Etsy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Etsy Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "Teams, culture, flexibility, technology work/life balance(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great benefits offered vacation and medical for and for 401k(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some folks feel like they have great work life balance, others might not(in 8 reviews)

  • "Sentiment amongst Etsy sellers can be demoralizing, but the company is listening to them and things are getting better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Motivated and smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy

    Pros

    Great people and atmosphere. Friendly offices and activities

    Cons

    No noticeable things to say

    Advice to Management

    keep going in that way with such passion

    Etsy2017-06-09
  2. "Awesome Company & Corporate Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Cares about employees Believes in the handmade movement Lovely offices Free lunches, snacks,

    Cons

    Changed quite a bit under new management (post IPO) Closed international offices / centralized most work to Brooklyn

    Etsy2019-03-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sadly not putting people first anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a fun, friendly place to work

    Cons

    They're not putting money first and employees second

    Etsy2018-03-10
  4. "Well looked after"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Lots of food, activities, personal development encouraged

    Cons

    Employees have been here for years and there are some cliques

    Etsy2019-12-09
  5. "As long as you can roll with changes, this is the place for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Etsy is a wonderful place if you can handle a fast paced, ever changing environment. I've been here for almost 4 years and the company has been nothing but supportive of me and my career and especially in times when things personally were not great. The company deeply cares about us as humans and for that I am thankful.

    Cons

    The only con is that we move too quickly at times, because of that we do often have to change directions which can cause a lot of fatigue among teams

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and continue to listen to the employees.

    Etsy2019-12-02
  6. "Overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Amazing offices Great guiding principles

    Cons

    Limited opportunities outside of US

    Etsy2019-09-12
  7. "Toxic political environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation & benefits, perks, events

    Cons

    Disorganized, lack of accountability, poor leadership, toxic work environment

    Etsy2019-10-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Can't imagine where else I'd want to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of career growth opportunities here and ability to have a huge impact. You don't usually get this with as large of a company (or as much technical scale) as we have: it's a pretty special place from that regard. The culture is also great. We have progressive benefits (half a year of parental leave!), yummy snacks, and engaged leadership that really knows what's going on in individual teams and is excited... to speak to individuals on those teams.

    Show More

    Cons

    Things move quick here. The people who are most successful tend to be comfortable working through ambiguity.

    Etsy2019-08-23
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Great company to work for, culture of collaboration, forward thinking mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The leadership org is cognizant of of pain points and actively seeks to improve There is a cohesive culture where it feels most everyone believes in the mission to humanize eCommerce I have noticed that if you are honest about your career trajectory, management will give you a roadmap Great work life balance

    Cons

    Some roles could use a more defined scope. If you are interviewing for a role here, make sure that you ask about your first 30/60/90 days and what success looks like for that time period.

    Etsy2019-07-30
  10. "Great time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, good growth opportunities

    Cons

    nothing worth mentioning. I was pretty happy

    Etsy2019-07-20
Found 156 reviews
</>Embed