informed about this "confidential" meetings to the employee's manager creating a toxic atmosphere. No career opportunities outside of the US. In all the employee surveys the lack of opportunities outside the 2 main US offices is an issue that is bringing up by the employees constantly, the executive team poorly address this and nothing has ever changed. Salary is definitely lower than other tech companies.

    Etsy2020-01-09
  10. "Overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Amazing offices Great guiding principles

    Cons

    Limited opportunities outside of US

    Etsy2019-09-12
Found 155 reviews
</>Embed