Eastman Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Eastman Reviews

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Eastman Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Mark J. Costa
Mark J. Costa
702 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Decision making is a very lengthy process, an employee needs to have a champion to have a career(in 43 reviews)

  • "Small town, large company -- transitioning to global company is difficult(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Chemical engineer in the process safety design team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Chemical Engineer 

    I worked at Eastman full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture Flexible Timings Lots of things to learn

    Cons

    I didn't find any cons in this company.

    Eastman2019-06-22
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Eastman full-time

    Pros

    Great organization. Employee focused company

    Cons

    No comments to mention here.

    Eastman2017-11-04
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity for advancement And Great training

    Cons

    Lots of procedures to follow

    Eastman2017-09-13
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Low ceiling, very little opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eastman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low pressure sales system Excellent opportunity to travel nationally Value in person sales over cold calling Very liberal with product samples and demonstrations

    Cons

    "Do as I say, not as I do" management leadership style. Training program consisted of listening in on phone calls. Consistently denied opportunities to invest personally in the company - not taken to trade shows/ US corporate meetings and events. Given smallest sales territory by a massive margin and actually increased sales by a considerable percentage but constantly criticized based on relatively low numbers in comparison to the those of the other reps.

    Continue reading
    Eastman2016-04-26
  5. "Regional Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eastman

    Pros

    Growth company Focused on high growth materials Cares on people

    Cons

    Too much follow on procedure, making slow decision.

    Eastman2015-08-17
  6. "Great people and great culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Entry Level Chemical Engineer in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid a lot more than average, especially considering the location. Not expected to work over 40 hours per week and work/life balance is valued. Couldn't find better people to work with and I really like Kingsport and Johnson City. Eastman is doing some really exciting and innovative stuff to help solve the plastic crisis our generation is facing.

    Cons

    Upper UPPER management values shareholder earnings over continuous improvement and employee salaries (raises have been delayed 2 years in a row to meet cash flow goals). However, safety is not compromised, which is nice.

    Continue reading
    Eastman2020-03-02
  7. "Bad Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance in Longview, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Pay and Benefits but **Managers are Terrible.**Stay Away from Here.......!!!!!!!

    Cons

    Bad Mangers 1st line 2nd Line and 3rd Line.

    Continue reading
    Eastman2020-03-30
  8. "Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Associate in Martinsville, VA

    I worked at Eastman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good treatment and pay

    Cons

    People make the job environment much harder than it has to be..

    Eastman2020-02-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Double standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eastman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and decent benefits

    Cons

    Favoritism and double standards. It's all about who you know. Being a good employee doesn't necessarily get you anywhere but often gets you taken advantage of.

    Eastman2020-02-24
  10. "Company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Analyst 

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work culture and ethics

    Cons

    Would be better if cab facility is provided

    Eastman2020-02-13
Found 1524 reviews