Etsy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Etsy Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 150 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Etsy CEO Josh Silverman
Josh Silverman
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "Teams, culture, flexibility, technology work/life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great benefits offered vacation and medical for and for 401k(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance was a mixed bag(in 7 reviews)

  • "Sentiment amongst Etsy sellers can be demoralizing, but the company is listening to them and things are getting better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Motivated and smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy

    Pros

    Great people and atmosphere. Friendly offices and activities

    Cons

    No noticeable things to say

    Advice to Management

    keep going in that way with such passion

    Etsy2017-06-09
  2. "Awesome Company & Corporate Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Cares about employees Believes in the handmade movement Lovely offices Free lunches, snacks,

    Cons

    Changed quite a bit under new management (post IPO) Closed international offices / centralized most work to Brooklyn

    Etsy2019-03-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sadly not putting people first anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a fun, friendly place to work

    Cons

    They're not putting money first and employees second

    Etsy2018-03-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for, culture of collaboration, forward thinking mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The leadership org is cognizant of of pain points and actively seeks to improve There is a cohesive culture where it feels most everyone believes in the mission to humanize eCommerce I have noticed that if you are honest about your career trajectory, management will give you a roadmap Great work life balance

    Cons

    Some roles could use a more defined scope. If you are interviewing for a role here, make sure that you ask about your first 30/60/90 days and what success looks like for that time period.

    Etsy2019-07-30
  5. "Great time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, good growth opportunities

    Cons

    nothing worth mentioning. I was pretty happy

    Etsy2019-07-20
  6. "Fast paced, but extremely supportive and innovative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Etsy has been a great experience for the last 3 years. It's been up and down, but in a good way. We definitely move fast, and are constantly changing and pivoting but in this industry it is paramount that we are continuously iterating on our roadmap to stay competitive. We celebrate wins, we are inclusive, we care about the environment and about our social and economic impact. Etsy really cares about you. You...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only thing I'd say that is a con is that moving quickly and changing directions can get a little exhausting for some. So in order to be successful at Etsy, you have to be resilient and not take it personally if we decide to change directions every now and then. Some folks feel like they have great work life balance, others might not. But it really depends on the environment you came from. We definitely work really...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing - continue to be transparent in communication, listen to us as employees and celebrate wins.

    Etsy2019-07-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Promising company, disappointing structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, fantastic teammates, engaging problem space

    Cons

    Engineering lacks strategic vision, company is disorganized, it feels like we reorg every three months. Tech debt keeps piling up and products don't ship due to lack of engineering accountability and management infighting

    Etsy2019-07-25
  8. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Etsy full-time

    Pros

    Engaged employees, good management culture, clear mission

    Cons

    Generally very positive experience overall

    Etsy2019-06-12
  9. "Best working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Etsy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly and stressless environment, very generous compensations & benefits, above market salary, great values.

    Cons

    No remote opportunities for Europe, Poor onboarding

    Etsy2019-05-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing company for new parents"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Etsy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Etsy is a top leader in benefits, a warm and caring culture. Very focused on D&I, a vibrant and inclusive community. The mission is great and employees are passionate about the cause. Very intelligent colleagues with an incredible amount of best practice to learn from.

    Cons

    Decision-making is pretty centralized at the exec team level, with more of a "command and control" approach to strategy and decision-making.

    Advice to Management

    You have an incredibly talented team, would encourage trusting your team and delegating more decision-making.

    Etsy2019-05-10
Found 150 reviews