Eastman Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Eastman Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1521 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Eastman CEO Mark J. Costa
Mark J. Costa
687 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Decision making is a very lengthy process, an employee needs to have a champion to have a career(in 57 reviews)

  • "Most of the people in the company still have a small town mind-set(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Chemical engineer in the process safety design team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Chemical Engineer 

    I worked at Eastman full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture Flexible Timings Lots of things to learn

    Cons

    I didn't find any cons in this company.

    Eastman2019-06-22
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Eastman full-time

    Pros

    Great organization. Employee focused company

    Cons

    No comments to mention here.

    Eastman2017-11-04
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity for advancement And Great training

    Cons

    Lots of procedures to follow

    Eastman2017-09-13
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Low ceiling, very little opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eastman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low pressure sales system Excellent opportunity to travel nationally Value in person sales over cold calling Very liberal with product samples and demonstrations

    Cons

    "Do as I say, not as I do" management leadership style. Training program consisted of listening in on phone calls. Consistently denied opportunities to invest personally in the company - not taken to trade shows/ US corporate meetings and events. Given smallest sales territory by a massive margin and actually increased sales by a considerable percentage but constantly criticized based on relatively low numbers in... comparison to the those of the other reps.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire somebody to fill someone else's role until you're sure that person is actually leaving.

    Eastman2016-04-26
  5. "Regional Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eastman

    Pros

    Growth company Focused on high growth materials Cares on people

    Cons

    Too much follow on procedure, making slow decision.

    Eastman2015-08-17
  6. "Stable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kuantan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very stable company Very good size A lot to learn Great team members

    Cons

    Sometime can be slow at make decision Not much decision can be done at site level

    Advice to Management

    Need to put much value on experience

    Eastman2019-09-18
  7. "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, wfh facility, people and good hikes compared to market.

    Cons

    Lower management, slow growth in terms of responsibilities.

    Eastman2019-09-15
  8. "Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Commitment to innovation is unmistakable

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Despite short term business pressures please remain committed to the innovation strategy

    Eastman2019-09-13
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Admit Business Operating Model Was a Failure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Development Manager in Kingsport, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I’ve never worked with a finer group of individuals, both early and late in their career. Despite the layoffs and other flaws that are described below, camaraderie is still strong within the lower levels.

    Cons

    Since implementing Business Operating Model last year, our company has become less efficient and morale has plummeted across the board. Why is that? 1) Roles and responsibilities changed, which resulted in more bureaucracy and more decisions made at the upper levels. 2) Titles changed, and now a person’s title no longer accurately describes what he/she does day to day. 3) Meetings, meetings, meetings. The new... standardized business routines were supposed to reduce the number of meetings on our calendars, but instead it had the opposite effect. 4) Outsourcing and layoffs. Each year, dozens of jobs are being outsourced to India. Layoffs are becoming an annual event. This is all occurring at the lower levels of the company, which is just lovely. 5) Management layers increased. The average non-manager employee has at least two VPs, 1-2 directors, and 1-2 managers between them and the CEO. For example, an analyst may report to a supervisor, who reports to a manager, who reports to a director, who reports to a senior director, who reports to a VP/GM, who reports to an EVP, who reports to the CEO. The excess layers of management only add to the problem. 6) Process, process, process. We have become so process focused that the simplest of tasks are overly burdensome. Our innovation portfolio management (stage-gate) is a prime example. 7) Salary grades for certain positions were lowered, effectively demoting the position. Imagine you worked years to earn a promotion, and one day the company decides to lower the responsibilities and allow entry level employees into the same job. I could go on and on...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop touting Business Operating Model as a success. Seriously, look around. Never before has there been broader consensus at all levels of the company (other than the EVPs) that this reorg was a disaster. VPs and directors openly criticize BOM, calling it “bomb,” or (sarcastically) “the bomb,” or quipping, “our company is bombed.” Brad, it’s not too late to shut it down. Yes, shut it down. Admit that it didn’t... produce the results it was intended to and go back to the drawing board. Get a new set of eyes (preferably not outside consultants) to re-evaluate things. Interview stakeholders at all levels. Get buy-in, not just compliance. You might be pleasantly surprised by how open and willing your workforce is to adopting changes if they feel like they’re part of the solution.

    Show More
    Eastman2019-09-19
  10. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Co-Op 

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good, work was decent

    Cons

    Location wasn't ideal, to many cities by Kingsport

    Eastman2019-09-18
Found 1521 reviews