BASF Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BASF Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2102 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
BASF CEO Martin Brudermüller
Martin Brudermüller
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "German management adds layers of bureaucracy(in 66 reviews)

  • "Company politics, consensual decision making makes the company slow(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Toronto, ON

    I worked at BASF

    Pros

    Great experience Great people Interesting environment Lots of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Very large, can be daunting

    Advice to Management

    Develop PDP for leadership candidates

    BASF2018-11-29
  2. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time

    Pros

    Strong ethics, highly reputed company

    Cons

    Nothing, it is a wonderful place to work

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    BASF2019-02-17
  3. "Technical Specalist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most people are great to work with.

    Cons

    Too big of a company.

    BASF2019-02-22
  4. "Innovation without emotional intelligence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time

    Pros

    Very state of the art, innovative company with excellent compensation

    Cons

    Although Development is encouraged, there are no opportunities here for anyone without an engineering degree or masters. Leadership does not value employees enough to address egotistical management and hierarchy so there is a high turnover.

    BASF2018-09-20
  5. "Technical Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BASF full-time

    Pros

    Above average training program for management. Fast paced, diverse customer base. Good, experienced work force to lead.

    Cons

    Customer demands add stress. Management of customers lacking at times causing near impossible demands on plant to meet expectations. Management spread too thin at times to support needs of expanding customer requirements.

    Advice to Management

    Add support where needed to meet the needs of everyone.

    BASF2018-05-24
  6. "Great place to work for internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at BASF

    Pros

    People and office environment Office clubs and councils

    Cons

    Work can be kind of boring and tedious

    Advice to Management

    Should look for opportunities for departments to interact

    BASF2017-11-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Too Big"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BASF full-time

    Pros

    Basf gave good training to employees

    Cons

    The management was detached and dictatorial

    Advice to Management

    Wake up

    BASF2017-07-15
  8. "Great People, Not So Great Systems, Ultimately a Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BASF full-time

    Pros

    Great people, you are treated fairly and with respect.

    Cons

    Challenging systems and processes which require streamlining and standardization.

    Advice to Management

    Please see the cons section.

    BASF2017-04-12
  9. "Plastics salesman representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Plastic Sales in Windsor, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BASF

    Pros

    I 've worked with Obegi chemicals,they execlusive agent for BASF in Syria more than 100 years.

    Cons

    I worked with them 6 years, they had a slogan " Doing business with ethics " and BASF it's the first important company in the world.

    Advice to Management

    I have a good confirmation letter from them .

    BASF2016-12-12
  10. "Great company with room to develop career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BASF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture with plenty of opportunity to develop a career. Great benefits and culture. Offices around the world - plenty of opportunity to travel.

    Cons

    Although it is the largest chemical company in the world, few people outside of the organization are aware of its existence. Small footprint in Canada but huge player globally, especially US.

    BASF2016-11-10
Found 2102 reviews