Atlassian Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Atlassian Reviews

Updated 22 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Atlassian CEO Scott Farquhar & Mike Cannon-Brookes
Scott Farquhar & Mike Cannon-Brookes
273 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance is whatever you want it to be(in 51 reviews)

  • "Great tech culture with smart people all around where I learnt a lot from(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Power center shifted to San Francisco even when head office is in Sydney(in 21 reviews)

  • "There are certainly growing pains because we're growing so fast(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture, not product led"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + This is the only company I know that actually lives its values. That is pretty amazing. That said, this is changing. + Could be an amazing place to grow your career, they are growing rapidly and if you can ride the way, in a short time you can be moving up the proverbial ladder + Australia (if you visit)

    Cons

    - The blogging culture - it is a culture about writing, and 'showing' something has been done. This worked really well when Atlassian was small, and works well for transparency - but it feels like it take a blog to get anything done. If its not blogged about its not real. Keep this in mind, for you to succeed here, you will need to blog and build a brand for yourself internally through it. - It is not a... product-led company, it is founder led company. This means the major strategy decisions are done from the top. There are exceptions to this rule, i.e. Jira Service Desk came up from a hackathon - Atlassian is amazing at marketing process, playbooks, Jira etc, but they do not use it the way it was intended. Do not look at the material and think they have things figure out, if anything its worse on the inside, BUT there is "appetite "to improve. There is no standardization across teams, which has its pros /cons.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As Atlassian scales make sure to screen people for cultural fit. Politics is natural, but when its there its hard to get rid of. Work to make it so people do not look for Mike / Scott's approval, but look to deliver awesome customer experiences.

    Atlassian2019-10-23
  2. "Feeling welcome and productive!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Business Systems Analyst in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive salary, total compensation - Best company culture of any company I've been at thus far - Extremely understanding coworkers/flexible working schedule - Founders/CEOs are very open, great leaders to follow! - Encouraged to explore roles/projects outside of job title - Can see the impact on the company in my work, objectives and results are clearly identified

    Cons

    - Current high-growth phase can translate to demanding and high amount of work

    Atlassian2019-10-15
  3. "It's a good company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Channel Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Play as a Team- Everyone helps each other.

    Cons

    There is a bunch of acronyms and pieces of information in our company.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for what you have done for us.

    Atlassian2019-10-15
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Atlassian is full of smart people. What you can learn is totally up to you. They are flexible with work from home. They are not slave drivers; they understand needing to tackle personal affairs in some days. They use modern web stack, and particular about developer productivity.

    Cons

    Most teams won't face that many big challenges. It is mostly routine feature addition work. So, again, it is up to the individual to take on difficult challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Let each engineer have an ambitious goals.

    Atlassian2019-10-10
  5. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atlassian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, a lot of learning opportunities (tech and non tech), ton of benefits

    Cons

    Supporting performance of complex systems may be demanding and stresfull

    Advice to Management

    Less is more

    Atlassian2019-10-21
  6. "Best work culture going around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Software Developer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Work culture is awesome! 2. Awesome quality work 3. Everyone is interested in helping and encouraging

    Cons

    Could not come up with a con! I spent 5 min(literally)

    Atlassian2019-10-03
  7. "The best so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advocate in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Way better than all the previous companies I've worked for in all aspects

    Cons

    However, there is still some room for improvement such as their training and onboarding process, selection of leadership team (can't say all the leaders here are perfect as there are still some signs of bullying), documentation of probationary employees' metrics , etc.

    Atlassian2019-10-15
  8. Helpful (25)

    "Amazing work/life balance. Great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time

    Pros

    Amazing leadership - my direct supervisor is here to help me succeed Fantastic perks - food, vacation, benefits, emergency childcare coverage Work/Life balance - time off when I need it for whatever reason, without guilt Great work - I love what I do and that I'm supported to go out on a whim and try new things without risk

    Cons

    Work can be slow - because it's an open company there can sometimes be too many people that need/want to be included in a project and it takes longer than needed

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! You're doing something right...

    Atlassian2019-07-02
  9. "Great company, great culture and great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly culture, ethical culture, fun!

    Cons

    Benefits and salaries could be improved, doesn’t always feel like everyone is working on the same mission.

    Atlassian2019-09-21
  10. "Excellent workplace where everyone is driven by the same values and passion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlassian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company actively has extremely interesting distributed systems and front-end work at scale, seeks transparency, encourages openness, fosters broad responsibilities and cross-team communication, and especially strives to avoid hiring toxic personalities that aren't team players.

    Cons

    The company is grown massively in the last 1 year. Everyone needs to be comfortable with and adapt to changes frequently. I guess the interesting work and booming stock are accompanied by some rising entropy as well.

    Atlassian2019-09-17
Found 436 reviews