Etsy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Etsy Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Teams, culture, flexibility, technology work/life balance(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great benefits offered vacation and medical for and for 401k(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some folks feel like they have great work life balance, others might not(in 8 reviews)

  • "Sentiment amongst Etsy sellers can be demoralizing, but the company is listening to them and things are getting better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Motivated and smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy

    Pros

    Great people and atmosphere. Friendly offices and activities

    Cons

    No noticeable things to say

    Advice to Management

    keep going in that way with such passion

    Etsy2017-06-09
  2. "Awesome Company & Corporate Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Cares about employees Believes in the handmade movement Lovely offices Free lunches, snacks,

    Cons

    Changed quite a bit under new management (post IPO) Closed international offices / centralized most work to Brooklyn

    Etsy2019-03-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sadly not putting people first anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a fun, friendly place to work

    Cons

    They're not putting money first and employees second

    Etsy2018-03-10
  4. "Overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Amazing offices Great guiding principles

    Cons

    Limited opportunities outside of US

    Etsy2019-09-12
  5. "Can't imagine where else I'd want to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Engineering in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of career growth opportunities here and ability to have a huge impact. You don't usually get this with as large of a company (or as much technical scale) as we have: it's a pretty special place from that regard. The culture is also great. We have progressive benefits (half a year of parental leave!), yummy snacks, and engaged leadership that really knows what's going on in individual teams and is excited... to speak to individuals on those teams.

    Show More

    Cons

    Things move quick here. The people who are most successful tend to be comfortable working through ambiguity.

    Etsy2019-08-23
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great company to work for, culture of collaboration, forward thinking mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The leadership org is cognizant of of pain points and actively seeks to improve There is a cohesive culture where it feels most everyone believes in the mission to humanize eCommerce I have noticed that if you are honest about your career trajectory, management will give you a roadmap Great work life balance

    Cons

    Some roles could use a more defined scope. If you are interviewing for a role here, make sure that you ask about your first 30/60/90 days and what success looks like for that time period.

    Etsy2019-07-30
  7. "Great time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, good growth opportunities

    Cons

    nothing worth mentioning. I was pretty happy

    Etsy2019-07-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced, but extremely supportive and innovative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Etsy has been a great experience for the last 3 years. It's been up and down, but in a good way. We definitely move fast, and are constantly changing and pivoting but in this industry it is paramount that we are continuously iterating on our roadmap to stay competitive. We celebrate wins, we are inclusive, we care about the environment and about our social and economic impact. Etsy really cares about you.... You are not just 1 out of 100000. And, at any level you can have a significant impact on the business. Our executive team is highly accessible, including our CEO. I've stayed at Etsy as long as I have because it feels like home to me and I'm excited to see where we can go next.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only thing I'd say that is a con is that moving quickly and changing directions can get a little exhausting for some. So in order to be successful at Etsy, you have to be resilient and not take it personally if we decide to change directions every now and then. Some folks feel like they have great work life balance, others might not. But it really depends on the environment you came from. We definitely work... really hard, but we also play hard as well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing - continue to be transparent in communication, listen to us as employees and celebrate wins.

    Etsy2019-07-12
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Promising company, disappointing structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, fantastic teammates, engaging problem space

    Cons

    Engineering lacks strategic vision, company is disorganized, it feels like we reorg every three months. Tech debt keeps piling up and products don't ship due to lack of engineering accountability and management infighting

    Etsy2019-07-25
Found 154 reviews
</>Embed