Chartwell Hospitality Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Chartwell Hospitality Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
68%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Chartwell Hospitality President Robert G. Schaedle III (no image)
Robert G. Schaedle III
12 Ratings
  1. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Chartwell Hospitality is a great company to work for. They truly care about their employees and they are always willing to listen if you ever have any issues. The pay is more than fair. It's very nice knowing that you work for a company that has an open door policy and you can visit the corporate office at any point. The company benefits are also very nice.

    Cons

    None at this current time.

    Chartwell Hospitality2020-01-07
  2. "Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Office Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of room for advancement. Company prides self on internal promotion.

    Cons

    Pay tends to be on low end.

    Chartwell Hospitality2019-12-04
  3. "Dangerous for your health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operation Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwell Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The health insurance for management was decent. I had already been at that hotel for 3 years prior under a different management company and loved all regular guests and staff!

    Cons

    The most negative, toxic, high stress environment I’ve ever experienced. Corporate level management actively participated in and allowed upper level management to use damaging practices such as gossip, passive aggressive manipulation, exploitation of salaried employees, racial biases/favoritism and whistleblower retaliation. I reported a member of my leadership team for harassment and was retaliated against by being fired out of the blue supposedly for sexual harassment. I have documented ptsd and stress induced cardio myopathy.... working for this company almost killed me, and all I wanted was their approval on a good job at the end of the day.

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Hospitality2019-11-07
  4. "A Truly Incredible Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dual Sales and Marketing Coordinator in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwell Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started with Chartwell Hospitality while in their Manager in Training program and then as a Dual Property Sales Coordinator. My whole experience from start to finish has been nothing but amazing. The COO, CFO and Owner are very personable people who genuinely care about this company and their employees. Chartwell is rapidly growing and expanding into new markets. Opportunities for individual growth and promotion is a company priority. I truly enjoyed coming to work everyday!

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say about Chartwell Hospitality.

    Chartwell Hospitality2019-09-01
  5. "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Lewisham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwell Hospitality part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good teamwork nice realationship with customers

    Cons

    No management support. staff stretched too maximum levels

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Hospitality2019-08-24
  6. "Awesome Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a wonderful company to work for. The leadership team from the ground all the way to COO, CFO and Owner are reachable. Never worked at a better company. They make everyone feel appreciated. Would recommend this company to friends and family.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything negative

    Chartwell Hospitality2019-06-18
  7. "Hospitality Assistant Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospitality Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwell Hospitality part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and short shifts

    Cons

    Sometimes there are not many shifts available

    Chartwell Hospitality2019-06-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "They take advantage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Chartwell Hospitality full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you might wind up with a great team for the long haul

    Cons

    the GM's the company chooses to put in place generally fire everyone when they are appointed. The company might low ball you on how much you should be getting. There is no upstream form of communication.

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Hospitality2019-06-30
  9. "Not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GSA in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwell Hospitality full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, somewhat flexible schedule

    Cons

    Management wonders why there is such a high turn-over rate, but never changes anything when employees offer suggestions. Also, management does not have anyone as MOD on weekends... leaving lower level employees to deal with issues that are WAY above their pay grade.

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Hospitality2019-07-05
  10. "do not work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Manager in Nashville, TN

    I worked at Chartwell Hospitality full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    beautiful properties well priced for the area

    Cons

    upper management gives no support to staff

    Chartwell Hospitality2019-03-03
Found 30 reviews